We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good-bye to an old friend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Reviewed January 4, 2014

After many years of staying for our wedding anniversary in July, we broke tradition and stayed again in December. Sadly, the dear old Anchorage has stayed exactly the same through-out these years. Firstly, we were booked in on the wrong day, that's ok, the room we wanted was available so that was fixed; although staff did act as if that was our fault, it was not. Secondly, the room, a balcony spa room, has not had new curtains since Adam and this is a serious fault. They are in very bad repair and cannot properly be closed to stop the light coming through. We do appreciate the wonderful olde-world charm, indeed that is why we chose to stay there, but do expect new curtains after all these years.
Thirdly, the hot water was off in the morning and we could not shower. When we complained at check-out, we were asked if we had complained about it, after she had just told us that the hotel was aware of the problem and worked hard to fix it. It was not fixed at 9.15 as she said, we tried to shower later than that. A tip to the manager: if you are aware that there is a problem with the hot water put a note under every guest door so they don't keep trying to have a shower. Another note when it is rectified would help too. To complain about the problem of which the hotel was already aware would have meant us getting dressed and going downstairs as there are no telephones in the rooms. This was discourteous and bad handling of the situation by the staff member. An apology would have made us feel much better. She also mentioned that we had a cheaper rate. What! we booked days before the water problem so what on earth is she suggesting here? That if you book the rates Wotif or Lastminute offer that you should be treated as a second class guest!? (By the way, we booked through the hotel) We certainly felt like second class guests throughout our stay. The staff were not happy and this always gets passed on to the guests. Oh yes, and she asked us if we'd had a spa the night before, this in response to our complaint that we couldn't have one in the morning. Only one spa bath per stay, eh? And also it is really none of your business unless we leave the bath overflowing or mistreat your fittings in any way. Not happy.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the top spa balcony rooms, and they are definitely the best. The views are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deadlywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 356 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our group of 5 couples holiday at Victor Harbor every year and always enjoy our "Anchorage" New Years Day breakfast. The food is delicious, service is friendly, but be aware of 10% surcharge on public holidays. The position of The Anchorage between the railway line and the beach is ideal, and the ambience of the restaurant is rustic and conducive to an enjoyable experience.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Dorothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I picked this place because of the beautiful building and great location. I also read quite a few positive reviews, so had high expectations.
Unfortunately, it wasn't quite what I expected. Not that it was bad, the staff was very friendly and the room was clean. Having one, big, shared balcony with all room on the ocean side is very nice, but if the balcony doors don't close properly, you can only hope your neighbours don't stay out there all night...
In addition, the walls are made of cardboard, so you can follow the conversations in the rooms next to you word for word (which means they can hear you too, of course.
The dinner at the restaurant was mostly ok, but the service was very chaotic (had to order my drink three times before I actually received it).
For a one-night stay it was ok, but not more than that. And for the price they were charging, I was expecting more...

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank JaVerhoeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed there for 1 night and although the scenery was great, the rooms left a little to be desired. Our room was reasonably appointed but the shower in the spa was a challenge. The other room on the lower floor was even less impressive with such a small shower area and toilet that was difficult to move around in even to shower. The room could not have catered for more than 1 person. Pricing was good but even through the wifi was free it did not work in the rooms even though we were told it would. Meals were better though. Ideally situated overlooking the ocean, this hotel would suit for a short stopover. The staircase to the upper floor was outside and did not have the most stable hand rail. The outer door lock was a little hard to undo. We would try somewhere else before resorting to staying here again

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank review53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I really did, all the photos look amazing, great location, and I've heard good things. I have to say the staff were all lovely & helped in every way. The room however was very disappointing. Tiny & very basic, we hardly had room for our luggage, and only a few hangers on hooks to put clothes. Mirror in the bathroom very old, marked & damaged so difficult to see much, nowhere to sit anything in the bathroom (no shelf, just a sink, toilet & shower), chipped wall paint, & just generally too small & needing a freshen up. The main issue though was the cleaning staff chatting loudly in the hallway from about 7.30am, which in these old places the sound just booms & penetrates. So we were awaken bright and early both mornings we stayed. But this is a beautiful place, if I could give the owners two tips to make this place genuinely spectacular & totally recommended: 1. Spend seriously only about $100 per room to update old & damaged fittings, add a couple of practical things & freshen up. 2. Brief your staff on noise levels while working, it is a major factor in a relaxing break for most, the ability to sleep in & enjoy quiet time.
I hope this is taken as constructive feedback for the owners, as it's so close to being amazing, just needs some tweaks!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Artybetty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night during our road trip from Adelaide to Melbourne. I am sorry to say that this was our least favourite accommodation from the 8 nights. I felt it wasn't that cheap considering the dated furniture and decoration in this hotel. It was very dark and old fashioned ( and not in a vintage way, well not in our room anyway!) the curtains were literally falling off the curtain rails and were so worn there were holes in them! To get our bags to our room we had to go up a very old, quite unsafe looking set of outside wooden steps and our fly screen on our balcony door was ripped. I am sorry to say it all just looked very tired and tatty.
I must say the room was clean and had the essentials but it wasn't an enjoyable stay, it simply gave us a bed for the night which I when on holiday isn't enough for us. We stayed in many cheaper rooms further down the trip that were so much nicer. I have never given a negative review before but I feel I have to be honest for future travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Good location right on the beach. Room was clean and reasonably well appointed. A small double bed. We had a corner room with exclusive access to the balcony which was nice but the cleaning staff were out there smoking in the morning before our check out which is a bit tacky and could really upset some people.
The hotel food was expensive so we went two minutes down the road (see photo) and had a delicious dinner for $14 each.

Room Tip: The corner room was good and less expensive than a front room. One of the front room windows was loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isaaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victor Harbor
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#6 of 6 in Victor Harbor
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
139 reviews
9.6 mi away
Motel Goolwa
Motel Goolwa
#1 of 3 in Goolwa
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
318 reviews
1.5 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
1,116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apollon Motor Inn
Apollon Motor Inn
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Hotel

Address: 21 Flinders Parade, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Price Range: $53 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anchorage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and admire the sea views while soaking in your private spa. Accommodation choices include upstairs private spa rooms with balconies and family suites, ground floor en-suite rooms, traditional bed and breakfast rooms, a self‐contained cottage and apartment with balcony. Ideal for a romantic get away for 2, or a relaxed informal setting for a family, Anchorage can accommodate most requests. The original building, formally a heritage listed guesthouse has been tastefully renovated and expanded to include downstairs heritage style rooms to the more modern upstairs seafront spa suites with private balconies and spas. Most rooms have sea views, tea and coffee facilities, plasma large screen TV with Austar channels, small fridge and a comfortable queen beds. Different styles of rooms have differing bedding configurations to accommodate families, groups, couples and the single traveller. Anchorage Cafe, Restaurant, Wine Bar is open from 8am until late evening 7 days a week. The menu has been carefully designed around fresh local produce and includes hearty breakfasts, fresh baguettes at lunch with homemade soup and crusty bread and fresh salads, char grilled seafood and steak dishes and wood fired pizza for dinner. Open all day for house roasted coffee and cake. Our friendly and motivated staff welcome you to join them for an enjoyable meal on the seafront veranda, alfresco style in summer or in front of the cosy open log fire in the winter. Enjoy a glass of wine or specialty beer served at the unique boat bar, choosing from the exciting wine list or relax by the cosy open wood fire in winter with an award winning house roasted coffee. 2 private function rooms are available for a corporate or private function, ideal for family birthdays, anniversaries, small weddings or corporate presentations or meetings. Our chef can accommodate any catering requirements and several function menus are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anchorage Seafront
The Anchorage Hotel Victor Harbor, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing