We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveler rating
85
152
83
32
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
152
83
32
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomspa roomgranite islandseafront hotelprivate balconyguest loungeguest houseold buildingold worldfour poster bedthe ground floorno air conditioningbeautiful buildingoverlooking the seaold stylewine listkangaroo island
Filter
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 368 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2009

My partner and I had the most fantastic stay at this hotel recently.The staff were so polite and went out of their way to assist you in any way possible.Breakfast was awesome.Our bathroom was spotless,there wasn't a negative about the place at all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustraliaEliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We just spend the weekend in the Anchorage Seafront Apartment attached to the Hotel and have to say it was not anywhere near expectations from the description and pictures on their web site. The location is handy to the main street of Victor Harbor and the views across Encounter bay are wonderful. But that's where it stops. The Apartment is the upper story of an old 1970's house next to the hotel that has bathroom and kitchen fittings from the same era. Broken cupboards, missing lights, cracked tiles in the bathroom, towel rails falling off the wall and a variety of junk being stored in the parking garage all left an impression of poor maintenance and no effort being made to maintain a good standard of accommodation. It's certainly not worth the price being asked.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmillwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We stayed in a seafront spa room. It was really nice and quiet and so romantic. The room rate was reasonable because the direct sea views from the room were to die for. We were even lucky enough to spot whales from our balcony. Very special. The room decor is olde world, which suits the ambience of the building.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank crazycat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

We decided to take a detour down the Fleurieu Penninsula to Victor Harbor as our first stop on a six day trip from Adelaide to Melbourne along the GOR. We arrived late in the day and stopped first at the Whaler's Inn. It was way out of town and the crowd there seemed kind of stuffy; everyone was outside having cocktails and dining to the music of a tacky lounge singer on keyboard singing old Frank Sinatra songs. Anyway, we decided to head back into town and found the Anchorage right on main street. We paid $145 AUD for a balcony room, with an ensuite bath (large bathtub!) overlooking the water and the lawn bowling greens. It is a very old hotel, but we thought it was charming and had a lot of character. The room was clean and we very much enjoyed sitting out on the balcony (nice size balcony) that evening and the next morning to watch the sunrise. The hotel is in a great location. We were able to walk to the Granite Island tramway and the park in just a few minutes. The Anchorage also has a nice restaurant where we had a very good breakfast. We didn't have dinner there because we had had a very late lunch at one of wineries on the way down, but we saw the meals being served while we had a dessert and everything looked delicious. Prices seemed reasonable and the restaurant is decorated with a nautical theme that makes it a lot of fun (the bar is shaped like a boat). Also, all the members of the staff that we had dealings with (restaurant and owner of the hotel) were SO VERY friendly and helpful; as nice as can be. We thought the Anchorage was a GREAT place and very convenient to everything. We hope to return to Victor Harbor some day (lovely town) and we will stay at the Anchorage again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnaEvergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

A hotel that looks charming on the outside but our upstairs spa room was shabby and overpriced. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetoreadglendora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews