We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundowner Motel Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Whyalla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Adequate for a night stopping through Whyalla. Nice food in the pub attached.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ExpatFamily2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
18
4
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed there at the Easter Weekend for the first time. Having eaten at the restaurant there on a number of occasions and finding it to be to of a good standard where you get what you pay for in pleasant surroundings,with good service, we expected the rooms to be of a decent standard.

We were wrong, they were excellent in all respects, as good as rooms that I have stayed at in five star hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MikenMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Having just spent a night at the Sundowner on a work trip i would have no hesitation in recommending it. Exceptionally friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms and a great selection of meals to choose from. The photos on their website are exactly what you get in person.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kona34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauralikestotravel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed here for two nights for a business trip and was pleasantly surprised at how big and modern the rooms were. There was a large flat screen tv with Austar, the rooms were HUGE and had two beds available and the bathroom was spacious and modern. Staff were really friendly and helpful and the hotel was conveniently located on the Lincoln Highway so easy to find at nighttime. The hotel even supplies you with a complimentary continental breakfast. - I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Whyalla.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauralikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

The deluxe room was very spacious and well appointed. King size bed, everything worked perfectly. Staff in the dining room were pleasant and the food was good. A good place to stay for work or a road trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WenZan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

A motel very clean, modern, well supplied, good welcome.
A good stay. And a good restaurant, a little big... taste barramundi in babanas leaves and red curry...!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

From when we arrived at the hotel the reception staff were very helful and kind, when we got to our room it was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was very high standard. The service in the restaurant was very good because the staff were friendly and the meals were genourous and we only waited about 10-15 minutes for our main course. Overall I would recommend this hotel for anyone wheither it is for a business person or a family, the Sundowner hotel is somewhere I would stay again and I really enjoyed being there and breakfast was complimantry. I congratulate the staff for such a high standard hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travvel810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whyalla hotels
3.0 mi away
Westland Hotel Motel
Westland Hotel Motel
#2 of 5 in Whyalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel Whyalla
2.1 mi away
Whyalla Playford Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Foreshore Motor Inn
Foreshore Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Whyalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sundowner Cabin & Tourist Park
3.0 mi away
Quest Whyalla
Quest Whyalla
#1 of 7 in Whyalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundowner Motel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowner Motel Hotel

Property: Sundowner Motel Hotel
Address: Lincoln Hwy, Whyalla, South Australia 5608, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Whyalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Whyalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundowner Motel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well appointed modern ground floor luxury motel units are situated well away from the main hotel in a fully landscaped setting.The hotel also boasts a dining room, club lounge and gaminig facilities.Check In and Check Us Out Today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Sundowner Motel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundowner Motel Hotel Whyalla, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing