We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sundowner Motel Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Whyalla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have been coming to Whyalla for years and normally stay at the Alexander but this has really lost its edge over the last couple of years. Also has got quite expensive and meal quality has really dropped off. Thought I'd try the Sundowner as it was only one night. Very impressed (compared last stay in 2002). For $110 you get a clean modern room and a continental breakfast whch would have cost $40 more elsewhere. Thought it would be noisy however very quiet. The bistro has no pretensions of fine dining but my meal was at least $10 less than elsewhere and excellent quality. My pub of choice from now on.

Room Tip: Book early as always seems to be full
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegrayghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgmj, Manager at Sundowner Motel Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We are very proud of our venue and always strive to make your stay comfortable.
The feedback that you have provided is very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you when you next travel through our region.
Marilyn Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
18
4
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
424 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was recently at Whyalla for a conference and booked into the Sundowner for 5 nights. This is part of a larger hotel/bottle shop/pokies complex which is located not far from the airport. This property is nothing to write home about but equally it wasn't that bad either. The room I had was clean and while not huge it did have most of what I need, except for a double/queen bed. It had 2 single beds which were OK but I'm a bit surprised that a motel would have this configuration. Lucky I was on my own! The pub meals were fine (though you probably wouldn't want too many dinners from the menu) and the free continental breakfast was adequate, though it did lack fresh fruit and a range you would expect at a better hotel. On the plus side, the location of the hotel units were away from the rest of the complex so the room was very quiet. The hotel staff were generally helpful and obliging. The hotel doesn't have a pool or fitness centre, but the YMCA run pool and leisure centre are 2km away (15 mins walk) down the road.

Room Tip: If you expect a double bed, make sure you ask in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgmj, Manager at Sundowner Motel Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your very helpful feedback.
We are very proud of our venue and appreciate your reviews. We are always striving to improve our business and your comments and suggestions help us to do just that.
Marilyn Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Service at check in was efficient and friendly, room was very spacious and clean. We were in room 1 which was closest to the bistro so was noisy during the night but it quitens down. The room came with a free continental breakfast which was more than adequate. Would stay here again wiout hesitation thought the room was overpriced for a simple hotel room evn tough they are new however there wasn't much left for the night we needed accommodation for in town. Overall it was a good experience

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemmacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel/Motel on our way back from Tumby Bay. We found the room comfortable
and the staff very friendly and obliging as we had frozens which were put in their big freezer until we left. The meals were more than ample and we will stay there again when we go thru next.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255093Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Adequate for a night stopping through Whyalla. Nice food in the pub attached.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ExpatFamily2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed there at the Easter Weekend for the first time. Having eaten at the restaurant there on a number of occasions and finding it to be to of a good standard where you get what you pay for in pleasant surroundings,with good service, we expected the rooms to be of a decent standard.

We were wrong, they were excellent in all respects, as good as rooms that I have stayed at in five star hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MikenMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Having just spent a night at the Sundowner on a work trip i would have no hesitation in recommending it. Exceptionally friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms and a great selection of meals to choose from. The photos on their website are exactly what you get in person.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kona34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whyalla hotels
3.0 mi away
Westland Hotel Motel
Westland Hotel Motel
#2 of 5 in Whyalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla
2.1 mi away
Whyalla Playford Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Foreshore Motor Inn
Foreshore Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Whyalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sundowner Cabin & Tourist Park
3.0 mi away
Quest Whyalla
Quest Whyalla
#1 of 7 in Whyalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundowner Motel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowner Motel Hotel

Property: Sundowner Motel Hotel
Address: Lincoln Hwy, Whyalla, South Australia 5608, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Whyalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Whyalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundowner Motel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well appointed modern ground floor luxury motel units are situated well away from the main hotel in a fully landscaped setting.The hotel also boasts a dining room, club lounge and gaminig facilities.Check In and Check Us Out Today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sundowner Motel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundowner Motel Hotel Whyalla, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing