We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“service is great rooms not so much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson West Fargo
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Fargo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    60
    71
    37
    41
See reviews for
115
54
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg,Mb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My overall experience of this hotel was not good.As i am a Housekeeping Manager from Winnipeg,Mb Canada..Driving to the hotel was nothing but construction which when i booked the room staff should of let me know this info. I entered the room and it had a bad fowl smell shower curtain was really dirty with black marks all over it was yellow. Bath towels were stained with black marks. So i phoned down to the front desk and asked if i can get my shower curtain replaced with a clean one she asked us if we wanted to move rooms i said no cause we just wanted to get our shopping done then she said no one was there to replace the shower curtain as she was the only one at the desk and she couldn't leave i said i would come and get it and put it up my self so i went down and got it and it was old yellow smelly shower curtain i inspected the rest of the room after that and the bed sheets were really old see through bathroom floor grout has not been cleaned in a very long time.The box that the fridge was sitting on looks like it was made in a garage water soaked. I also had to phone down to get a do not disturb sign as there was not one in my room. We left the hotel to meet up with friends that were staying in the Holiday inn came back to the Howard Johnson and i was so disgusted with the room we went and asked for our money. the front desk agent said no cause it was after 4 pm and that she could phone the owner and he would say the same thing and i didn't even get into how disgusting the room was with her cause i was not impressed and just wanted to get out of there so we left and booked in another hotel. Website says renovations were done 2011 but i couldn't see any that had been done in a recent time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLEAR BROOK
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Initially had booked whole week but called back to split it and that was handled with no problem. I thought the cleanliness of room was good, the furnishings were nice, and the owners seemed very friendly. If i had to pick a negative, the placement of the room light didn't light the entry way/ hallway which wasn't a big deal for me. I think biggest improvement they could make though would be the crispness, quality of their bed sheets ( although theirs were clean) like the hotel quality ones at Macys.... ( ok, my Mom works there). Overall appearance of the lobby could be enhanced i guess, here again...not a big deal to me. The breakfast was good, i had a waffle two days and it was tasty...maybe a little better coffee could be used. Overall, i would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank KYLE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson West Fargo, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at the West Fargo Howard Johnson. We’re glad you enjoyed the room furnishings and the friendly service we provide. We’ll keep the recommendations in mind for the design updates and keep making the tasty waffles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The place was generally good.
There was road construction going on in the area which made it a little harder to get into. It was also a bit noisy at times, due to the road construction.
My wife and I both found the pillows very much less than adequate. It didn't matter whether we used one, two or three pillows.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Gerald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson West Fargo, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay. We apologize the pillows were less than adequate and will examine our pillows for maximum comfort. The road construction is a bit on going at times, and we do thank you for choosing our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloyne, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Must say that for a quiet place to stay, this place worked for us. The room, number 123 , had a queen bed and a large recliner as well as a desk and chair. Terrific. The breakfast included cereals, toast and waffles but no fruit.
For a good nights sleep while traveling, how can one go wrong with this stay that cost me, tax included, $52.55.

Room Tip: Be aware this property in in West Fargo, not in Fargo ND.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson West Fargo, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for your positive experience feedback; we are pleased that you enjoyed our queen bed room and the quiet night. We’ve also noted the fruit recommendation on weekly breakfast. We also appreciate you sharing your experience and hope you come back and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMAHAWK
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The rooms were ok, and the hotel was quiet enough, but the lobby didn't make a good impression. There was construction in front of the hotel and I felt annoyed that they wanted an extra $10 per night for the small dog instead of one payment for the two night stay. The breakfast was fairly minimal but ok. Although I reserved for two nights, they only had planned on my staying one night. I tried to take advantage of that to move to a different hotel for the second night, but that didn't work out, so I stayed two nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson West Fargo, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing the West Fargo Howard Johnson. We apologize you felt annoyed for having to pay the pet fee, but this is standard policy for all hotels and most hotels in our area don't accept pets at all. Our posted policy is actually $15 per night, per pet. You received a $5 discount per night for your pet. We have to uphold our pet policy to insure against damages or any other incidents that may happen when pets stay with us. You should have been able to cancel your second night before 11AM check out time, unless you reserved through a third party company such at Hotwire or Expedia. I urge you to contact us directly if you have any further questions regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Fargo
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham West Fargo
1.8 mi away
Element Fargo
Element Fargo
#1 of 6 in West Fargo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Fargo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fargo
2.0 mi away
Kelly Inn Fargo
Kelly Inn Fargo
#30 of 50 in Fargo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Fargo
Days Inn Fargo
#14 of 50 in Fargo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson West Fargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson West Fargo

Property: Howard Johnson West Fargo
Address: 525 Main Ave E, West Fargo, ND 58078-1929 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn West Fargo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > West Fargo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson West Fargo 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson West Fargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo Hotel West Fargo
Days Inn West Fargo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing