We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson West Fargo
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Fargo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cloyne, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Must say that for a quiet place to stay, this place worked for us. The room, number 123 , had a queen bed and a large recliner as well as a desk and chair. Terrific. The breakfast included cereals, toast and waffles but no fruit.
For a good nights sleep while traveling, how can one go wrong with this stay that cost me, tax included, $52.55.

Room Tip: Be aware this property in in West Fargo, not in Fargo ND.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson West Fargo, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for your positive experience feedback; we are pleased that you enjoyed our queen bed room and the quiet night. We’ve also noted the fruit recommendation on weekly breakfast. We also appreciate you sharing your experience and hope you come back and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    60
    71
    37
    41
See reviews for
115
54
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TOMAHAWK
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The rooms were ok, and the hotel was quiet enough, but the lobby didn't make a good impression. There was construction in front of the hotel and I felt annoyed that they wanted an extra $10 per night for the small dog instead of one payment for the two night stay. The breakfast was fairly minimal but ok. Although I reserved for two nights, they only had planned on my staying one night. I tried to take advantage of that to move to a different hotel for the second night, but that didn't work out, so I stayed two nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson West Fargo, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing the West Fargo Howard Johnson. We apologize you felt annoyed for having to pay the pet fee, but this is standard policy for all hotels and most hotels in our area don't accept pets at all. Our posted policy is actually $15 per night, per pet. You received a $5 discount per night for your pet. We have to uphold our pet policy to insure against damages or any other incidents that may happen when pets stay with us. You should have been able to cancel your second night before 11AM check out time, unless you reserved through a third party company such at Hotwire or Expedia. I urge you to contact us directly if you have any further questions regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was generally pleased with my stay there. They could work on the dusting and window cleaning a little more but overall I was pleased and would stay there again if in the area. The staff was very friendly and attentive to the needs of its guests. The WiFi was great had no problem. Very quiet, they didnt tolerate a lot of disruptive behavior from their guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank My-Time9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson West Fargo, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your recent stay; we apologize that your windows were dusty and have noted this for review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the WiFi and quietness of the hotel. Our hotel takes pride in providing the best customer service to everyone and we’re glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I travel to Fargo, ND several times a year for business, and have stayed at several different hotels in the area. When planning my last visit, I had difficulty finding a room anywhere online to stay. A friend mentioned the Howard Johnson Inn, so I decided to give it a try. I couldn't have made a better decision! Sam and Rita (the owners), went out of their way to ensure I had everything necessary to ensure my experience was nothing other than perfect! Being away from the comfort of one's own home for two week stints is never easy. However, the only place I would choose to stay in Fargo in the future is the Howard Johnson Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbstein03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson West Fargo, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our establishment at the Hojo; and that you enjoyed our hospitality and found it to be a comfortable place to stay. Thank you for sharing your positive experience and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, WA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed one night in September and had a comfortable stay. There was construction outside on the street but with the window closed, we could hardly hear it. The bed was comfortable and the wi fi was fast. Our only complaint was the toilet had such low water pressure that you had to flush it twice. The guest laundry was efficient and inexpensive - only $2 for wash and dry.

Breakfast was average with muffins, donuts, toast, cereal and waffles.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JuniperToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson West Fargo, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your recent stay. We’re glad you enjoyed the comfort of the bed and that the construction wasn’t a bother to you. The note about the water pressure is being taken into account and we’ll have that looked at as soon as possible. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed on Howard Johnson West Fargo for one night on my way back to cities. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is nice and clean. They have new carpets and furniture. The breakfast was more than what I had expected for a regular continental breakfast. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson West Fargo, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our location, we are pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness and the new renovations of the carpet and furniture we installed and that the breakfast and customer service was above your expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The rooms are so small a pack n' play wouldn't even fit in a 1 bed room. The sink is out side of the bathroom in some rooms with no extra counter space. The breakfast is all donuts and very unhealthy. Different rooms are different sizes and you can't request what size other then the bed size. On top of that our table in the room was dirty with pizza on it, the bathroom had hair all over it

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brook P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gupta08, Manager at Howard Johnson West Fargo, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We thank you for your feedback, and apologize the room was not big enough for your needs. The room size is based on how many beds are in each room, and all the rooms are exactly the same size according to how many beds are in room (2 doubles, 1 queen, etc.) except the jacuzzi suites. It sounds like a double bed room would have perhaps fit your needs better. Our breakfast does include healthy items such as oatmeal, apples, Total cereal, whole grain wheat bread, and sugarless jelly. The sinks are outside the bathroom in all of the rooms and do include right and left side counter spaces easily adequate for most bathroom related activities and getting ready. We had no report of your room being dirty or unsatisfactory. If you would like to contact us directly with more details about your stay, please feel free to do so and we can assist you further with any questions you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Fargo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Fargo
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham West Fargo
1.8 mi away
Element Fargo
Element Fargo
#1 of 6 in West Fargo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Fargo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fargo
2.0 mi away
Kelly Inn Fargo
Kelly Inn Fargo
#30 of 50 in Fargo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Fargo
Days Inn Fargo
#14 of 50 in Fargo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson West Fargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson West Fargo

Property: Howard Johnson West Fargo
Address: 525 Main Ave E, West Fargo, ND 58078-1929 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn West Fargo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > West Fargo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson West Fargo 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson West Fargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - West Fargo Hotel West Fargo
Days Inn West Fargo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing