We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hoot”

The Big Duck Boat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.42*
and up
Seal Island Boat Tour from Victor Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Big Duck Boat Tours is South Australia's ocean adventure tour. See wildlife such as seals, sea lions, dolphins, sea birds and whales up close within minutes of leaving the dock. Our specially designed, purpose build rigid inflatable boat provides a fast, fun, safe ride so you can relax and enjoy the spectacular scenery. Experience the Southern Ocean and learn about our history, geography and wildlife through an informative commentary provided by a friendly, knowledgeable local guide.
Bowden, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“What a hoot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

After reading such great reviews for this small business we felt we just had to experience it for ourselves. Dan returned our phone call with a cherful disposition and although it was booked on the day we wished to go we were able to make a booking for the 75 minute tour on the following day.
What a blessing this was as the weather on our preferred day was not too great whilst the day we went out was considerably better. The boat takes a maximum of 10 passengers and the "saddle" seating is perfect for crossing waves and swells. Dan was a fantastic host, enthusiastic and knowledgeable and obviously loving his job and determined to give a fantastic and safe experience. Although the end of the whale season, we were still able to partake on this inspiring experience which had everyone speechless. Wr missed out on the dolphins but saw Australian and New Zealand fur seals. We can't wait to return with friends and family.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barossa-Epicure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Excellent , our ride was the 1hr 15min version and was outstanding , seals , dolphins , whales & a bit of fun with the boat itself. Be sure to do this if you get the chance.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could not fault!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

A must do while at Victor! Best $60 I've spent on my travels!

It's obvious that Dan has spent the time to build a trusting relationship with the sea life. We not only saw Whales, but a calf too, and later three separate schools of dolphins which swam along side the boat and danced underneath, really putting a show on for us!! Dan could answer all of our questions and his passion for the sea really reflects in his tours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun for young and old!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our 3rd trip on the Big Duck and, as previously, it was very enjoyable and we did see whales! Dan runs a very professional and competent operation and makes sure everyone is well equipped and has a good experience. As other reviewers have commented, the boat ride itself is great fun for young (grandchildren) and old (grandparents) and the chance to surf the swells and see the coastline is worth the trip, regardless of the welcome sightings of whales, dolphins, sea lions, fur seals, and numerous species of sea birds. We highly recommend this experience and rate it the number 1 tourist attraction at Victor Harbor. Ann C.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seal Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Well this was a pleasant surprise, from the moment we met Dan the owner on the causeway at Victor Harbor right until the end of the tour he was professional, polite, friendly and very knowledgeable. Dan stopped on the way to Seal Island near some Dolphins for a great photo opportunity, so close that you could nearly touch them, then we went on to Seal Island for some great views of the various Seals. Dan supplies you with a great jacket so you do not get wet, for a ten seater boat the trip was surprisingly calm (and the sea was not that at all)

I would strongly recommend this attraction to anyone of any age visiting Victor Harbor, just remember to book before you go as the tours are heavily booked and you would not want to miss this opportunity.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Duck Boat Tours also viewed

 
Victor Harbor, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 

Been to The Big Duck Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing