We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westland Hotel Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Whyalla
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good & Bad”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Have just got back from staying at the Westlands Hotel. The rooms are quite spacious and clean although if on the bottom floor very noisy at night. The continental breakfast is absolutely fantastic great choices but upon eating in the Restaurant for dinner, we twice found the food to an average standard especially the seafood basket which was very poor and extremely overpriced. Basically a nice place to stay and have breakfast but best finding another venue for dinner.

Room Tip: Choose the newer rooms at the back of the hotel a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluey2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    38
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
22
4
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reynella South Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the standard of accomodation at Westland. We had the deluxe rooms at the rear of the property. Fairly new - clean spacious and comfortable.

Food at the Bistro was very good - the Bistro is a busy area and it is an advantage to get in early for dinner.

Staff are friendly and helpful - particularly at the reception

Room Tip: Have a rom at the rear - better rooms - quite area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank investigator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having left Whyalla a number of years ago, whenever I come 'home' I stay at the Westland Hotel Motel. The rooms are fantastic and includes spa rooms - and the staff are friendly and caring. The breakfast in the Vegas Restaurant is a highlight. Also - the Bottle and Bird - drive through bottle shop as well as drive through chicken shop - makes a fantastic chicken curry that I have not experienced outside of Whyalla. It's worth driving back and staying here, just for that.

Room Tip: The spa rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulyFrequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have stayed at Westland Hotel/Motel at least 5 times a year for the past 25 years, the most recent visit being yesterday. During that time, this motel has undergone extensive renovations and additions while maintaining a consistent reputation as being the preferred motel choice in Whyalla for work-related travel.

Westland Hotel is ideally located if you don't have personal transport, as it is adjacent a shopping centre that houses supermarkets, a department store, newsagent, post office, medical clinic and several specialty stores.

All rooms at these premises have been either been recently renovated within the last 5 years, or of recent construction, so decor is consistently neat and modern. There are many rooms available here, so booking accommodation is not normally a problem. From my experience, the best rooms are to be found at the rear of the property, or across a side street in the newest set of rooms.

The in-house restaurant is in my opinion the best available in Whyalla, and I can easily vouch for the consistent quality of the food on offer. Unless you are looking for the cheapest meal in town, there is no need to dine elsewhere.

Room Tip: Best rooms are at the rear further est away from the office (room numbers in the 400's), or acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stopped overnight,Motel ok, very basic ,but clean and good for a overnight stay .Continental Breakfast available at Hotel next door. Hotel next door with meals and pokies available. Room has coffee and tea fridge and iron if needed.

Room Tip: Stay at back to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimBriigette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for just a night, the rooms were clean and comfortable and was quiet, had dinner in the restaurant and the food was beautiful, I take my hat off to the chefs, will defiantly stay here again :)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Outstanding property. Spotless room. BONUS:- Free continental breakfast in the resturant, excellent variety of cereals, breads (incl crossoints), juices, tea/coffee's, plus fruit, yoghurt and fillings for crossoints. Hot breakfast also avail at a cost. Breaky staff very friendly, Room has everything, iron, board, hair dryer, very large TV, good size room. Located in the corner of the Westland shopping centre. All take aways in this area. Overall very clean property. Staff very efficient. Parking area etc. very clean. FREE guest laundry with two machines, two dryers and two ironing boards with irons!! Was a pool but didn't use it. Lots of rooms to suit all budgets and needs. My room was a standard room but totally acceptable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerdianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whyalla hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Alexander Motel Whyalla
3.0 mi away
Sundowner Motel Hotel
Sundowner Motel Hotel
#1 of 6 in Whyalla
85 reviews
3.2 mi away
Foreshore Motor Inn
Foreshore Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Whyalla
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Airport Whyalla Motel
Airport Whyalla Motel
#4 of 5 in Whyalla
3 reviews
2.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore
3.2 mi away
Whyalla Playford Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westland Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westland Hotel Motel

Property: Westland Hotel Motel
Address: Westlands Hotel/Motel 100 McDouall Stuart Ave | Whyalla Norrie, Whyalla, South Australia 5608, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Whyalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Whyalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westland Hotel Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westland Hotel Motel offers quality accommodation to suit any pocket Westland Hotel motel has 115 units all with private en suite, Large colour TV with FREE Austar, Tea/Coffee making facilities, Minibar, Split System Air Conditioning and FREE WIFI. All room standards include a Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast served in Vegas Restaurant each morning from 6.00am until 9.30am. The 115 units vary in accommodation needs from Corporate Business to Family Vacations, Honeymoon Packages and even Weekend Fishing Trips with the Boys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Westland Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westland Hotel Motel Whyalla, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing