We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Price”

Maxwells Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Maxwells Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 46 Restaurants in West Fargo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 13th Avenue and 9th St. E
Description: Maxwells is an independent, locally owned establishment that serves cuisine crafted with French and American influences. A strong commitment to diverse wine offerings and freshly prepared cuisine is important to the guests we serve. Maxwells often provides wine tastings, wine dinners, spirits and beer tastings to bring new experiences to our patrons. From beginning to end, the dining experience is elevated by exceptional hospitality. We offer a relaxing environment and a knowledgeable, personable service staff that exceeds our guests' expectations. Our professional mixologist brings new ideas and creative tasteful cocktails to our menu, utilizing an eclectic array of spirits from around the world. Maxwells boasts the region's largest collection of wines, a diverse selection of craft beers including features from local breweries. Maxwells is an exciting blend of culinary imagination amid impeccably casual surroundings.
Wisconsin Yah Der Hey!
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was in Fargo on business and decided to try Maxwells. I arrived around six, the restaurant was very quiet. It didn't start getting busy until just before I left, around 7 o'clock. I sat in the bar, watched some TV, and had the walleye. It was prepared with a wild rice patty, asparagus, scallops, and avocado. The walleye had fantastic texture and was blackened, but not ridiculously seasoned. With soda to drink, and no dessert, the bill was $40, $48 with tip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank schMinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRome, Public Relations Manager at Maxwells Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks for your kind feedback! We really appreciate it. Happy to hear you enjoyed our walleye and bar atmosphere. Hope to see you again sometime.

Have a fantastic day!

Maxwells
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    32
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coral Bay, St. John
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Another great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

One of our favorite restaurants and probably the best in Fargo. We had another great evening in the bar at Maxwell's.
We ordered from the bar menu, Bison Meatballs and the Maxwells Burger. The flavor is amazing. The meatballs are very rich with lean meat, great for sharing. The burger - wow! You can't find a better burger. The best wine selection in the area, and prices are good for this quality of service, food, and drinks.
What really sets Maxwells apart from most restaurants of this standard is that the focus of the management and staff is about all the customer. You can't ask for more than that.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRome, Guest Relations Manager at Maxwells Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Steve!
We can't thank you enough for the kind words. We can't wait to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of Fargo's Finest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Found the place after our cab driver got lost in Fargo (really!) Anyways, portion size and quality were excellent. Pros: great food, great cocktails, great wine list, pricey but high on value. Cons: located in a strip mall, therefore outdoor ambiance is less than desirable (interior is very well done, however). Would definitely re-visit next time in Fargo.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Winterpeg100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRome, Guest Relations Manager at Maxwells Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Glad you stumbled upon our restaurant! We believe that everything happens for a reason. It was fate :) See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
182 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had an international group visiting and the restaurant had made a special effort to prepare a North Dakotan meal. Everybody was raving about the taste of the food, the service and the atmosphere. We had a choice of bison or elk and it was delicious. Vegetarian dishes were available. The staff was welcoming, friendly and went of their way to be helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Willem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRome, Public Relations Manager at Maxwells Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Maxwells as your dining destination. We are overjoyed to hear of your experience. Customer testimonials such as yours truly make our day. We hope to see you all again one day. Thanks from all of us here at Maxwells.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
153 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were in Fargo on a Sunday night and a surprising number of restaurants are closed. We also wanted something more than chain food but didn't feel like too formal a meal. Luckily, we found Maxwell's and noticed that there was an option to dine in the bar area (something we almost never do). We called on short notice and the friendly hostess assured us that it was a quiet evening but she would hold a high-top bar table for us just in case.

We arrived at the strip mall location and were instantly impressed by the hip, modern interior decor. The restaurant area was straight ahead although the tables were largely hidden from view lendign to intimacy, the open kitchen was to the right and the sporty bar was to the left. We took the bar table in the corner near two windows and began perusing the impressive menu, which was essentially the restaurant's entire menu - bar and dining room - since anything could be ordered in the bar. The bar menu, focusing on smaller plates, was exactly what we were in the mood for and we began ordering dish after dish, planning to graze our way through the evening. But anyone wanting that more formal dinign expereince would have been overjoyed at the full dinner menu, with each dish sounding more interesting than the next.

The helpful bartender also brought us several tasters of craft beers and we settled on the Nebraska Vanilla Porter. Then the dishes started coming out and everything was excellent - sweet potato bisque with chipotles had just the right bite and thick texture; day boat scallops and lobster wrapped in prosciutto were succulent and bursting with flavor; bison meatballs in a vermouth cream sauce were amazingly tender and flavorful; and the crunchy sweet potato fries were among the best we've had anywhere. No typical bar food here!

Since we had no room for desert, we finished the evening with a nice talk at the pass with the young chef, Michael, who clearly is going places, considering all that he has accomplished so far. This restuarant would be notable in any major city, that it dominates the culinary firmament in Fargo is no surprise. We could eat here every night for a week and never be bored, and probably never be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fantasticv0yage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRome, Public Relations Manager at Maxwells Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We can't thank you enough for choosing us and writing this wonderful review! We are so very grateful and will welcome you with open arms anytime that you visit Fargo. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxwells Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Maxwells Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing