We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in a delightful setting”
Review of Au pear

Au pear
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Willunga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a delightful setting”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We went there for breakfast with my young son. The food and coffee were delicious. They did not have a specific childrens menu but were more than happy to adapt and made something special for my son. The staff were friendly and we had a very enjoyable experience. The outside area would be glorious on a nice day. Would thoroughly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LouiseR1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    24
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Au Fair”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Quality and presentation of food disappointing. Not good value for breakfast. Even with the 'extras' it was just an average serving size with not even a small garnish to trick up the plate. Quite expensive for what was offered. Feedback was invited so we made some polite constructive suggestions. Response was "breakfast is a bit tricky, come back for lunch". We took the opportunity to provide additional feedback when we settled the account as being locals we really want the place to do well and would love to bring friends back. Unfortunately we were dismissed in favour of some 'popular' locals arriving and left to explore alternative options for our next experience. Pity as the setting is quite nice and really good coffee.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 61Shiraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willunga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Winter Afternoon Lunch at Au Pear”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We decided that as it was a stormy winter day what better way to spend the afternoon than having a long lazy lunch at one of our local restaurants and it was a perfect afternoon. The menu had something for everyone and while we decided on our choices if you'd wanted a little taste of everything they do a chefs sharing plates with 3 of their starters and 3 of their mains which is a great way to sample a range of their dishes. We started with the Duck Ravioli in Chicken and Rabbit Broth with Broad Beans and Spring Onions - absolutely divine- and the Buttered Brussels Sprouts with Turnip Mash and Kangaroo Chorizo. We do love our Brussels Sprouts and this was a lovely way to serve them. We then moved onto the Fish of the Day: Garfish in lemon butter with crispy soft shell crab and buttered cubed parsley potatoes accompanied with broccoli and toasted almonds ( 3 pieces of garfish ) and the Pork Belly with fresh apple, celery white anchovies and vinaigrette. As my husband said this was the best Pork Belly dish that he'd ever eaten. We finished our mains and had decided that we wouldn't do dessert but after chatting for a while and letting our mains go down we were totally drawn to the Sour Cherry, Pistachio, Halva & Caramel Terrine with dark chocolate & Pistachio Fondants ( Gluten Free as was most of the menu) . We shared this dish but I could have taken care of that all on my own ( next time I won't be sharing!). Au Pear has a lovely feel to the place, unpretentious relaxed interior looking out over the vines and their lovely courtyard exhibiting ironwork for the Sala Festival at the moment. Beautiful pieces by Anna Small & Rod Manning from A Small Art Factory. These pieces look like they belong here but are available to purchase, I have my eye on at least one piece to purchase!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lunch in the vineyards”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was a lovely sunny day when we had lunch at Au Pear and we sat outside surrounded by interesting metal sculptures. So far so good! The service was friendly and accommodating but the food was disappointing. Of course it depends on what you order - I'm sure some of the dishes are terrific - but overall, we found our food too .... weird. It's as if the chef is trying too hard. My friends struggled to finish their vegetarian dishes - the combination of flavours didn't work for them. The cauliflower croquettes had an unpleasant flavour and the gnocchi swam in an ocean of goat's cheese. However, the side dishes were generous and the bean dish was fabulous. I had mulloway which was very pleasant - maybe seafood is this restaurant's true forte? The deserts were disappointing - especially the pear tart which mostly consisted of a stack of poached pear slices. I'd been looking forward to some delicious pastry but the pastry was simply a thin slice buried under the stack. The coffee was declared unexceptional. Overall, we wouldn't return to Au Pear despite the delightful surroundings. It is comparatively expensive and the food is touch and go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourist014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Took my partner here for his birthday and we weren't disappointed!!! Lovely view out in the garden and the vines. Terrine for entrée and onion soup were fabulous - so tasty. Mulloway with soft shell crab was gorgeous. Hand written menus are a nice touch. Good selection of local wines. Lovely toilets. Nice atmosphere. Now in the Entertainment Book - fab and on the API scheme - we'll be back!!! A welcome addition to Willunga. Thanks for making a wintery cold day so enjoyable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieGypsy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au pear also viewed

Willunga, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
Willunga, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Au pear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing