We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westland Hotel Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Whyalla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Having previously stayed at the Westland we chose it again for its convenience. Again we had the rooms at the rear of the property for the quietness, the downside is that the Nomad WiFi does not seem to reach that area, nor do Iphones seem to work. Aside from that the motel is exceptionally clean and comfortable with all amenities. Reception staff are helpful and pleasant, important after a long drive.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new block at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank investigator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 97 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Have stayed here numerous times, once a year only though. Great location.Rooms very clean, staff great. Breakfast (included in the tariff) is wonderful, you couldn't ask for better. But the Bistro prices are nothing short of outrageous. Working in a hotel myself i have a good understanding of the cost of goods from the supplier and the percentage markup required for a good food gp. We did not dine here this time but chose to spend our money elsewhere. what a shame! I hope the chef and management can rectify this as it is a big negative for what is otherwise a great pub.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Great location - adjacent to shopping plaza and short distance to the foreshore etc! The room we had was at the back, very quiet, well equipped, large bathroom and very cleanThe bed and pillows were extremely comfortable (hard to find sometimes). Darren, Kellie and all the staff were so friendly and accommodating we felt like we were at home! Highly recommend this motel and wouldn't stay anywhere else :)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rebecca50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Have just got back from staying at the Westlands Hotel. The rooms are quite spacious and clean although if on the bottom floor very noisy at night. The continental breakfast is absolutely fantastic great choices but upon eating in the Restaurant for dinner, we twice found the food to an average standard especially the seafood basket which was very poor and extremely overpriced. Basically a nice place to stay and have breakfast but best finding another venue for dinner.

Room Tip: Choose the newer rooms at the back of the hotel a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluey2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the standard of accomodation at Westland. We had the deluxe rooms at the rear of the property. Fairly new - clean spacious and comfortable.

Food at the Bistro was very good - the Bistro is a busy area and it is an advantage to get in early for dinner.

Staff are friendly and helpful - particularly at the reception

Room Tip: Have a rom at the rear - better rooms - quite area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank investigator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having left Whyalla a number of years ago, whenever I come 'home' I stay at the Westland Hotel Motel. The rooms are fantastic and includes spa rooms - and the staff are friendly and caring. The breakfast in the Vegas Restaurant is a highlight. Also - the Bottle and Bird - drive through bottle shop as well as drive through chicken shop - makes a fantastic chicken curry that I have not experienced outside of Whyalla. It's worth driving back and staying here, just for that.

Room Tip: The spa rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulyFrequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have stayed at Westland Hotel/Motel at least 5 times a year for the past 25 years, the most recent visit being yesterday. During that time, this motel has undergone extensive renovations and additions while maintaining a consistent reputation as being the preferred motel choice in Whyalla for work-related travel.

Westland Hotel is ideally located if you don't have personal transport, as it is adjacent a shopping centre that houses supermarkets, a department store, newsagent, post office, medical clinic and several specialty stores.

All rooms at these premises have been either been recently renovated within the last 5 years, or of recent construction, so decor is consistently neat and modern. There are many rooms available here, so booking accommodation is not normally a problem. From my experience, the best rooms are to be found at the rear of the property, or across a side street in the newest set of rooms.

The in-house restaurant is in my opinion the best available in Whyalla, and I can easily vouch for the consistent quality of the food on offer. Unless you are looking for the cheapest meal in town, there is no need to dine elsewhere.

Room Tip: Best rooms are at the rear further est away from the office (room numbers in the 400's), or acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whyalla hotels
3.2 mi away
Foreshore Motor Inn
Foreshore Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Whyalla
94 reviews
1.9 mi away
Whyalla Country Inn Motel
1.1 mi away
Airport Whyalla Motel
Airport Whyalla Motel
#4 of 5 in Whyalla
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Alexander Motel
Alexander Motel
#2 of 5 in Whyalla
94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sundowner Motel Hotel
Sundowner Motel Hotel
#1 of 6 in Whyalla
94 reviews
2.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westland Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westland Hotel Motel

Address: Westlands Hotel/Motel 100 McDouall Stuart Ave | Whyalla Norrie, Whyalla, South Australia 5608, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Whyalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Whyalla
Price Range: $78 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westland Hotel Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westland Hotel Motel offers quality accommodation to suit any pocket Westland Hotel motel has 115 units all with private en suite, Large colour TV with FREE Austar, Tea/Coffee making facilities, Minibar, Split System Air Conditioning and FREE WIFI. All room standards include a Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast served in Vegas Restaurant each morning from 6.00am until 9.30am. The 115 units vary in accommodation needs from Corporate Business to Family Vacations, Honeymoon Packages and even Weekend Fishing Trips with the Boys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Westland Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westland Hotel Motel Whyalla, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing