We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay at Victor”
Review of Hotel Victor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Victor
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Stay at Victor”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

After having done many day trips, we as a family decided to stay a few days at Victor Harbour.
.

Upon arriving at reception and obtaining our key we proceeded to our room upstairs only to experience the most horrific view from our balcony window. Rusted and noisy airconditioners along with three dead flies on the window sill.

We then proceeded to have dinner at their famous carvery. Whats so famous about it ? The food is bland and chews like leather. As you image we did not finish our meal .

We actually left and went to Cafe Primo around the corner to eat for the remainder of our stay,
at least the food there was of some quality and taste.

As for the continental breakfast, one measured glass of orange juice and toast your own bread with your choice of cereal.

I didnt expect 5 stars , but i expected a bit more than this.

Having had fond memories of Victor Harbour, this has actually killed it for us.

I dont think well be going to Victa for a long long time.

I have included a picture of the view out the window, judge for yourself

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Donny255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    69
    33
    13
    17
See reviews for
31
86
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
127 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The hotel is well situated with some rooms overlooking a green area with the sea in the distance. The rooms are up a large(ish) single flight of stairs so a bit of a struggle with a heavy case. Our room was on the small side with a tiny shower / wc area in one corner and washbasin by the fridge in the room. Reception staff are a bit off-hand but our breakfast waitress was friendly and the food OK but not brilliant. Can recommend the Thai restaurant next door.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

The hotel is well placed near the causeway for Granite Island and the town centre. It has limited parking but we never experienced any problems. Our room overlooked the green opposite the hotel which was preferable to looking out over the carpark. The room was on the small size but adequate for our needs - a three night stay. The shower and toilet are in their own small cubicle (limited space but functional) with the basin placed in an adjacent alcove out of sight from the bedroom area. A longer shower curtain would have prevented water escaping into the toilet area but this was more of a nuisance than an issue. Although the room has a wardrobe there is insufficient storage space for a longer stay if you wish to unpack your cases/bags. The bedside lights are touch controlled with three different light intensities which are useful if one party wants to read while the other sleeps.

The hotel restaurant is good, offering a la carte, carvery and bar meal options. The carvery with fresh vegetables was a welcome alternative to the usual fare of chips with everything. The restaurant and bar area is popular with both hotel guests and local residents. We stayed over a weekend and the hotel had live music on Fri/Sat nights.

All staff were really helpful and friendly, and we would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iantravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Hotel Victor is old and basic but it provided us with a Bed and that's all we really needed. It's not posh ...but the location is ideal.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We bought 3 nights’ accommodation in a travel auction, but decided it was probably too long, so went with just 2 nights. Normally you can either start your stay on a Wed or a Sunday, so we decided on a Thurs and Fri night (forfeiting the Wed)
The room was small and clean and the view of the green reserve was very nice (we paid extra for the view though) The bedding was good quality but the beds were two separates pushed together, so not so comfortable in the middle.
The bathroom is in desperate need of a reno. Very small - the toilet was almost in the shower. The tv was a flat screen but so tiny.
The dinner which was included in the deal was the carvery smorgasbord and was very enjoyable. The roast meats were all delicious and the roasted vegetables were of a good standard. Continental breakfast was included in the deal but was very ordinary.
The hotel is very conveniently located to Granite Island, cafes, The Whale Centre, beach and the main street. Cafe Bavaria is a MUST and it's next door.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Hills
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

After reading the other positive reviews of this Hotel we were very disappointed with the room. It was clean however tiny, the ensuite was very small. The room looked out over airconditioning ducts which were noisy. The bed was 2 singles pushed together and each sagged to badly they were more like hammocks. The room was not serviced during our 3 day stay.

The location was ideal for sightseeing around Victor Harbour and we really enjoyed our stay despite the room we were staying in. Restaurant was average pub food. There is a great little Thai restaurant next door that was great value and we had a lovely dinner there.

Room Tip: Get a room looking out over the Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakleaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

An easy 2 hour drive from Adelaide, we stayed for one night. The hotel is really conveniently located directly opposite the tourist centre and the wharf to Granite Island. The room itself was quite comfortable although not quite as spacious as some others that we subsequently stayed in through SA & Victoria. We had a room with no view, by choice, and overlooked the roof of the restaurant but it was quiet and very clean. The shower/toilet area is quite small with the basin outside but the water was hot. My husband is quite tall often finds that a lot of hotels have "short" showers but this one was fine. We ate in the restaurant and had the buffet which was a fairly standard country bufet but the breakfast the next morning was huge. Just note all the roomes are up a flight of stairs, no lift, so a bit of a drag getting your gear up. There is a stair lift for those that can't manage the stairs. All quite nice for a country hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victor Harbor
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
124 reviews
18.5 mi away
Links Lady Bay Resort
Links Lady Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Normanville
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
262 reviews
1.7 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apollon Motor Inn
Apollon Motor Inn
#6 of 6 in Victor Harbor
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor

Property: Hotel Victor
Address: Albert Place, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victor offers 33 quality rooms with ensuite facilities. All rooms offer a secure & comfortable environment for business or pleasure travel.The Hotel Victor is located in the heart of Victor Harbor overlooking Encounter Bay and Granite Island. Sandy beaches, golf tours, spectacular scenery, wildlife and a multitude of attractions and activities are all close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Victor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victor Victor Harbor, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing