We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in whyalla”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Foreshore Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Whyalla
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in whyalla”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Reasonanly priced and perfectly located on beach front.....room decor was very average but fully equipped. Havent tried food...
Bonus ..there is a nice garden Ada Ryan gardens on one side.
Bbbbbbbbbbbsgwgsgshdhdgsffwtwhdjd..

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben V, General Manager at Foreshore Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for your Review
We are working hard to update our rooms to compliment the great location
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    35
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
29
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Foreshore. The room was clean and quite spacious and accommodated our family in a double and two singles. Had Foxtel on TV and a clean en-suite. The restaurant was excellent and I have reviewed it separately ("The Waters Edge"). While the place is not particularly attractive from outside it offered all we needed and was bsolutely fine. It's in a better part of Whyalla and has a good siuation right on the sea front which I am told has been newly redeveloped. Very good play park nearby for kids.

Room Tip: Ask for continental breakfast which we got and was great for young kids as they dont eat much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Merlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben V, General Manager at Foreshore Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for your great review
Really appreciate the feedback , Glad you enjoyed the resaturant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stay at the Foreshore for work, and think the owners Ben and Bev are hardworking and eager to please (as their staff). Yes, the rooms are dated but they are working at updating. Would recommend an 'ocean view' as that block of rooms are bit more modern. The restaurant is usually busy (with locals too), which says something about the quality. Head chef Bev runs a tight ship in the kitchen and it shows. I am happy to give my business to the Foreshore because of the effort (to make my stay enjoyable), friendliness of staff and restaurant. I will be back!

Room Tip: Chose an ocen view room (deluxe)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javagirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben V, General Manager at Foreshore Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank You so much for your kind words , we work really hard to make sure our guests have the best possible experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Ok the accommodation is old but it is clean and the decor isnt tacky.

The service here is great, it is obviously run by the owners.

The food was just divine, absolutely not what was I expecting way out in Whyalla! A little on the expensive side but worth it in my opinion.

I'd recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasperAustraliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben V, General Manager at Foreshore Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We like to surprise people , we are fast becoming a must do in Whyalla for dining which we are very proud of , thank you so much for your great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have been staying at this motel for work on and off for awhile now. The rooms are clean and tidy. The service is second to none. Ben (the manager) and his staff couldn't be more helpful. The restaurant Is second to none. Haven't had a bad meal there yet!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben V, General Manager at Foreshore Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks Ryan for your kind words , we hope all of our guests leave knowing that we have done everything we can to make sure they enjoyed their stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in early afternoon and reception friendly and although told us restaurant was closed for breakfast we could have breakfast in our room which we found later to be complementary. Very nice bonus. Our room was tidy and had most things we needed other than a microwave. Bathroom was very average and was in desperate need of refurbishment along with the room. However the location was fantastic right near beach and cafe. We dined in the restaurant for dinner with some friends and could not fault the meals. Very well presented and tasty. Hopefully they will do some upgrading in near future to the rooms and we would be back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey-Nils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben V, General Manager at Foreshore Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
And that's what were doing , we have commenced renovation on a block of rooms as well as an overall upgrade to the property which will take time , really appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Amazing food with a host (Ben Vandeleur) who new what I wanted and when I was ready for more. Also impressed by the knowledge of wine and menu by all staff I encounted!
Agreed that the rooms are on the dated side but where spotlessly clean and I did notice renovations happening across the way.
I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben V, General Manager at Foreshore Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks Alex for your great review , I could just tell you were hungry but I'm glad we could look after you , that room that was being gutted when you stayed is now completely refurbished , will be sure to book you in there when you next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whyalla hotels
3.2 mi away
Westland Hotel Motel
Westland Hotel Motel
#1 of 5 in Whyalla
84 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Alexander Motel Whyalla
0.4 mi away
Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sundowner Motel Hotel
Sundowner Motel Hotel
#1 of 6 in Whyalla
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Whyalla Playford Apartments
2.5 mi away
Airport Whyalla Motel
Airport Whyalla Motel
#4 of 5 in Whyalla
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foreshore Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foreshore Motor Inn

Property: Foreshore Motor Inn
Address: 12 Watson Terrace, Whyalla, South Australia 5600, Australia (Formerly Whyalla Foreshore Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Whyalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Whyalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Foreshore Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Foreshore Motor Inn Whyalla is situated near the water, boasting magnificent gulf views and surrounded by beautiful park lands and gardens. Only a 2 minute drive from the city centre and just 3km from the airport. The motel commands the only beach position in Whyalla and offers second to none views and tranquil surroundings. Our dedicated staff pride themselves on their outstanding service, attention to detail and professionalism, making every visit a rewarding and special experience. Talented Head Chef changes our menus seasonally. From the waters of the Spencer Gulf, to the agricultural pastures of regional South Australia, we are proud to offer top quality produce, presented to the customer in a fine dining experience only available at the Watersedge Restaurant. Restaurant Opening Hours Breakfast Monday - Friday 7:00am - 9:00am Saturday & Sunday 8:00am - 10:00am Lunch Fridays From 12:00pm Dinner Monday - Saturday 6:00pm - Late ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Foreshore Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foreshore Motor Inn Whyalla, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing