We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Corinium Roman Villa
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic getaway”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Roman Villa in July 2013 and we were very impressed. We were greeted by a friendly Sue when we arrived and found the accomodations in our villa to be top notch. There is an excellent wood firebox which heated the room perfectly, and plenty of spare wood and kindling provided to keep it going or restart the next day. Ample breakfast food is provided including farm fresh egss, heaps of bacon, delicious plum jam, bread, butter, milk etc. Teh bed and bedding was very comfortable and of good quality. The bathroom and kitchenette were clean and really nice. The rammed earth walls ensure a very quiet room and add a great ambience, along with the cedar timber doors and finishings, and feel to the apartment The view from the room and the general area, particularly in winter is beautfiul. The town of Yankalilla is only a few k's down the road and has an EXCELLENT wood oven pizza retsurant called Lilla's and a great massage can be had at a small shop that sells crystals and other spiritual related items - I forget the name of the shop. Overall, we were very happy with our stay at the Roman Villas and would highly recommend a visit, especially in the cooler/wetter months. The whole place had a great feel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lachlan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueeater, Owner at Corinium Roman Villa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
It is so gratifying when guests spend time posting detailed accounts of their experiences (especially when they are so good!) It means a lot to us and is an excellent way of encouraging us to continue to stay focussed on giving guests the best experience that we can. Thank you Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The perfect hide away if you want to surprise your partner. We were there end of Feb 2013 with hot weather,there is a fan in the rooms but not really needed as the wall are made really thick and keep cool. Home made bread was supplied hot the first morning was lovely with their home made jam. While there we went for a drive to the towns that run along the coast ; Victor Harbor , Port Elliot and Cape Jarvis to name a few which are only a few hours away. Paul is a wonderful host, he did not hesitate to come and change the flat smoke alarm battery beeping at 9.30 at night ( thanks Paul). Large corner spa is wonderful to relax the hard week days away. Paul and Sue have done a remarkable job in hand building ( show in album in room ) this beautiful hide away. Well worth the stay. Thank's from The Dunn's

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Corinium Roman Villa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
What a pleasure it is to host such appreciative guests. We really value your comments, Katrina and are so pleased that the "surprise week-end away" organised by Craig was enjoyable. Comments like yours make the 7 years of hard labour building the villa all seem worthwhile. We enjoy sharing this beautiful "hideaway" and hope you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The perfect retreat in a perfect location. Hosts Sue and Paul couldn't have been nicer, providing everything for a perfect stay. From freshly baked bread to compliment the honey gathered from their own bee hives, to beautifully appointed villas constructed in rammed earth by your hosts. The attention to detail in every respect makes the Corinium Roman Villas the perfect location to spend time in this wonderful region. Just make sure to take the time to learn the history of this lovely place and the wonderful people who had the vision to create this ideal location and then have the inspiration to share it with others.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the West Wing room with it's lovely four poster bed, spa bath, combustion heate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Corinium Roman Villa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
It was lovely sharing our story with you both, especially since you are very interested in rammed earth technology. Glad you enjoyed the honey, we'll pass on your thanks to the bees! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were looking for a weekend escape from the rat-race, and this was just perfect! The property is delightfully situated on a spur overlooking Torrens Vale, and presents a magnificent vista of rural solitude just a short drive from the towns and beaches of the Fleurieu. We were lucky enough to score a sunny winter weekend, and the view from the ridge of the afternoon light on the trees and and rolling green hills is just entrancing.

The villas are uniquely and cunningly constructed of rammed earth, giving excellent acoustic and thermal insulation as well as a rustic look that complements the "roman villa" theme. Heating is by wood stove - very romantic (at least for a few days!) The rooms are fully equipped and lack for nothing, and the owners were attentive in refilling our wood box as we got low. The kitchen, while small, is more than adequate for simple meals and there is also a gas bbq. We ate at the local restaurants (with mixed results!) but next time we'll bring more ingredients for a cosy night in.

The villas are arranged in a hollow square, giving a private verandah and view to each room. The property itself is large, and offers the opportunity to stroll down to the dam and say hello to the kangaroos and the cattle over the fence.

We couldn't have enjoyed our time here more, and returned home happy and relaxed. We will certainly come again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sapientpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Corinium Roman Villa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
What a lovely descriptive review of Corinium. We are so pleased that you made the most of your stay by visiting the beautiful countryside and beaches close to the villa. The cosy night in by the wood fire sounds good! Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cremorne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We took our Scottish friends on a quick trip around SA which included a 10am crossing to Kangaroo Island. This lovely property seemed the ideal location to access our ferry and we had a very pleasant evening. We opted to use their BBQ and buy provisions on the way down. The kitchen was more than adequate and the rooms are spacious and inviting. There is a large spa bath in each room, as well as a private bathroom. Log fire was cozy and we were most comfortable.
Location is quite remote; therefore very quiet and there is a great view in almost every direction (hence it's pretty windy).
Our hosts were available but not there most of the time, which was fine.
The building is quite unique and we all voted that it was an excellent choice for our first night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Gorgeous Roman villa's set in stunning countryside, remote and peaceful, yet, central to all the peninsula has to offer. Layout of the villa is beautiful, we would imagine for both summer and winter, it is very cosy yet modern. Very well equipped with TV, kitchenette, outdoor patio area with furniture and bbq and amazing 2 person spa bath. Sue gave us a warm welcome and loads of advice (in particular the restaurants recommended are amazing), villa's come with freshly baked bread, half dozen eggs, plenty of bacon and tomatoes, honey, homemade jam all coming from their own land, milk and orange juice (for the breakfast choice we chose). All in all the perfect weekend getaway and will most definetly be going back

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yankalilla
6.6 mi away
Links Lady Bay Resort
Links Lady Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Normanville
330 reviews
7.5 mi away
Yankalilla Bay Homestead Bed & Breakfast
11.6 mi away
The Bluff Resort Apartments
The Bluff Resort Apartments
#1 of 2 in Encounter Bay
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lush Pastures
Lush Pastures
#1 of 1 in Bald Hills
90 reviews
7.2 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Normanville
173 reviews
8.9 mi away
Wirrina Hotel & Golf Resort
Wirrina Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Wirrina Cove
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinium Roman Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinium Roman Villa

Property: Corinium Roman Villa
Address: 160 Nosworthy Rd | Inman Valley, Yankalilla, South Australia 5203, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Yankalilla
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Yankalilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Corinium Roman Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Corinium Roman Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing