We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for by the sea.”
Review of Eat at Whalers

Eat at Whalers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Eat at Whalers. Indulge in million dollar views, salty air & frosty glasses at Whalers. Eat, drink, relax & savour. Titillate your tastebuds. Encounter friendly faces filling your glass. Why don’t you celebrate life!
Clare, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic for by the sea.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Firstly it must be the most tranquil sea view in South Australia, matched by helpful and friendly staff, even have a sense of humor!!!!. Both our visits gave us fresh flavorsome food experiences.
The entres are big enough for small eaters as mains, often a good thing for old persons. We had wine by the glass and a bottle another night, a good choose of list.
Also Geary for coffee and especially for a sunset drink in evening. a must visit in Victor Harbor. We done Tenny and Alister and your staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MitchellWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    92
    39
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
outback SA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Big Surprise !”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Well went once more hoping that things had changed and yes they sure had this time from ups and downs to a BIG up today.Just great to sit there for over 3 hours really enjoying the views and meals and service of staff.The staff today were wonderful,all of them.The service was much better with staff seating us when we came in and greeting us too.Drink order was taken asap as were food orders.Must say the fish I really enjoyed and my husband said steak he had was A1 and done just perfer to his taste.We both had a dessert and coffee which was a bit slow on comming but could not fault it at all.In other words this time they have gotten to that high level that it is a real pleasure to go back to once more.WELL DONE!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awelltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor
1 review
“Perfect food in a perfect location !”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and i have been to EAT @ WHALERS a number of times now, as the food is always cooked to perfection - and she LOVES the desserts !
I always enjoy a good steak - cooked exactly to my liking, and served with green peppercorn sauce and crisp seasonal vegetables.
My wife however, loves to try different entrees each time we go, because, then she is able to squeeze in a dessert !
If i can remember correctly, she has tried on different occassions - the steamed local yabbies, the Panko Prawns and the Fattoush salad. Last friday night she had the creme brulee and i enjoyed a pine nut meringue with blueberries and honey ice- cream.We sat out on the deck and enjoyed our dinner watching the sun go down over the ocean. What more could anyone ask for ?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank estate44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maslin Beach
1 review
“Excellent Service and Sublime Views”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I would highly recommend this venue for any special occasions you are planning. We enjoyed an intimate dinner with guests who we had invited to our small wedding ceremony earlier that day on the beach. We ordered a taster menu of fish for our guests and Jennifer helped us with the wines to match with the many courses the chef prepared. We could not have asked for better service and the food was fresh, beautifully presented and delicious. The view of the bay at sunset is spectacular and the staff at the restaurant went out of their way to make sure we had a truly beautiful end to our very special day. Thank you.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, service and views even though they were nearly full”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

4 of us came for a Friday lunch. Whalers has had it's ups and downs so we were really hoping for an up time!! Well we were very happy with the service, from our greeting and seating to great service from a variety of wait staff, and a delicious lunch. We just had mains and desserts, but entrees consisted of share platters or individual plates all of reasonable price. For mains we chose the steaks $34 and King George Whiting $30 both served with either potato or chips and salad. The fish, grilled, was super fresh and tasted of the sea and the salad and dressing were up a notch from any we have had elsewhere, as were the chips. Steaks melted in the mouth and were a good thickness and served as ordered, rare and medium. Served with a crisp Jim Barry Reisling ~$30 and a side of crisp steamed veggies (beans, broccolini and asparagus) $10, we thought we had good value for money.
Desserts were a delicious creme brûlée with home made macaroon, a chocolate nemesis (Italian chocolate mousse cake) Knickerbocker Glory, a trio of chocolate vanilla and toffee ice cream with berry coulis, all delicious and all $10.
We can thoroughly recommend this restaurant for value for money, delicious food and great service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat at Whalers also viewed

Victor Harbor, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 
Victor Harbor, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 

Been to Eat at Whalers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing