We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Victor

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Victor
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Adelaide Hills
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

After reading the other positive reviews of this Hotel we were very disappointed with the room. It was clean however tiny, the ensuite was very small. The room looked out over airconditioning ducts which were noisy. The bed was 2 singles pushed together and each sagged to badly they were more like hammocks. The room was not serviced during our 3 day stay.

The location was ideal for sightseeing around Victor Harbour and we really enjoyed our stay despite the room we were staying in. Restaurant was average pub food. There is a great little Thai restaurant next door that was great value and we had a lovely dinner there.

Room Tip: Get a room looking out over the Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakleaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    66
    32
    12
    16
See reviews for
30
83
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

An easy 2 hour drive from Adelaide, we stayed for one night. The hotel is really conveniently located directly opposite the tourist centre and the wharf to Granite Island. The room itself was quite comfortable although not quite as spacious as some others that we subsequently stayed in through SA & Victoria. We had a room with no view, by choice, and overlooked the roof of the restaurant but it was quiet and very clean. The shower/toilet area is quite small with the basin outside but the water was hot. My husband is quite tall often finds that a lot of hotels have "short" showers but this one was fine. We ate in the restaurant and had the buffet which was a fairly standard country bufet but the breakfast the next morning was huge. Just note all the roomes are up a flight of stairs, no lift, so a bit of a drag getting your gear up. There is a stair lift for those that can't manage the stairs. All quite nice for a country hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

After the disappointment of the Harndorf Accom, (not the village - this is always a great experience) we drove through torrential rain, showers and wind down off the Adelaide hills to Victor Harbour, and, after a quick trip around the town, we came across the Hotel Victor set opposite the causeway to Granite Island. A great location.
Our room although it was one without a view, was spacious, clean, very well appointed and comfortable - and - the price $114 included an incredible cooked breakfast!
The weather being 'unchangeable' we made the most of a drive around the harbour and took in the sites - great views - and also interesting shops! If it (the weather) had been kinder we would have stayed another day or two to explore and to take the carriage ride to the island. The hotel provides a bit of everything, great food and very pleasant service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger and Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

After being dissapointed with our previous night's accommodation, I was quite content with Hotel Victor. Freshly renovated rooms, apart from the bathroom, but seriously who cares? A view of Granite Island (once you walk past the aircons (again, who cares) a 3 types of roast dinner with vegies, salad bar and desert AND a fully cooked breakfast that crapped all over where we stayed the night before all for less than half of what we paid the previous night. Reception staff (Janice) was very friendly and helpful and we slept well and relaxed the rest of the weekend away. Defintely happy to stay there again and think it's worth forking out the extra cash for a room with a spa. Thanks Hotel Victor :) see you again soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miztik_Unicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

I stayed one night in this hotel in July 2011. I had a room that overlooked the Reserve and Granite Island. The room seemed to have been recently renovated with new carpet, some new furniture and HD Television. The fridge and bathroom are showing some age - that was not a problem for me however. Sitting by the picture window in a comfy chair, plus sleeping in a comfortable bed - it was great. Had a good pub meal in the cafe also. I would always ask for a room on the sea side and pay a bit extra for that. Service by the receptionist, cafe and bar staff was very good. To get to the rooms you do need to negotiate a steep set of stairs. There is a chair lift if you are unable to do this.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Light03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Stayed here for one night over a long weekend, got the Winter Warmer deal $114 including Breakfast for two. I was a bit afraid after reading the reviews but it was great, our room No3 had been recently renovated and was great. The included breakfast was a tradition fried (big serve). All together a great experience will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thepengy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

I didn't really find the staff friendly at this place. Besides that, I found a worm in my salad. That was horrible. I told that to the waiter, she said ohhhh i cant look at that thats gross and walked off with the plate .....my plate came back with a new salad no sorry or anything.....When we were about to leave a different waiter asked how was the meal? We said fine beside the worm on the plate her response was yeah i heard about that and had a good old laugh..... unbelievable i just cant believe no one said a simple sorry or even offer the meal free of charge... Its ok as i will never go or recommend this place to no one as i have never experienced such a horrible dining experience

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stell2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victor Harbor hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victor Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victor Harbor Beachfront Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Apollon Motor Inn
Apollon Motor Inn
#6 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor

Property: Hotel Victor
Address: Albert Place, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victor offers 33 quality rooms with ensuite facilities. All rooms offer a secure & comfortable environment for business or pleasure travel.The Hotel Victor is located in the heart of Victor Harbor overlooking Encounter Bay and Granite Island. Sandy beaches, golf tours, spectacular scenery, wildlife and a multitude of attractions and activities are all close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Victor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victor Victor Harbor, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing