We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Needs Updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, Needs Updating”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here with 4 adults for a night on a road trip. We had the cottage out the back of the Anchorage Hotel (apparently a studio villa). Everything was a bit dated with pretty poor access from the heavily pot-holed car park. Inside is dated and much darker than in the photos, but clean. The best bit was the bathroom - newly renovated, we all took turns with the spa - but once you pull out the sofa bed you've got to climb over it to get out the door. I got up for sunrise over the beach, and it's an easy level walk to the causeway to Granite Island. Plenty of parking.

Do yourself a favour and have breakfast - the fried banana pancakes were fantastic, the coffee was great and it's a nice little place early in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radivostok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Manager at Anchorage Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
I appreciate the guest comments. I have looked on the web site and the pictures are accurate but may look brighter as the lights are on to take the photos. The description states that the studio villa is to the back of the building. The lounge is fairly large with 2 lounges in it one being a sofa bed. It has been decorated in the heritage style to suit the building and is very reasonably priced for 4 people to stay at $210. I am pleased to read that the guest recommends the breakfast and the location is ideal for all of the sites in Victor Harbor. If the guest stays again I could suggest a seafront spa room that has a sea view and spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    138
    75
    29
    11
See reviews for
40
199
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We've been here a few times now, and have always stayed in their self contained apartment. This is owned by the hotel, but is slightly further down the road in the direction of Port Eliot. The apartment is simple but very nice, with great views over the bay. The booking usually includes breakfast, which is always good. The other bonus is that you can have a 'take away' from the restaurant in the apartment, which is great if you have young kids as you can get them into bed and then enjoy the fantastic food from the restaurant in peace!

Room Tip: If you have young kids, definitely go for the apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afrigogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoy your stays in the apartment when you stay with us. It is still close enough to the hotel and cafe that you can stroll down for a coffee or meal with out too much stress. Thank you for the review and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very tiny room that doesn't look much like the picture. Shower almost impossible to use and no open able windows for any ventilation. However a simple and comfortable room that is nice for a night away in victor.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigrednose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
I thank the guest for their comments. I am not sure of the room they are talking about as all of the rooms have opening windows. There is a variety of rooms and they are priced accordingly so do cater to a variety of guests needs. Some just want a cheap clean room to stay over on their way to another destination whilst others may want a bit more of a relaxed stay with a view and some comfort. We do try to give a good explanation of the room type and styles and most of the rooms have an image attached but not all. We look forward to you staying again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Anchorage is a lovely old-style guest house. It feels very English - Miss Marple would be at home in the Guest Lounge. The rooms are lovely and great value. Nicole, the manager, is extremely helpful. Stay for breakfast. We had the Eggs Benedict and Pancakes with maple syrup, bacon and banana - they were both seriously good.

Room Tip: The upstairs balcony rooms with spa are a real surprise - very smart and very reasonably priced.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tuppy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Anchorage is full of pleasant surprises. It is a renovated turn of the century guest house that has a lot of nooks and crannies. No 2 rooms are the same as can be seen on our web site. The views are spectacular and there is really no need to hop in the car once you are settled as it is so central to shops and beaches. We take pride in our restaurant and are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast. We also have a vegan dish available and are happy to try to cater for most dietary requirements. We would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at the anchorage over the weekend and had a couple of meals. The accommodation was very affordable and the rooms clean and practical. Had a lovely lunch at the outdoor area, overlooking the bay. The food was very well priced and tasted great! Overall a lovely and relaxing stay, would come back again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjj1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you to the guest for their positive comments. We appreciate the time it takes to make a comment and it is always nice to hear when someone has had a positive experience and writes about it. The views are some of the best in Victor. We take pride in our venue and the experience we like to give our guests. We hope they are relaxed and refreshed by the time they leave us. We look forward to serving you again should you choose to visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We showed up with out pre booking and were lucky that there were two rooms available. The staff were all very helpful. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. We don't believe we could have found better value for money. The café was a relaxing place sit and have a drink or two after a stroll around the tourist sites. We parked the car and only used it to whale watch. We would happily recommend The Anchorage and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We appreciate the feed back and will continue to try to provide a relaxing, stress free environment for our guests to enjoy. The location is ideal for a relaxed stay. I am glad you were able to enjoy the restaurant as well and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Nothing fancy, but no claims otherwise by the owners. Just a clean room over a pub, with a great view, at a very reasonable price. Right in the heart of town, but no noise or other hassles. One of the cheapest and best value stays of our Melbourne to Adelaide trip. 4 stars for value for money, location and view.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuartroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
I would like to thank the guest for their positive comments. The staff and myself are happy that the guest enjoyed the room, view which is one of the best in town and found it value for money. It is a restored guest house with a restaurant attached and therefor falls into the category of a hotel but there are no pokkies or front bar. The restaurant cafe wine bar has been designed as part of the heritage building and we take great pride in the coffee and food we serve every day of the year. I hope to see the guest again whenever they are in this part of the world again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victor Harbor
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apollon Motor Inn
Apollon Motor Inn
#6 of 6 in Victor Harbor
107 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Bluff Resort Apartments
The Bluff Resort Apartments
#1 of 2 in Encounter Bay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Seafront Hotel

Property: Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Address: 21 Flinders Pde, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchorage Seafront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and admire the sea views while soaking in your private spa. Accommodation choices include upstairs private spa rooms with balconies and family suites, ground floor en-suite rooms, traditional bed and breakfast rooms, a self‐contained cottage and apartment with balcony. Ideal for a romantic get away for 2, or a relaxed informal setting for a family, Anchorage can accommodate most requests. The original building, formally a heritage listed guesthouse has been tastefully renovated and expanded to include downstairs heritage style rooms to the more modern upstairs seafront spa suites with private balconies and spas. Most rooms have sea views, tea and coffee facilities, plasma large screen TV with Austar channels, small fridge and a comfortable queen beds. Different styles of rooms have differing bedding configurations to accommodate families, groups, couples and the single traveller. Anchorage Cafe, Restaurant, Wine Bar is open from 8am until late evening 7 days a week. The menu has been carefully designed around fresh local produce and includes hearty breakfasts, fresh baguettes at lunch with homemade soup and crusty bread and fresh salads, char grilled seafood and steak dishes and wood fired pizza for dinner. Open all day for house roasted coffee and cake. Our friendly and motivated staff welcome you to join them for an enjoyable meal on the seafront veranda, alfresco style in summer or in front of the cosy open log fire in the winter. Enjoy a glass of wine or specialty beer served at the unique boat bar, choosing from the exciting wine list or relax by the cosy open wood fire in winter with an award winning house roasted coffee. 2 private function rooms are available for a corporate or private function, ideal for family birthdays, anniversaries, small weddings or corporate presentations or meetings. Our chef can accommodate any catering requirements and several function menus are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anchorage Seafront
Anchorage Seafront Hotel Victor Harbor, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing