We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence you must enjoy”
Review of Altar Bistro - CLOSED

Altar Bistro
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellence you must enjoy”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

If down in the Vales, go on down to Willunga and there awaits ''Excellence that you must enjoy''. The ''Altar Bistro' was formerly a Chapel. On entering ,cosy and warm in this cold weather, nice ambiance and unobtrusive background music. Warm welcome, something about the menu and then you decide....you could not go wrong as ''all '' the dishes we tried were a treat to the palette. The taste sensations were just delightful and Chef Shane teases you with that French way of cooking and presentation. Excellent wine list and very well priced. Sweets menu....now that is an eyeopener and at those prices you could easily have another sweet. Great coffee and tea served in a''teacup''....thats a winner. We were looked after well and gave us time to really enjoy this ''new found '' dining experience. We will be going back to enjoy more.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianjcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    12
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sublime”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Run by a husband and wife team, Altar IS a hidden treasure. We treated ourselves to the 3 course lunch with the matching SA wines and every mouthful had the WOW factor. I cannot rave enough about the food and service. If you are visiting from out of town like we were, forget the winery restaurants and go here .. you will thank me

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLaren Vale, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Dining”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We have been here a couple of times now and always forget to write a review. We have had breakfast and dinner here and yet to have a bad experience. The pace is perfect and the food has always been excellent. We hear they now have a new menu and will be looking forward to trying it out soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Is a hidden gem for a reason”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Great disappointment. This bistro is located in a desirable location (old church building in willunga) but that is all. Our group waited for breakfast for almost an hour, without the courtesy of saying sorry for the wait, added to the disappointed of finally seeing the simple food and pre sliced bread. Try harder and maybe there will be more than 3 tables occupied. We had breakfast on a Saturday morning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimenamanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lushane12, Owner at Altar Bistro, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hello, thank you for your review. We apologise for the long waiting time but as a large group with no booking we cannot guarantee a quick and efficient service. We recommend large groups book for any occasion at Altar Bistro as all our food is prepared fresh to order. We also wish we had a chance to explain and apologise whilst you were at our venue in person. Our sliced bread is one of the only things we buy in and do not make ourselves. Our in-house made brioche is available on the breakfast menu if you were after a taste of one of our own breads.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyoto
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is not bistro food but fine dining at its best. The menu is a standout as is the well matched wine list. Of mention is the red wine poached flathead (amazing) and the duck spring rolls. I learned later that everything is made in house - the gravlax, the bread the amazing chicken liver parfait. The restaurant was virtually empty on a Friday night. Admittedly the weather was bad but wake up Willunga!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanNorthQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altar Bistro also viewed

Willunga, Greater Adelaide
Willunga, Greater Adelaide
 
Willunga, Greater Adelaide
Willunga, Greater Adelaide
 
Willunga, Greater Adelaide
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing