We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”
Review of Hotel Victor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Victor
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Reviewed August 13, 2014

my wife & i have just had 3 glorious days at this hotel we upgraded to a sea view room & i reckon it was the best money i:ve spent the view acroos the park to the harbour & pier was well worth it & as for the smorgasboard evening meal it was fantastic such good value. okay the stairs are a problem BUT they in the process of instaling a lift which will make this hotel first class would definitely stay there again. very good staff reception was good & the dinning staff very good Thank you for a very pleaseant stay

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room they are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank malcolmjohnmb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 190 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I recently spend 3 nights at this hotel and were very comfortable. The room was a good size with a king size bed but the bathroom area was quite small. Continental breakfast very good. Had the carvery meal one night but preferred to eat elsewhere the other nights. Once the lift is installed it will make a huge difference taking luggage to the rooms.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the park and the causeway to Granite Island which was very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Victor and that you took the time to write a favorable review. I hope we can welcome you again to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed there for 3 nights recently and enjoyed our time there.
Room was good with view over park and had a large king size bed. The shower area was small but we survived this problem. The stairs leading to rooms are a nuisance but a new lift being installed should overcome this problem. However we were able to receive assistance with our luggage.
Continental breakfast was adequate and the 3 course carvery at night is very good.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are having a lift installed at the moment which should be completed by the end of October 2014. This will certainly make a big difference for all our guests. I look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We spent 3 nights this week at the Victor Harbour Hotel. Our bedroom area was large, very clean and well decorated. We overlooked the park which was great. Unfortunately the shower room included the toilet and was very small. There was no room to dry yourself unless you stood in the shower. The only other place to dry yourself was the area where the hand basin was but this was carpeted. It really should be tiled. The meals were great. We would stay again if in Victor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Good location but steep stairs, noisy rooms (rubbish truck, fork lift and staff separating bottles at 7.00 am), and the worlds smallest bathroom. The bed was good. Overall OK, but we wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlooking the waste skips. They're quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveM2880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

stayed one night here. very reasonably priced. restaurant and cafe attached to hotel which were very busy. bedrooms upstairs clean and basic. overlooked ocean which was good. bathroom was tiny. walk in to toilet with shower in front of loo and hand basin outside door...very odd. very steep stairs to climb if you are elderly but did have a seat that took you up if you couldnt climb up. might not be suitable for the larger person. would recommend to anyone needing a place to stay the night

2  Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Was served straight away, but then waited for 50 minutes for food! The lady asked if we wanted garlic bread while we wait for our lunch to come, so we ordered some... 50 minutes and not even our garlic bread come out to us! EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED! Total wait time was ONE HOUR, and that's only because we asked where our food was! I'd hate to see how long we would have waited if we didn't ask!!!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank imiaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

I appreciate you taking the time to report your recent experience at the Hotel Victor.
The long weekend was a very busy time at the hotel and at the peak busy time it was taking 1 hour from when meals were ordered to when they were delivered. We will always do our best to get meals out to customers in the quickest possible time, but on some occasions this can take one hour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victor Harbor
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage Hotel
The Anchorage Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#6 of 6 in Victor Harbor
132 reviews
9.7 mi away
Motel Goolwa
Motel Goolwa
#1 of 3 in Goolwa
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
293 reviews
1.7 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
1,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apollon Motor Inn
Apollon Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor

Address: Albert Place, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Price Range: $79 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victor offers 33 quality rooms with ensuite facilities. All rooms offer a secure & comfortable environment for business or pleasure travel.The Hotel Victor is located in the heart of Victor Harbor overlooking Encounter Bay and Granite Island. Sandy beaches, golf tours, spectacular scenery, wildlife and a multitude of attractions and activities are all close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Victor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victor Victor Harbor, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing