We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average.”
Review of Cherry House Cafe

Cherry House Cafe
Ranked #5 of 123 Restaurants in Beavercreek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: VERY popular, locally owned restaurant. Not a chain, just the one store, excellent food!
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Though cherry house represents a break from the big box fare in beavercreek, the food & atmosphere are pretty average. The cookies & chips they serve are very good & out shine their main dishes. I have had several sandwiches from cherry house & haven't been blown away. I'd rather spend my $ at Tank's bar, the culinary company, or Dibella's subs. Service us good, staff friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bionano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    28
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Once you get past the "old lady" decor, you realize their food is really good. We especially like their burgers. If you get a value basket, it comes with a home-baked cookie -- yum!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FIGWITfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A genuine local delight”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

It's tucked away on a side street next to PapaJohn's, just past McDonald's, but the Cherry House Cafe is what a weary traveller searches for. In fact, I can say it's my favorite restauarant after a year of consulting in Dayton. It represents what local restaurants used to be like. The menu is heavily weighted towards breakfast and lunch but they had several specials that worked well for dinner. Homemade soups, what a delight. As a lover of cherry desserts I was glad to find them well represented. I got a side of the broccoli cherry nut salad to go - a different take on a traditional broccoli slaw. A warning about the cherry cheescake - it is NOT a light recipe - if there can be a stick-to-your-bones cheescake this one is it.

The staff were uniformly young, including the cooks - I would guess college age but they had customer service down pat. I heard one of them handing a phone call about an incorrect takeout order with a flair beyond her years. Not only did she apologize and offer either a refund or a new order, but she gave the customer a choice of coming back right away or at a later date. And she threw in some free cookies to boot!

Sometime I wonder what the other revieweers were thinking when they give a restaurantthe #1 rating, but in the case of the Cherry House Cafe it's obvious theya re right!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirbyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
425 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Tried this bistro type restaurant at an almost hidden location after the Pop Corn festival. Very good food and excellent desert at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
163 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Option for Boxed Lunches”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We use them often and always get compliments on them. Their food is really good, they are always on time (we use thier delivery). When calling to place orders they are always very pleasant and easy to deal with. Everything is fresh and well presented.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cherry House Cafe also viewed

 
Beavercreek, OH
 

Been to Cherry House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing