We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's worth a trip from Adelaide for this Pizza”
Review of Russell Jeavons

Russell Jeavons
Ranked #7 of 27 Restaurants in Willunga
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's worth a trip from Adelaide for this Pizza”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A warm Autumn evening, a couple of good reds and empty bellies and we were off to Russell's Pizza. We got to what had to number 13 and hesitated, as it seemed we were about to intrude on a Friday night booze up in someone's backyard. Then we saw a waiter delivering pizza to the tables, so we bravely went in. The decor was enhanced by church pews, laminex tables, and 1930's kitchen chairs. The building was variously described as a tin shed, a farm shed, a series of lean too's - but my favourite was "a corrugated iron gazebo". 3 pizza ovens (flat out), a large circular open fire and lots of happy, laughing people.
My colleagues ordered the pizza and we hopped into the red. We were stunned by the supreme quality of the food. Lamb, cucumber, seafood, anchovy's, bell peppers - all served on thin, crisp bases. The staff were very overworked but always friendly and helpful. We are all reasonably well travelled, and are still struggling to find a better pizza memory than Russell's. Although we did BYO, next time we wouldn't bother as the house red is more than acceptable.
Note: We were told that Russell Jeavons had sold to 2 of his staff - they are doing a fantastic job.
Now back in Melbourne, I am salivating as I write this, anticipating my next visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IanJMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goolwa, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A visit to the master!”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I lhave built by own piza oven A La Russsell Jeavon's book so I was ecxited to go to his restaurant (More a collection of sheds and an old cottage.) where there were 3 pizza ovens on the go. We had booked a table in the cottage and opted for the'all you can eat pizza' and the byo. The price was amazingly cheap, the pizza'a and welcoming local produce platter were very good, fesh and flavousome. The place buzzed with the contended sounds of happy diners. All in all a very unique experience. One minor complaint, a more prominent sign outside the restaurant would be a good idea.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tjumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely summer evening combination of a simple rustic setting with fine food”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We were lucky enough to get a table outside on the veranda on a sunny January evening. The kids played in the courtyard with kids from other families while we enjoyed the fantastic food. The simple menu is straight forward with limited but sufficient food and drinks choices. We went with the 3 course menu which gives you a starter, your choice of any pizzas off the menu and desert and coffee. For the kids they made a special pizza request and we enjoyed the lamb and the napoli. If there had been more of us we could have tried more pizza but we were just too full and it would have been excessive to keep on ordering. Russells is a fantastic combination of a simple rustic setting with fine food,

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DocHollday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This was once a gourmet experience in a relaxed and pleasant setting. We have visited Russell's a number of times on our regular holidays from interstate. It has been a favorite but on our recent visit it was overcrowded noisy and the service was poor. Waiting 45 minutes between pizzas is unacceptable and so noisy that conversation almost impossible made it unpleasant. The quality of the food was insufficient to make up for these deficiencies.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
418 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza, lovely setting”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

The wire fence out the front, the old house, the little 'campfires' near each outside table keeping people warm all made this place feel as though I was visiting an old friend's house rather than a restaurant - it felt lovely and homey. The absence of plates and cutlery made me glad I was sharing my meal with close friends rather than work colleagues (otherwise it might have been a bit awkward). The pizzas were delicious as was the dessert and the 'sharing' atmosphere meant everyone at our table got a taste of everything. The pizzas also came out relatively fast considering how busy it was.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missyb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell Jeavons also viewed

McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
Willunga, Greater Adelaide
 
Willunga, Greater Adelaide
Willunga, Greater Adelaide
 
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Russell Jeavons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing