We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”
Review of The Watford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Watford Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Watford City
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have to say this is the place to stay!

Nice rooms the people are great and the reception room is the best. If you do stay there please visit the bar and have a Moscow Mule! This is one of the best drink Ive ever had if you don't like it I will pay for it!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 61 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed at this property while I was in Watford City visiting a friend. There was a little bit of a mix up with my method of payment at check in but the blonde haired lady at the front desk was very kind and helpful. Very clean establishment. The beds are extremely comfortable!! It was also convenient that they have a lounge in the facility. Overall, a great stay and I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family. :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

New hotel, we stayed the middle of July for one night. We chose it because of the good reviews on trip advisor. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, directv instead of cable. (directv is the only tv.)
we tried the bar, great drinks, they were never allowed to go empty, outstanding service. paid 159.00 for a saturday night, which didn't seem too out of line for a nice place in the oil patch. I would recommend this place and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArtVandelay333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night while passing through town. The exterior of the hotel bid very nice with ample parking. Surrounding area is dusty with lots of construction. The inside is very nice and modern. Also very clean. However the place is noisy. From slamming doors, truck traffic and loud patrons. It made or trouble sleeping.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBERTO A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Fantastic lodging in a very tough atmposphere. Staff is very accomodating, knowledgeable, and real sticklers for detail. They have come a long way judging by the earlier negative reviews. It was necessary for me to change rooms during my stay and they handled everything for me, packing and moving. You do not find that very often.
My stay was for 6 nights and it was a wonderful experience in an otherwise drab town. My greatest finds in North Dakota have been the Watford Hotel and Outlaws Bar and Grill, both right in Watford City.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room away from the highway. It was not an issue for me, but I think it might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LubbockMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Travelers & visitors to Watford City who desire lodging comparable to upper-mid range hotels such as Hilton brands (Hilton Garden Inn, Hampton Inn) or Marriott (Courtyard) have a very good option with The Watford Hotel. Less than a year old, this hotel property is being kept well maintained and clean. Not an easy task considering the dirt and dust of the surrounding roads and on the shoes of guests! Front desk staff are friendly and personable; amenities are plentiful including fitness room, business center, laundry room, lounge/bar (enclosed area to minimize noise). Small touches as free cookies, a 24-hr snack store, coffee station, etc. are nice. My room had a king-size bed and small work desk. The cabinet on which the TV was set on also enclosed a small refrigerator and microwave (covered by doors). Tub/shower and toilet are in the bathroom. Sink and mirror are outside the bathroom in the "hall" of the room. My only disappointment with the room is the lack of a comfortable chair. My room had one small, upright and uncomfortable chair in the corner; definitely not meant for relaxing, reading, or watching TV. Management should consider adding comfortable chairs to the rooms. The following aspects of the room were satisfactory: lighting, climate controls, Wi-Fi connection, and mattress/pillows. I believe the television service is via satellite provider; I found it difficult to find subscribed channels from the hundreds that seemed available. I found the shower head to provide a less than ideal water pressure; hot water temp was fine though. Appears there is soft water here; guests not accustomed to soft water will feel a difference when rinsing off soap/shampoo (I realize this is not a big deal). Free breakfast is ok; nothing special and similar to what you would get at a Hampton Inn or similar hotel. At a cost of $150/night it is, overall, a very good hotel to stay in.
P.S. While I observed that most guests are business travelers, myself included, travelers on vacation who may be visiting Theodore Roosevelt National Park should give strong consideration to staying here. Watford City is approx. 15 miles from the park's North Unit. I would argue that Medora, ND at the South Unit has more of a tourist/vacation atmosphere than Watford City. However, staying in Watford City may help create efficiencies in some vacationers schedules/itineraries.

Room Tip: The "back" of the hotel faces Hwy 85. Not much of a view and a fair amount of truck noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keystone_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

New hotel with comfortable, modern rooms. The beds and pillows are great! Typical hotel continental breakfast. Lounge inside hotel and cozy and warm! Always enjoy staying here. The rooms are a little noisy due to truck traffic. Rooms on higher levels receive quieter experience due to not hearing noise overhead.

Room Tip: More noise on lower floor, but worth the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watford City hotels
0.3 mi away
Roosevelt Inn & Suites
Roosevelt Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Watford City
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Little Missouri Inn & Suites
Little Missouri Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Watford City
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Watford City
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Teddy's Residential Suites
Teddy's Residential Suites
#5 of 9 in Watford City
34 reviews
3.8 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Watford City
WoodSpring Suites Watford City
#6 of 9 in Watford City
22 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mainstay Suites Event Center
Mainstay Suites Event Center
#8 of 9 in Watford City
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watford Hotel

Address: 810 3rd Ave. SW, Watford City, ND 58854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Watford City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Watford City
Price Range: $103 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Watford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Watford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing