We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Berlin Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berlin Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friend and I went for a relaxing girls' weekend in Holmes County, Ohio. Since neither of us had been to Holmes County before, we made reservations blindly hoping for the 'best hotel' in the area. Fortunately, we were spot on with the Berlin Hotel and Suites.

The hotel is beautiful inside and out, the rooms are spacious, well-appointed, and clean, the staff friendly and helpful. We especially liked the fact that while the hotel is in the heart of Holmes County, the decor was modern and not 'country-ish'. The warm oatmeal raisin cookies at check-in were wonderful and a great idea, especially for the experience of Amish Country.

While the hotel is not located directly in downtown Berlin, it is literally only a minute or two drive from everything. The fact that it's not in the congested downtown, made it a very relaxing evening when we were able to sit out by the fireside in the stillness of the country night sky.

We spoke with other hotel guests who had stayed at other places in Holmes County and they all said that while they had been to other hotels, the Berlin Hotel and Suites was, by far, the best accommodations.

Would definitely recommend to family and friends and would stay there again myself!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midwestlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi there! Thank you so much for writing us such an excellent review! We appreciate you taking time out of your day to say such nice things about the hotel. It's great to know that you had a relaxing stay while you were here. Thank you again for your comment we hope to see you again in the near future, best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    129
    28
    15
    8
See reviews for
147
288
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I just returned from a weekend getaway from here, the hotel is very nice, has so many ammenities the pool and hot tub are very nice, the movie theater is a nice assest on a cold rainy night in the amish when everything closes early! The rooms are clean and very nice. The bed was comfy, and the warm cookie they give you upon check inn was so good :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smile_u_nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review! We are so happy to hear you had a great experience while you stayed with us. We're always trying to improve things here so we appreciate you taking the time to tell us what you think. Thank you again, we wish you the best! Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have been There Twice Already since Finding this Beautiful Place.The Suites Are So Wonderful with Woodwork over your Head and A Jacuzzi in the Room and a walkin glassed surrounded shower. Large TV and nice surroundings in the Room.You get what you pay for here and worth every penny.A large pool to enjoy and outside a place to walk around leading to a nicely covered gazebo.Nice Breakfast area too ,The service is great .We are thinking of going back next month ( November 2012 ) for our tenth year anniversary..SOOO,that is how nice a stay it is. I could'nt get my wife out of the Jacuzzi,Thought of the scene from pretty woman..lol.The area has wonderful shopping too, We bought a nice wooden corner piece for our tv to set on at home.

Room Tip: We stay in one of the suites..Very Nice...and Quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel has a beautiful setting, with a waterfall, gazebo, huge lawn with cornhole game and croquet and plenty of space for playing and walking. They have a small theater with three movies a night, one about the Amish world, and two others. The night we were there we saw "Mall Cop", perfect for relaxing at the end of a long day. Our room was a great price and nothing was lacking. We loved it! And we loved being right on the edge of Berlin. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisHawaiifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hotel was awesome. Beautiful view from our glider on our deck. The $79.00 price for this hotel was a GREAT bargain. The indoor pool and hot tub were very much appreciated at the end of a long day. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethsbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here recently & really loved this place. The grounds are beautiful, with a waterfall pond with fish you can feed & lovely gazebo. Also firepits at night with seating.

Nice clean rooms & beds. Nice balconies overlooking grounds. Pool is nice. At checkin they give you warm cookies.

Good location & prices good, will be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

For our 9th anniversary I knew my wife would enjoy a visit to the Amish country,Dinner at Der Dutchman and then I let her pick out one of two theater's available in Berlin and then the night stay at Berlin Hotel and Suites. Next day was a day of going throught Amish stores which she loves to do.
Now to review the hotel. When I made the reservations I wanted a room a little more classy for the occasion so instead of the normal double queen/coffee pot room I splurged and reserved a
Deluxe Jacuzzi Room w/ King bed. A private porch that looked like it was in a rose garden for $129.00. After checking in we went to our room and Iturned on my tablet and noticed that a special was being offered at the hotel for all rooms. Our room was $89.00. I went back down to the desk and ask if it was possible to stay at that price and they automatically charged my card the lower fee without any hesitation what so ever.If you go on their web site the description of the Hotel is exactly what it is.I can't think of any thing that was a problem. A great experience.
.

Room Tip: Since this was the first time at this Hotel all I can tell you is the room we stayed in was wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0HN316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
1.4 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holmes with a View
Holmes with a View
#4 of 4 in Millersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Honey Run
The Inn at Honey Run
#4 of 12 in Millersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Resort

Property: Berlin Resort
Address: 5330 County Road 201, Berlin, OH 44654-9251 (Formerly Berlin Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Berlin Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Amish Country, Berlin Resort is the perfect place for a relaxing getaway. We offer many amenities including our 17,000 square foot fitness center, outdoor fire pits and 26-seat in house theater. Our staff is prepared to make your visit to Amish Country your most memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Berlin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Resort Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing