We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Eat at Whalers

Eat at Whalers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Eat at Whalers. Indulge in million dollar views, salty air & frosty glasses at Whalers. Eat, drink, relax & savour. Titillate your tastebuds. Encounter friendly faces filling your glass. Why don’t you celebrate life!
Jamestown, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I love everything about Eat. The location is beautiful, the service is friendly and efficient and the food is sensational! Our first meal was to check the place out as a possible wedding venue... we didn't look any further. We definitely made the right choice, our wedding was all that we wanted it to be and the food was faultless. The scallops here are the best I have ever had, several of our guests made the same comment. Just superb!

On the deck or inside, there aren't many places with a better view or better food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    92
    39
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in great location”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were touring round Australia in April this year and visited Victor Harbor for a few days. We ate twice at this restaurant as the food and service were excellent. By far the best meal we had during our entire 5 week visit to Australia. The fillet steaks were brilliant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SheDevil25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outback SA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice enjoyable lunch.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went there other week and the weather was perfect to sit outdoors,but we sat inside this time.Service was very fast and friendly,only two staff members working and were busy with lots for folk turning up after us.Steak and salad A1 once more.Great wine to drink with meal also.Fish and chips were fine,small serve which was just perfect for me being a small eater.All in all a wonderful lunch there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank awelltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for late afternoon lunch”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

After an early start from Adelaide and touring around Victor Harbor, we wondered around the coast and found this delightful restaurant with outside dining. They were very gracious and kept the kitchen open to serve us. It was a beautiful early fall day and we could not get enough of the view while sharing a bottle of wine. Our sister and brother in law live in Adelaide and had heard mediocre reviews of this restaurant and hotel. But the present management seem to be doing a fine job. I had local oysters which were absolutely delicious and served perfectly. My sister always orders battered squid (different preparation from what we are used to in the states) and she said this one of the best she had ever had. The menu has a Greek flavor and the trios of humus, olives and other dips with salad was perfect. And the views out to the Southern Ocean made it a picture postcard day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JMac28046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best In Victor”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Fantastic food and service. My wife had a dips platter and a fattoush salad and I had scollaps and Gnocci. Everything was great along with the service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank roger g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat at Whalers also viewed

Victor Harbor, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 
Victor Harbor, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 

Been to Eat at Whalers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing