We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Amish Country Ohio!”
Review of Berlin Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berlin Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Amish Country Ohio!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We recently stayed for 3 nights in an economy room (only 4) at the Berlin Resort while visiting Amish Country in Ohio for the first time. The staff is very friendly and helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations, breakfast, coffee 24/7, etc. Our room was very clean, comfortable, and convenient to Berlin and the surrounding towns. Best of all was the affordable rate given considering all the amenities like free parking, free Wi-Fi, free breakfast, beautiful landscaping, walking trails, putting greens, gazebo with glider rockers, fish pond, small town children's play area, cable TV, AC, and just about anything you could desire. The best place to get relaxed, refreshed & reacquainted with what a motel should be like for its customers. Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sportcityfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, General Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for giving us feedback on your stay at Berlin Resort! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have been working very hard to find things to keep our guests entertained during their visit to Amish Country. Our main goal is to make you feel at home and relaxed! We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Thank you again for the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    149
    40
    18
    8
See reviews for
185
330
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We usually stay at independently-owned bed and breakfasts. This time, we were traveling with our infant daughter and 5-year old son, so we needed somewhere that a little extra noise from the kids wouldn't disturb other guests. Also, we needed more entertainment to keep our son happy! As soon as we arrived, we were given those delicious cookies, and I don't even like raisins, but I ate the whole thing! We opted for a King Suite, and when we got to our room, we couldn't believe how nice the room was!! First of all, the room is huge. The lighting and furniture was all top notch. Tastefully decorated. Huge TV and plenty of storage for your bags. And the bathroom. WOW. Huge jacuzzi tub. Rain shower head. Plush linens. Bath and Body Works sample toiletries. Even a makeup remover towelette. We couldn't believe we got such a beautiful room for the price we did.

We utilized the pool, which was a nice size and clean, with a small hot tub as well. We would have gone down to the children's village, but it was rainy and cold that day so we decided against it. My husband also utilized the gym, and was incredibly impressed with the facility.

It was our first overnight trip since our baby was born. A couple of friends came to the hotel to watch our children so we could go on our first date since baby! They swam, had pizza in the room and walked around the hotel to pass the time. My friends said they had just missed the evening movie showing. The people at the front desk gave them a list of movies and said that if my son wanted to see any of the movies on the list, they would put it on for him in the theater the next morning! We didn't have enough time for that, but we appreciated the offer!

We were also pleased there was a continental breakfast offered. I was happy to see the waffle maker, sausage and eggs, and some baked goods. Everything was good.

All in all, we couldn't believe that this hotel, truly a resort, was so affordable. We figured that they keep the prices low to offer an alternative to people like us who usually stay in a bed and breakfast. This isn't your typical "Amish Country" experience. This hotel could be anywhere. But, if the bed and breakfast lodging feel isn't important to you, don't think twice. Stay here. We plan to stay here every time we come to Amish Country from now on. We loved it.

Room Tip: Go for the suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsAmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, General Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
What a nice review!! We would love to have you come live here with us!:) Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our Resort. We are so very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We are striving to be more family oriented so that we can keep the little ones busy even when mom and dad want to kick up their feet :) Again, your review is TRULY appreciated and we look forward to having you come back and stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Recently spend 4 days here in one of the standard suite rooms. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The addition of the recliner/loveseat was a great bonus at the end of day of shopping. I love the fact the location is just outside the town of Berlin, and lets you enjoy the countyside without all of the traffic noise just outside of rooms. The outdoor grounds are perfect for an evening stroll down to their koi pond or next to a small stream. There is a nice outside play area for children. It was so relaxing. This has been my second stay and will be my first choice for a place to stay when visiting this area.

Room Tip: The standard suite comes with a recliner/loveseat, so much nicer than just a standard straight chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, General Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, it means a lot that you've taken time out of your day to tell us how your stay was! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your room and the relaxing loveseat.. nothing better than kicking your feet up after a long day of shopping! We look forward to seeing you again in the future, thank you again for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Me & my husband have been here 3 times in the last 12 months. We love it here at this hotel. I'm even having my family reunion there in August. I can't wait!!!!!! If you going to stay get a suite you love it. The hotel is super clean and it has many thing to do there, They have a basketball court, Huge workout rooms, movie theater and so much more. You really don't have to go nowhere you can just stay in the hotel all weekend and have lots to do.

Room Tip: If you going stay get a suite you will love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakhan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, General Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write us such a nice review of the hotel. We are so excited to have your family stay with us this summer! I'm happy to hear you enjoy our amenities, we are adding more and more so that our guests are able to stay at the hotel with plenty of options to keep them entertained. Again, thank you for sending us a great review, we will look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovid, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Heard about Holmes County Ohio from travel brochures online. So naturally we look up what was said on Tripadvisor. I don't believe there was a really bad review for any hotels but settled on Berlin Resort. Mostly because of what it wasn't. It wasn't a chain, it wasn't no.1 on Tripadvisors list but it was very close. I think the main reason was the their inviting website. It seemed liked a homey atmosphere with personal touches. And that it was, right from the warm cookies you get when you check in to the really comfortable beds, to a leisurely walk around the landscaped grounds. Where else can you pick a movie from their library and view it on a mini stadium seated movie room during scheduled times. Very impressed. Staff was very helpful and everything seemed in a very organized. The Berlin Resort was centrally located outside the town of Berlin within easy reach of all the touristy outlets and surrounding towns. All we were seeking was a relaxing getaway and it was all that and more. Its a value price wise as well. Looking forward to a fall trip in the near future.

Room Tip: Although all rooms are inviting, we liked the one with the balcony as they face the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFHazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, General Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
I'm so happy that you made the trip to visit Amish Country. It was our pleasure to serve you while you got a chance to see everything Holmes County has to offer. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the staff, the hotel and the cookies. Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of our hotel, it made my day! We look forward to having you again as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchland, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

we have been staying at this motel 2x a year for many years...its always clean, the staff is always friendly & go out of the way to please you...the breakfast has improved a lot !! still could use biscuits & gravy....pool & hot tub is clean & warm...only complaint is when somebody calls you & the desk person has to transfere your call it seems to take them a long time to do that....my husband called and it took 5x before he got through...desk person was busy doing other things....needs to be a way to call rooms direct....this time i had 4 generations staying ....have tried other motels & will always stay here...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandma716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, General Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for writing us a review! Your feedback really helps us improve for the future. I am working on getting you biscuits and gravy now :) We will work on getting the phone transferred quicker, we are now putting 2 people on staff to be sure that everything is taking care of in the evening hours. So happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay, we will look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We looked at several places to stay and decided to stay here given the reviews. This place was was the best choice by far! The room was impeccable and the staff was terrific. The breakfast wasn't the best and we ended up stopping to get a snack somewhere else. The breakfast could use a little improvement. The grounds were under construction and I am sure will be beautiful once finished. We were on the third floor and had no noise at all at any time during our stay. Already planning another trip and The Berlin Resort will be on our list of places to stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LowAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, General Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for the review! We are continuing our search for better breakfast items to satisfy our guests and promise that improvements will be made! We hope to have renovations done soon so that our guests can enjoy them this summer. We will also be adding a convenience store off of the lobby for guests to grab a snack to go or some late night munchies! Again, thank you for taking time to review our hotel, we will look forward to seeing you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
1.4 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 4 in Berlin
239 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
279 reviews
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 4 in Millersburg
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amish Country Lodging
Amish Country Lodging
#2 of 10 in Berlin
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Resort

Property: Berlin Resort
Address: 5330 County Road 201, Berlin, OH 44654-9251 (Formerly Berlin Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Berlin Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Amish Country, Berlin Resort is the perfect place for a relaxing getaway. We offer many amenities including our 17,000 square foot fitness center, outdoor fire pits and 26-seat in house theater. Our staff is prepared to make your visit to Amish Country your most memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Berlin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Resort Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing