We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Relaxing Stay AT BG” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berlin Grande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berlin Grande Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Ohio
1 review
“Another Relaxing Stay AT BG”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

This was our third stay at the Berlin Grande and as usual it was quiet & relaxing. We especially enjoy the quaint, yet modern, atmosphere at the Berlin Grande. The staff is always exceptionally welcoming and ready to serve in any possible way. We are already planning our next visit in the spring. Thank you from K & S, Athens, OH

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Good Morning, Thank you for your positive review. We enjoy getting to know our guests as we see them returning. Maybe a Fall/Winter visit is in store next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,475
    302
    70
    24
    11
See reviews for
655
803
30
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

This hotel is very nice. The only thing I would change is the shower pressure is low and the room is not dark enough at night. Other than that pretty happy.
We stay in Amish country a lot and will return here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hi and thank you for the nice review. We like hearing how your stay was in case there is something we need to improve in. Thank you agan and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

We look forward to our Ohio business trips because of the Berlin Grande.
The staff is always friendly and helpful, the breakfast is delicious, and the
decor is over the top.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeritageAmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Good Morning, Thank you for your comments. We truely enjoy what we do and of course we love our great guests! We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Berlin Grande Hotel. We were surprised at luxuriousness of this Hotel,in the quant little town of Berlin.The free breakfast they provide is great ,along with the very modern rooms and services ..We have been visiting Berlin for 10 years and will definetly stay there again. Angelo and Penny

Room Tip: Ask for a countryside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Good morning, I'm glad it was a good surprise. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

but we thought it was a very nice property. Almost brand new, our room was very large and furnished with a high quality mattress, a nice departure from the norm. There was an event in town that filled the place with families and there were lots of kids running around so there was some noise but not enough to be bothersome. Another reviewer noted that the tv was too small but I think it was an average size tv that only seemed small because the room was so big. We pack along a lot of stuff when travelling and I appreciated the extra space very much. We also had a ground level room that had a small patio outside which was a nice feature. When we return to this area we will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captn_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Good Morning, thank you for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
232 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed three nights longer than initially planned. Will stay there again for sure if we return to the Amish Country. Special thanks to Jeff at reception for his assistance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBone_Rock_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi, I enjoy hearing how our staff was helpful, so thank you for that comment. Hopefully you can return to Amish Country and the Berlin Grande Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Walking in to the Berlin Grande you would think that you were in a big metropolitan city and a 5 star hotel. I highly recommend this hotel and intend to stay here in the summer. We stayed here in the winter with a High School Girls Basketball Showcase called Classic in the Country.

As you walk in, to the right of you is a beverage station with coffee, tea, and ice water with fresh cut oranges and lemons ready for guests to be refreshed. To the left of you is a friendly smile of the attentive front desk clerk making you feel like you are a frequent guest who she knows so well.

The check in process was easy. And I received my electronic key to the room. I checked into the King Fireplace Courtyard Room. I opened the door and was astonished by the size of the room. The bedroom area is not even visible upon entry. The living room has comfortable contempory furniture. There is a leather sleeper sofa as well as a sitting chair. The bar area has an apartment size refridgerator, microwave, coffee maker, and bar sink. The counter and bar stools allow for variety of seating. If you prefer you can enjoy the table with four chairs. The flat screen tv and ventless fireplace both have remote controls (word of advice don't turn up the heat on the fireplace too high or else you will set of the smoke detector..speaking from experience). The room had individual temperature controls that made setting the room to a temperature of my liking easy.

The bedroom area is seperated by a high wall but there is no door. The bedroom consists of a king size bed that is the best bed I have ever slept on in a hotel room. The linens were crisp yet comfortable. The bedroom had its own flat screen television that sits on top of a full size dresser. Next to the bed is an ihome ipod docking alarm clock.

The balcony has seating for two. I didn't get to use it in the winter because it was snow covered. However after a day of shopping in the country or touring the local wineries it would be a great place in the summer to relax with a nice glass of wine or your favorite beverage.

The bathroom was extremely large. Plenty of counter space. Besides the bed, the best part of the room was the shower. The shower was big enough for at least 2 people. The shower had multiple heads coming out of the wall. I was able to position the wall heads directly where I wanted them to give myself a nice hydromassage. The handle allowed for me to turn on or off the wall head or the above shower head.

For recreation, there is a fitness room and a beautifully clean indoor pool and jacuzzi. Plenty of towels available in each so no need to bring ones from your room or some from home.

Breakfast was an expanded continental breakfast. It had things such as sausage, egg, and and cheese biscuit, make your own fresh waffles, cereal, fresh fruit, various breakfast breads/danishes, juices, and milk.

The housekeeping staff was very friendly and did a great job or making me feel welcome as well.

Wonderful room for someone who wants a romantic getaway or is spending several days in Amish Country.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank friendlyflyer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Good morning, Wow, thank you for the great review! I love your descriptive comments of our hotel. We always look forward to the Classic in the Country weekend (which is coming up here before long). It's fun for the staff, a high energy couple of days. Thank you again and we will see you in a couple months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
1.5 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Berlin
3.9 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amish Country Lodging
Amish Country Lodging
#2 of 10 in Berlin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
10.6 mi away
Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek
Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek
#1 of 5 in Sugarcreek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlin Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Grande Hotel

Property: Berlin Grande Hotel
Address: 4787 Township Road 366, Berlin, OH 44610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berlin Grande Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berlin Grande Hotel is the newest hotel in Berlin,in the Heart of Ohio's Amish Country. Our 78 room hotel features large spacious rooms, indoor heated saltwater pool, meeting facilities, a business center, 24 hr fitness room, free internet and long distance to our guests, a friendly supportive staff and spectacular views of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Berlin Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Grande Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing