We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ooops!!! Forgot to book them in.....”
Review of Apollon Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apollon Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Traralgon
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Ooops!!! Forgot to book them in.....”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We turned up in Victor Harbor after worrying about the route because of bushfire warnings and alerts, that coupled with a very hot, hot, 40 degree day travelling from Adelaide.
I had made the booking for the night with a gentleman and the room was discussed at length, credit card details given etc.,
My sister and i went to book in and there was no booking for us...
Now this time of year this could potentially have been very challenging for us, but the lovely younger lady at reception assisted us and we were allocated two queen rooms on lower level of the hotel, which suited our needs so we took them.
We paid for the rooms and checked in.
Air conditioners whilst a little noisy did the job; everything in the room was as it should be; and we were quite happy with our overnight stay there. The beds were very comfy; shower pressure good; water hot; creature comforts supplied.
I have to admit the other reviews about the car parking being designated one way certainly make sense, as there was a family who continuously let three young children run riot whilst the parents were elsewhere, and there were a lot of families staying at the hotel.
My sister and I returned the key to front reception on checkout morning and were quite perplexed about the manner in which we were requested to wait until she had checked us out. Had she been on top of her game, she would have known that we had paid the previous day. We were given the obligatory keep cool, enjoy your day, but ......
These are the kind of things that influence whether I would stay again.....

Room Tip: If you are challenged with mobility problems ask for a ground floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
39
42
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
173 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had mixed feelings about this place. We walked in and were shown a standard room for $129. It was certainly standard, and pretty gloomy. We were then shown an upstairs "superior" room for $150 which was at first sight vastly superior, with a restricted sea view, a couch and coffee table, queen bed, good wooden table with two chairs. It was very welcoming and well furnished.

The bathroom let it down a little, plastic shower curtain (although the shower itself was good), some of the grout was showing its age, and cheap plastic fittings. The towels were a little ungenerous. Oddly enough there were two white robes. Here's a tip, owner - scrap the robes and get decent towels. And the toiletries were two bars of soap and two of those horrid cheap little sachets of shampoo that you can't open. If you are paying a premium for a room you might expect better.

Another beef was the wifi for which you are charged $10. This was the first place we had come across on our trip to charge for wifi, and a charge to use the pool towels.

Agree with other comments about the parking, it should really be marked out as one way.

Nice friendly greeting, and it's just the penny pinching and the bathroom that prevent an excellent rating, at least for the room we had.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apollon12, Owner at Apollon Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
With this review we consider the guests to be the penny pinchers!!.
They must have looked at several sites for accommodation and been confused with the places that they inspected, as we do not have any “Superior” rooms and we don’t have plastic shower curtains. Hope that your travels have been fun. Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The lady at the front desk was very nice, always greeted us as we came in and out. Carparking in the motel is good, although it should be one way (or have signs saying it is) because it can get quite tight in some places, and you wouldnt want a car coming at you the other way! Pool was lovely, however the spa was the same temperature as the pool. Room was nice and clean as well as the bathroom. Close proximity to shops, supermarkets and laundromat. Overall a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Bridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

There is a friendly front desk, We had a nice ground floor room, The rooms were quite considering the location close to stories and restaurants. The location is with in an easy walk of the downtown area. The turn into the place is a little hard to get into and I missed the turn on the first try. The lot is one way and could be a little tight if you have a large car.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with our two kids forst week in october, and first and foremost, the staff were so incredibly friendly! We were checked in, no issues, were told info on the motel etc.
as for the room, it was a cosy family room, two bedroom, kids room with a bunk and a single bed, parent room with a door leading to the bathroom. Very clean and tidy, and one thing i noticed about this room was, the tempreature, it was never hot or cold. It was always kept at perfect tempreature lol. One day for example was pouring and windy, and we didnt feel any cold in the room. Usually hotels are either too hot or cold, but our room felt perfect considering the weather. Kids had a great time in the pool, and the games room. In the games room there is a few things you can do to kill time which was fun. The location of the hotel is perfect! Everything is at walking distance. Not only a woolies or a coles, but there are many other stores too which is handy incase u forget something. We had alot of fun and will most likely stay there again when we head to victor harbor.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CumquatV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

we stayed recently for one night in the family room , which was quite a spacious two bedroom unit. Everything you could want , well positioned in town & the manager was really welcoming & seemed to enjoy his guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A very comfortable motel in a lovely little town. The management were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The recommendation for a restaurant for dinner was spot on, as were the tips and advice on what to see and do. Especially liked the little touch in the shower of the foot rest - very helpful for someone with a bad back to be able to wash comfortably. Didn't try the pool, but the family who were swimming certainly looked like they were enjoying it.
Would definitely recommend Apollon to others travelling to Victor Harbour and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenWayne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victor Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
263 reviews
1.5 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
947 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victor Harbor Beachfront Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollon Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollon Motor Inn

Property: Apollon Motor Inn
Address: 15 Torrens St, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apollon Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Specialise in 'BABY BOOMERS' accommodation, and the Apollon Motor Inn is a major player in the motel industry in Victor Harbor on the Fleurieu Peninsula. Offering comfortable accommodation, indoor Heated Swimming Pool, family Games Room, and Convention Centre. Located in the heart of Victor Harbor, close to most attractions, including shopping & beaches, a short walk to Granite Island to see the Fairy Penguins or ride on the Horsedrawn Tram 1894 style, and boat cruises to the Murray Mouth and Kangaroo Island. We are members of the Golden Chain Group.We welcome our visitors with a homely genuine friendly service and show our guests an appreciation of Victor Harbor. Off street parking close to the rooms. COME & STAY WITH US!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Apollon Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollon Motor Inn Victor Harbor, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing