We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow couldn't be better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1861 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1861 Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batavia
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wow couldn't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast Sept. 21 and 21nd.

We occupied the Cottage and it was so cozy and inviting we hated to leave.

The hosts Carole and Tom are so gracious and the food was out of this world. We have travel extensively and have never been served such a gourmet breakfast.

The other guests were delightful as well.

We would highly recommend this lovely inn to others and hope to return soon

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
16
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Boy, was this an unexpected treat. Tom and Carole are graciousness defined - the 1861 Inn is immaculate and so was our experience. My wife and I were in the area for business and only got to stay for one night which was the only unsatisfactory aspect of the stay -- simply not enough of a good thing! If we lived nearby we would seriously inquire about becoming permanent "boarders", depriving all else of the use of the Riverview Room with its fireplace and steam-shower (how many steam showers can you take in 24 hours? ask my wife, it's a lot apparently).

Room Tip: we saw all three rooms and all have their relative advantages. My wife loved the steam shower possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

The 1861 Inn is a lovely B&B with great hosts and good food. The hosts set up a bike itinerary for us of about 18 miles with some good hills through slightly rolling countryside, once we climbed the 400 feet or so out of the river valley where the Inn resides. Nice porches, super quiet 18 inch brick walls and comfy beds made for a great sleep. We had dinner there with another couple we did not know beforehand and Tom/Carol the hosts. Very nice 5 course dinner with wine included for $35 each, autumn themed with local produce. Breakfast, the underlying mainstay of a great B&B did not disappoint with baked fruit, fresh muffins, waffles with cinammon butter, sauteed apples and maple syrup, juice and coffee. We spent an hour at breakfast (and three at dinner, which was followed by an outside fire with the six of us). Good signs of both the food and the company. We live 20 minutes away but I would drive hours to go here. Strongly recommend.

Room Tip: The room with the fireplace is nice if you plan to use it and it has a bigger bathroom, but the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJKoglCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

Innkeepers Carole & Tom couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome-from accommodating our dietary preferences to recommending good restaurants for dinner that were only about 20 minutes away. Carole's culinary training made our three breakfasts delightful. If you enjoy swimming you can take advantage of the good-sized outdoor pool, an amenity that may not be typical in the B&B industry. The Inn has only three rooms, so plan ahead!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThumbsupThumbsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

The 1861 Inn was a true pleasure. From the moment we walked in the door, we were made to feel at home and relaxed. The room was large and beautifully appointed with a giant claw foot tub, steam shower, and fireplace. Breakfast was a treat both mornings. We even got to use the hot tub on the back patio!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcoleman427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

I stayed in the 1861 inn with my partner and my parents, so between us we had both rooms available (they're currently creating a third bedroom in the pool house I believe). We were in the area for my brother's wedding and it was a great location for us as we were near the wedding venue and family. Its about 30-40 minutes out of downtown Cincinnati.

Carole and Tom made us feel so welcome and were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Both rooms were beautiful, one with a claw-foot bath tub and ensuite, the other with ensuite facilities and private balcony. This overlooked the pool and hot tub which we were welcome to use and was very pleasant in the hot weather. The breakfasts were also some of the best I've ever eaten.

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone. Carole and Tom really helped us to celebrate a lovely wedding week in the States.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batavia
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Cincinnati-Eastgate
5.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cincinnati Eastgate
1.1 mi away
Ameristay Inn and Suites Batavia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cincinnati Eastgate
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Eastgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Eastgate
#30 of 47 in Cincinnati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clermont
BEST WESTERN Clermont
#17 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1861 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1861 Inn

Property: 1861 Inn
Address: 300 N Riverside Dr, Batavia, OH 45103-1826
Location: United States > Ohio > Clermont County > Batavia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batavia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1861 Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your 1861 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1861 Inn Batavia, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing