We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly people make the difference”

The Westbury Inn Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly people make the difference”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stopped off tonight on our way back from Peppa Pig World and were in the "weary traveller" classification. We were revitalised by the time of departure. We both had the fish and chips and they were outstandingly good, cooked in homemade beer batter. Will definitely be back. Full marks to the guy who runs it; makes a change to meet someone genuinely happy to talk to customers and also to our waitress who was a total credit to the place. First rate,

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    15
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great customer service and food”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Recently dined at Westbury again this time with my wife's family and found it to be very good as usual.

Overall our large party was very happy although for me I would prefer to see a smaller menu and more frequent changes although only my personal view.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KTMSuperDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“really happy to finally have a great pub in Westbury sub Mendip”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Went for lunch and dinner. Lovely lunch menu - large portions, tasty food. Excellent dinner menu with some interesting stuff available. Excellent service. Fab!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pj_elliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“At last! Westbury has the pub it deserves”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Following several attempts from recent lessees who thought they could turn the place into an upmarket restaurant, it turns out the latest incumbents have got it right - just give the village a pub with excellent drinks, well-cooked pub grub at good prices and a warm welcome and the people will come back.

Trina and Boycey have been here since Christmas 2011 and are making an excellent job of it, as 'proper' landlords! They have great staff - very friendly and efficient.

Their food is excellent and they are always open to suggestions regarding what people would like.

The local people are again using this pub for what it is - another excellent village amenity and long may it continue!

They did mention recently that they have just signed a 5-year agreement with Punch, so hopefully they can stay a while without Punch getting greedy.......fingers crossed!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sallybear61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstandingly good”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Under new management from Xmas 2011. Clean, fresh and tidy. Straightforward menu all freshly prepared and delicious; Trina in the kitchen cooks really really well.
Add a good variety of beers with a welcoming and attentive staff and this is outstanding value well worth a visit.
We also had the French onion soup - fabulous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PMJWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Westbury Inn Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Westbury Inn Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing