We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Town Diner”
Review of Boyd and Wurthmann

Boyd and Wurthmann
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami, Fl
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Small Town Diner”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Not many options in town. We didn't want to go to a big buffet so decided to try a small restaurant in town (Berlin) on the recommendation of a local merchant. The place was nothing fancy filled with locals. We ordered one of the specials (7.99), Swiss Steak with mashed potatoes and green beans. Homemade bread and peanut butter were also served. They offered a variety of homemade pies.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty24Ray27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    216
    77
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Little Home Cooking Place”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had lunch here during a visit to Amish country in October. Although the restaurant was very busy, we were seated quickly. I had a chicken salad sandwich and they certainly did not skimp on the chicken salad. Also the bread was home made and melted in my mouth. My husband had a very good fish sandwich, and we both enjoyed a cup of their homemade chicken noodle soup. A pleasant experience on a rather blustery October day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OtleyandFatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rochester, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“local favorite”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I chose this place because of local praise and location. I had a very simple lunch that was very good. We didn't try anything different to give praise. It was an extremely busy place. Small, with people waiting or always passing by. But people were taken care of very quickly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Unlike other restaurants in the area, this is a small local non-commercialized joint. A typical small town diner in the heart of town. We went there for breakfast, and it was delicious. Large portions. Home cooked. We were told by some locals, and it certainly appears, that this is the place the locals eat at frequently. I wish we had had time to eat lunch or dinner here, but unfortunately we didn't!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice staff, good food”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Maybe we shouldn't have gone here at lunch hour, as there was hardly a place to sit, so we had to sit near the door and nearly froze every time the door opened. So I would only suggest to improve the seating. But our service was quick, friendly, and the food inexpensive. Good place to eat on a budget.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boyd and Wurthmann also viewed

 

Been to Boyd and Wurthmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing