We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Certainly the better caravan park on offer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Certainly the better caravan park on offer”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Unlike The Other caravan in town we called into, we were attended to on arrival by a helpful and friendly staff member, one of the great crowd hanging about behind the counter and in the office area. Given the number of admin staff one might have thought there would be a surplus of grounds and cleaning staff, but obviously not. As a Discovery Park, we had expected a higher standard, but really there was nothing to fault it. It just didn't have that X Factor Discovery Parks tend to have. Still we had a good caravan site, easy to access, a good concrete pad, and no problems with anything. Amenities were clean, just not attended to as regularly as the number of staff suggested they might be (the normal scraps of toilet paper around the loo floors - it happens, I know). I think the other reviews have been unfair, and we took the opportunity to sign up to the Discovery loyalty card which immediately gave us a 10% discount. We would happily stay here again if we should bother to stop in Whyalla.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi Bronwyn C, thank you for your kind words and constructive feedback. We appreciate all feedback as we continue to improve the develop the products and services we deliver. We look forward to welcoming you back to the park should your travels bring your through Whyalla again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    69
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
49
76
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

phoned ahead and booked in for an over priced cabin with a toilet i was lucky to fit in ( i'm not in bad shape ) and a box shower with no dish or rack. booked in for 5 days at top dollar only to find the larger cabins were cheaper days later upon further discussion. asked to upgrade after sheer frustration 4 days in receiving no towels , bin clean or attention and was informed it should be ok . finished work on sunday and called the office ready to move and was told , " to be honest we don't have a room tonight but if you want to book in for a week tomorrow i can help you " .. i travel from town to town and stay in cabins and all i can say is this place is very unprofessional and there cabins from what i've seen need a major overhaul .. try somewhere else !!

Room Tip: chip in and do a week rental on the beachfront rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daved0wnunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your recent stay at Discovery Holiday Parks did not meet your expectations. We value all feedback from our guests, both positive and negative, should you wish to discuss your comments further please feel free to contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Where to begin.. Upon ringing to make a booking I noticed the prices for a sea view cabin where much more than advertised on the website. When asking why the response was "there must be something on this weekend". I downgraded to a family cabin and this was a little more in our price range (still much higher than the advertised priced). We weren’t expecting much as it was only basic but booking into a cabin was our worst mistake. The cabin was filthy there were dirty marks all over the walls, ants, the cabin could do with a fresh coat of paint as the paint was peeling all over the place. It was a hot day so we put the aircon on 18 upon arrival and left until dark. When we returned the cabin was hotter than it was outside therefore that’s were some of us slept. A grounds keeper came over and woke us up at mid night questioning why we had set up the swag outside when telling him that it’s too hot inside he gave us the key to the cabin next door. The aircon in this one worked great but we were only allowed to sleep on the floor in the lounge room as they did not want to do the laundry as there were guests checking into this cabin at 2PM the FOLLOWING day. There wasn’t enough room for all of us so one of us still slept outside. The following afternoon they put in a portable aircon it was okay still didn't get the house that cool but we just had to make do. Overall a horrible experience, it was so hot in the cabin that we didn’t even use the toilet and shower in it we just walked across to the shared facilities. We would have been better off not wasting our money and sleeping in an unpowered tent site.

This place was the biggest and most disappointing holiday experience I have ever encountered and I highly recommend that no one stays here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SummerDays60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koo8882, Manager at Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We value your feedback and you can be assured that we will be following up on your comments with our team. Please feel free to contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au should you wish to discuss your comments further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The vibe this place gives off is really creepy. This was the last place that we stayed at during our time in SA and it was far and away the least friendly reception staff that we encountered, worst location and most run down, old facilities but also the most expensive!!!

Never again will we visit Whyalla, my advise: keep driving and you'll be sure to find somewhere nicer.

Reception, why would you Place campers in the most exposed location with the least grass? Ridiculous!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davo69er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koo8882, Manager at Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We value all feedback from our guests, both positive and negative and we are sorry to hear that your recent stay at Discovery Holiday Parks did not meet your expectations. Should you wish to discuss your comments further please feel free to contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Booked in and drove to our site and there was no way we could back into it ,with all the permanent residents cars park around it . And there was no way they were going to shift there cars so we had to walk back to office and was told tough , So we were given another site wich was just a bit easier to get into, So thanks to the stuck up permanents we will not recommend this park to any one

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginnyallo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koo8882, Regional Manager at Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, your comments have been addressed with the Park Managers and we will be reviewing the parking arrangements within the park to ensure this situation doesn’t happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were visiting family in Whyalla so booked a Deluxe 2 bedroom cabin which faced the water.
Pros:
* The cabins are very large and clean
* Huge decked area facing the water with a quality outdoor setting for 8
* Jumping pillow and playground great for kids
* Nice lawned areas in front of cabins and around the park
* Comfortable beds

Cons:
* Indifferent reception staff, not rude but not friendly either
* Tiny, thin towels and only 2 supplied. We had to go back and ask for more for the extra person
* Minimal bedding supplied in the 2nd bedroom. Again it was supplied without fuss but should be there in the first place.
* Sofas in the cabins. Ours were OK but our family members who also booked cabins were terrible. Really sunken and you could hardly sit on them, not good enough when you are paying $200 a night.

Overall this is probably one of the better places to stay in Whyalla. It could be much better with a few tweaks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Having read some of the comments on Tripadvisor I was a bit nervous about booking a cabin, but as options for two bedroom places in Whyalla were limited I went ahead. I was not sorry! The cabin overlooked the beach, it was very clean and had everything we needed. The view was spectacular. The staff on check in and out were helpful and polite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 51traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whyalla hotels
2.9 mi away
Westland Hotel Motel
Westland Hotel Motel
#2 of 5 in Whyalla
81 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sundowner Cabin & Tourist Park
0.4 mi away
Foreshore Motor Inn
Foreshore Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Whyalla
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sundowner Motel Hotel
Sundowner Motel Hotel
#1 of 7 in Whyalla
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Whyalla Playford Apartments
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore

Property: Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore
Address: Broadbent Terrace, Whyalla, South Australia 5600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Whyalla
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Whyalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Parks - Whyalla Foreshore South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing