We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Explore the past”

The North Dakota Lewis & Clark Interpretive Center
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Washburn
Certificate of Excellence
West Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Explore the past”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Entry fee also includes Ft. Mandan, a few minutes away. This is a very nice center with some quality artifacts. Friendly staff and very well kept.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thomas58078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    26
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton City, Missouri
Level Contributor
316 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“So much to learn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a self-guided tour so you can go at your own pace, though we talked to one of the employees for quite awhile. He was very friendly & full of information that he was more than willing to share. There are artifacts from that time period, though only 1 or 2 genuine Lewis & Clark artifacts. There are a lot of paintings to see & a nice gift shop, also. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rannydef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great small town stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Gem in the middle of North Dakota don't miss a chance to visit Fort Mandan, well worth your time and I actually liked this stop better. Take a few minutes to stroll along the river.

Helpful?
Thank Jodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
578 reviews
252 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Excellent Interpretive Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Visited here last month while vacationing in North Dakota. This interpretive center was celebrating 15 years and so there were a number of visitors, presentations, special exhibits, etc. I thought the center was in a beautiful, modern and well maintained building with a number of exhibits detailing the journey of Lewis and Clark. The exhibits were attractive and informative and there were docents available to answer questions. I love history and learning about the Lewis and Clark exhibition so I found this center to be very worthwhile. I would highly recommend combining this with a visit to Fort Mandan (just down the road) and the Knife River Indian Village Historic Site which is approximately 20 miles away. By visiting all three places, you gain a great deal of information and insight into the history of the area and they complement each other very well. The cost for visiting the interpretive center and Fort Mandan is $7.50 together, but the day we visited the fee was waived. There is a gift shop on the premises.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
“New Exhibits Installed Feb. 2012 - Definitely Worth Checking Out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We just visited the Lewis & Clark Interpretive Center and it was very nice. There are many new exhibits... audio excerpts from the expedition journals, video interactives, and more. We learned a lot of interesting things about Lewis & Clark's exploration. Please disregard the post below from 2004 - the facilities have obviously had renovations & new exhibits added since. Definitely worth checking out, enjoy! Found a news story about the new exhibits (below) not sure how long the link will stay active, but try it > http://www.kfyrtv.com/Video_News.asp?news=54823

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The North Dakota Lewis & Clark Interpretive Center also viewed

 
Theodore Roosevelt National Park, ND
 

Been to The North Dakota Lewis & Clark Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing