We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pity, the location as so much potential” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Seafront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“What a pity, the location as so much potential”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

We stayed at the Anchorage Seafront Hotel in March 09 and were very disappointed that we were put in a run down 1960’s style house three houses along the street from the hotel building. This house had some permanent elderly men living downstairs and was not what we had anticipated. The entrance was messy and hickildy pickity. The “magnificent” seaviews overlooked the lawn bowling club. Even the kettle was a old stained cheap plastic one. We had to walk up the street to reception to ask for a hairdryer. It was a depressing place and we could not wait to leave. It was a dreadful standard for this day and age.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annagram09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    132
    73
    27
    11
See reviews for
38
190
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

Room: Upstairs Spa room, overlooking the sea front, four poster bed, en-suite with spa bath.
Well located sea front guest house. Many different priced rooms. Not to our taste, was expecting a bit more from the description given. Looks great from the outside, lovely heritage building. Inside, the rooms seemed dark (dark carpets, average quality dark coloured bedding/towels, dark wood etc.), very high bed with hard mattress. Average shower over the spa bath. We would not stay here again, sure some people will like it but for us, it was a little bit shabby and for the price we paid for the spa room, i know we could get something better elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notts24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victor Harbor hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2009

I have to agree with other reviewers who have covered most points. The main building does look good from the outside and the squeaky stairs add to atmosphere. The location is great being very close to the main shopping and other eateries. Also near is the beautifully restored Victor Harbor railway station where you can take vintage train trips on certain days. But that is where it ends!

There are great views from the upstairs verandah but the room was more than a bit ordinary. We were staying in the so-called new part which was built in 1952. What a disappointment! The builders of this section only included a heritage look facade on the lower front section - all the rest is just 1952 - except for the spa-bath which doesn't even have a hand rail never mind a glass surround. The bar fridge doubled as the table, a bar heater on the wall, a noisy and useless box air conditioner and a TV so little (13") and high up the wall and so far away that it wasn't worth having.

Have to agree with another reviewer who said the hotel needs a big makeover. The potential is fantastic. The other strange thing is that we were advised by locals that this was the best place in town!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor Amenities
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Geordielass2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2008

I have been to this guest house numerous times in the last twenty years. It is great value. Most of the rooms are basic, but remember it is a guest house not a hotel. In fact it's the only guest house left of 65 that used to be there. Built in 1905. My room had a double bed, a sink, a fridge, tea-making facilities, a chair and table, a shower and toilet, with a window view overlooking the bay. For $70 it was good value.

The Achorage is right in the centre of Victor, overlooking Encounter Bay. A couple of minutes' walk to the Granite Island Causeway. Cross the road and you are on the beach.

The best thing about the Anchorage is the restaurant/cafe/bar. The bar is made from an old boat. Food is fantastic, whether it be breakfast, a main meal or bar food. The coffee is terrific! And the staff at the Achorage are friendly and helpful.

Not only would I go back: I will!

  • Liked — food and service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank prajnaparamita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwyz
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

Room:
Heritage double room shared bathroom, $70 per night

Positive features:
Sink in room (but impossible to wash hands without touching it), large seafront balcony with nice view over Encounter Bay, centrally located, car park in backyard (but rather swampy)

Negative features:
Heating too feeble for high ceiling, thin floor (telephone entertainment from reception), shared bathrooms extremely cold (open windows and no heating), disagreeable odour of fried bacon and kitchen in corridor, fridge as centrepiece arranged in middle of room, no lift

Conclusion:
Heritage in the sense of just old but without charm, too expensive for off-peak season

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Heritage as an excuse
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank youngswisscouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

Looked great from the outside, great views from the upstairs verandah but the rrom was a bit ordinary. Maybe we were staying in the old part, it was very basic, a bar fridge doubled as a table, a bar heater on the wall, a TV so high up the wall you dislocated your neck. We chose to use the shared bathroom - which wasn't a problem as we were the only ones who were using it. Cold marble and no heaters sorts the men from the boys in the showers.
Location was great, close to town and Granite Island - the hotel needs a big makeover if they want to continue trading, maybe they want it to run down so it can re developed - it would be a shame to lose it as it's a beautiful building

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — the list would be to long
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BazinBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in a sea facing view. From our balcony, we have great views of the Encounter Bay and Granite Island. We love having our snacks and refreshments in the balcony. Although it's cold but we love it!

Our room has no ensuite bathrooms but since the other 2 rooms have no tenants, we are the only ones using the shared bathroom/toilet facilities.

The city centre and the access to the horse drawn tram to Granite Island are within 10 minutes walk. It's the only hotel in Victor Harbor that has a full frontage view of the Bay.

The rate is reasonable for these rooms too - A$70/night. Overall - a great and enjoyable experience.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — the stairs
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victor Harbor
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
18.5 mi away
Links Lady Bay Resort
Links Lady Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Normanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.5 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apollon Motor Inn
Apollon Motor Inn
#6 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Seafront Hotel

Property: Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Address: 21 Flinders Pde, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchorage Seafront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and admire the sea views while soaking in your private spa. Accommodation choices include upstairs private spa rooms with balconies and family suites, ground floor en-suite rooms, traditional bed and breakfast rooms, a self‐contained cottage and apartment with balcony. Ideal for a romantic get away for 2, or a relaxed informal setting for a family, Anchorage can accommodate most requests. The original building, formally a heritage listed guesthouse has been tastefully renovated and expanded to include downstairs heritage style rooms to the more modern upstairs seafront spa suites with private balconies and spas. Most rooms have sea views, tea and coffee facilities, plasma large screen TV with Austar channels, small fridge and a comfortable queen beds. Different styles of rooms have differing bedding configurations to accommodate families, groups, couples and the single traveller. Anchorage Cafe, Restaurant, Wine Bar is open from 8am until late evening 7 days a week. The menu has been carefully designed around fresh local produce and includes hearty breakfasts, fresh baguettes at lunch with homemade soup and crusty bread and fresh salads, char grilled seafood and steak dishes and wood fired pizza for dinner. Open all day for house roasted coffee and cake. Our friendly and motivated staff welcome you to join them for an enjoyable meal on the seafront veranda, alfresco style in summer or in front of the cosy open log fire in the winter. Enjoy a glass of wine or specialty beer served at the unique boat bar, choosing from the exciting wine list or relax by the cosy open wood fire in winter with an award winning house roasted coffee. 2 private function rooms are available for a corporate or private function, ideal for family birthdays, anniversaries, small weddings or corporate presentations or meetings. Our chef can accommodate any catering requirements and several function menus are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Anchorage Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anchorage Seafront
Anchorage Seafront Hotel Victor Harbor, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing