We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Tuscany!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castelletto di Montebenichi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montebenichi
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Castelletto di Montebenichi 5 times since 2005 and each time it has been superb. It is ideally situated - 20 minutes to Siena, 30 minutes to Arezzo, one hour to Florence and spectacular short drives to many beautiful places in Tuscany - Peinza, Montalcino, Montepulciano, Lucignano, Cortona - and on and on! But the truly exceptional thing about the Castelletto is the owner, Marco - he is a wonderful host who is so knowledgeable of Tuscany (and all of Italy) - he provides guests with great suggestions of things to do, places to visit and restaurants to go to. The Castelletto is so very comfortable - his staff is excellent - Barbara offers wine tours and cooking classes. The buffet breakfast is fresh and ample - in a lovely room with great views. The pool and gardens are picturesque and very relaxing. We feel as though we are "at home" when we stay here - and we cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismorrison718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 121 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

I just returned from my 2nd visit to Italy and stayed again at the Castelletto di Montebenichi. This is the most lovely and relaxing place on earth. This time I stayed for 3 nights. One day I just laid by the large, beautiful pool. The rooms are unique and quaint and the views from the rwindows are breathtaking. The breakfast buffet is wonderful. The owners and staff are friendly and accommodating. You won't disappointed with your stay at the Castelletto!

Room Tip: Free WiFi !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beaachhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at the Castelletto in July 2012 for 4 nights. We wished it was longer. Marco welcomes you into his home, which is clearly a labor of love. I would have glady paid to see the Castle as a local attraction. The building has been majestically restored. The collection of art and curios and furniture is wonderful. One of the highlights of the stay for me was simply spending time appreciating the collection that the castle houses.

The location is perfect to explore Tuscany. Marco gives great guidance for destinations and restaurants. In Duddova, a nearby town, we had a most extraordinary lunch of simple local dishes that was revalation.

Our room was spacious, the air conditioning worked well, the shower was strong, the bed was comfortable. The decorations in the room were as beautiful as those in the common areas.

The pool area is large and well equipped and the view is inspiring.

We have travelled extensively in Italy, and we rate our experience at this property as one of our best. Between the superb facilities and the wonderful hosts and excellent location you cannot do better for a base for exploring one of the most lovely places on earth.

If I was allowed to give six stars, this would be the property that would deserve it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cohenfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed at the beautiful Castelletto in late April 2012. This place is absolutely unbelievable. We were treated like royalty the minute we walked in the door. The castelletto itself is mindblowing in scope, detail and history - and then there are the incredible views. We stayed in the toretta room, which is fabulous for a couple - beautifully furnished with amazing views stretching out over the olive grove on to Siena and beyond.

The gardens were beautiful, the breakfast fantastic, and the local osteria made for memorable evenings. It was also a perfect home base for seeing Tuscany - an easy drive to Cortona, Siena, Chiusi, the Chianti region - you name it. We did the Chianti wine tour with Barbara, and loved it - the wine is fabulous (ask to see Roberto at San Vincenzi!) and Barbara is very knowledgeable and pleasant company.

What really sets Montebenichi apart though is the hospitality - you're not a customer renting a room in a small historic hotel - you are an honoured guest in Marco and Arnaldo's castle. Whether it was sharing a drink with the owners or other guests in the lounge, hearing Marco's stories and getting his travel advice in the breakfast room, or perusing the fabulous collections in either of the two libraries - you are made to feel welcome and at home to share in the entire place.

This isn't just a fantastic place to stay - this is a once in a lifetime experience in a "bucket list" kind of way. To put simply - if you are travelling in Tuscany, you must stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

A dream place...plain and simple..the grounds....the people....breakfast was fantastic...cant say enough

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank STEVEL911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Our friends had recommended this hotel and are we ever glad we booked 5 nights in this most wonderful castle. From the moment we arrived until departure we were treated like royalty by our gracious host Marco.
The location is great and there's lots of opportunities to visit the nearby attractions like Siena and Florence. If you like antiques, this place is like a museum.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elsvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We loved our beautiful castelletto and its' staff. From Montebenichi we were able to drive to Pienza, Sienna, San Galgano. Through Barbara, you can arrange for an authentic cooking class in her home and tour wineries in Chianti. There is a terrace on top of the castelletto with breathtaking sunsets overlooking vineyards. There is only one restaurant in Montebenichi and when we arrived we found that the hotel staff had already made reservations for us in case we were hungry. We were and the food was wonderful. There is a snack and cocktail hour every evening and a full bar at your disposal for no charge. There is a stocked refrigerator in each room also no charge. We will return to Castelletto di Montebenichi.

Room Tip: Castles do not have elevators. This did not bother us, but if you have problems with stairs you migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CollegeMomCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montebenichi
7.1 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
708 reviews
3.9 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
562 reviews
9.3 mi away
Castello di Leonina Relais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
502 reviews
10.2 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
581 reviews
10 mi away
Hotel il Viandante
Hotel il Viandante
#1 of 5 in Terranuova Bracciolini
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelletto di Montebenichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelletto di Montebenichi

Address: Piazza Gorizia 9, 52021 Montebenichi, Bucine, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Bucine > Montebenichi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montebenichi
Price Range: $174 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castelletto di Montebenichi 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Castelletto di Montebenichi, a perfect spot for visiting Tuscany, located in the Chianti, half way between Siena and Arezzo. Staying at the Castelletto is a magic experience offered to a few guests only who will enjoy precious works of art, including period frescoes, archeological finds, sketches and antique paintings, drawings, sculptures, bronzes and ceramics. They will be caught up in a pleasant, unforgettable out-of-this-time atmosphere. In this ancient mansion, dating back to XII century, tradition and modern comfort are combined perfectly. Guests are encouraged to move free like in their own home in a comfortable and familar, yet elegant and exclusive environment. At a few steps in the park guests can enjoy a swimming pool, a small sauna, and a gym with a jacuzzi mini-pool along with a marvellous view over the surrounding hills and the valley. The Castelletto has no restaurant, but around the corner a wonderful "trattoria" called "L'Orciaia" offers tasty traditional Tuscan dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Castelletto di Montebenichi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelletto Di Montebenichi Hotel Bucine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing