We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good value, great location!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at the Anchorage for 2 nights. It has an excellent location, right on the sea front and only 5 minute walk to all town shops, attractions. We had a ground floor room which was slightly old fashioned but had everything we needed. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it. The bar and restaurant are outstanding. We spent a lot of time relaxin in the atmosphere of he bar, and used the free wifi as well!
Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you to the guest for their time and effort in posting a review. It is most appreciated and very pleasing to know your stay with us was something to remember. The guest house is over 100 years old and we have tried to keep some of the charm and character in the rooms. It is heritage listed and has some limitations on it but we try to keep the price and facilities comparable. We would love to see you again in the future although it is a long way from home for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    138
    75
    29
    11
See reviews for
40
199
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the apartment, down from the actual anchorage building. Good views of the beach. A little dated but very nice & spacious. Cafe has a good atmosphere & food was great. Service was great. Staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wtfon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thankyyou for your review. The apartment is a favourite for customers that like their own space and like to be self contained. The views are good from there and the bowling days can make interesting viewing. It is an ideal location for a few days stay or even a week at a time as you are in a central position near the seafront and close to all shops and eateries. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

paid $100 with free wifi. We were initially given room 23 but the free wifi didn't work there and when my husband told the guy zac he very kindly gave us room 1 instead which was lovely of him as it was a definite upgrade. we also ate dinner here which was also really nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziegcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I was glad to hear you had a good experience with us. Our staff strive to please when they can and will do what it takes to ensure the customer has a pleasant and enjoyable time when they stay. We have a number of different rooms and bedding configurations that hopefully cater to most needs. The Wi Fi is a new addition and generally is accessible through out the hotel. Our technician says the limestone walls can cause some issues with reception but generally most rooms can access it. Well done to Zac for helping the guest at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights in Victor Harbour. There is a big lawn in front of the hotel and the beach is juz 1 mins walk, actually we could see the beach from our room even it is at ground floor! The weather was a bit cloudy with occasional sun, we saw dogs and childs played on the lawn and lots of seagulls flying around. The whole environment made us feel comfortable and relaxed.
Besides, the breakfast in hotel restaurant was amazing and we could use free wifi there.
I will definitely stay there again on next visit :)

Room Tip: upstairs rooms can have better sea view and you might see milky way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
I am so pleased you were able to relax and unwind at Anchorage. It is a very unique place and one of the only accommodation venues on the seafront in Victor Harbor. On Saturday we had whales in the bay which all of the house guests were thrilled to see. The restaurant is very cosy in winter with the log fire and breakfast is always hearty. You can even sit on the veranda if you rug up.
Thankyou to the guest for the comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nice old hotel - paid $140 for a spa room overlooking the bowls club and ocean. Rooms are welcoming and nice and clean. Some things are due for updating, mattress and pillow's for one, but overall nice rooms. Great location too, we walked everywhere which was great. Staff were nice and friendly as well. Louvre doors for the bathroom aren't the best and no screen around the shower makes for a cold shower and water everywhere. We enjoyed our stay and not a bad place by Victor Harbor standards. Parking is good too.

Room Tip: Upstairs spa rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellin2SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for the positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The view is one of the best in Victor and Anchorage is the only centrally located hotel on the seafront. The louvre doors are designed to allow the customer to sit in the bath and look out at the sea and to give maximum space in the rooms. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spa Room very dated. Louvered folding doors on the bathroom terrible. Shower over the spa bath absolutely drenched the whole bathroom. Rail on the outside staircase very unsafe. Breakfast in the restaurant very good. Staff very friendly. With its spectacular view of Encounter Bay this place has so much potential to become an excellent establishment - just needs a makeover.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms before making a booking.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We appreciate your comments and will seek to address some of the issues raised. The building is a turn of the 20th century historic guesthouse and has a certain ambience and charm as a result. The spa rooms are undergoing some updating with the view to replacing the shower nozzle. The bathrooms were retiled and spas updated 2 years ago and we have been very proud of them. The louvre doors are functional as they allow maximum space for the rooms and enable the guest to sit in the spa and look out over the ocean. We will check the stair case but have found them to be very safe. The process of maintaining the building is ongoing but rewarding. The location is amazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had to find a place to stay in Victor Harbour at short notice. At The Anchorage we were very warmly welcomed by a young staff member who was most obliging in allowing us to check out the available rooms before booking. Our spa room, although a little dated, had stunning views of Encounter Bay. We had all our meals at the Anchorage's Bistro and thoroughly enjoyed the experience as the food was great and nothing was too much trouble. Great service and coffee too!

Room Tip: Ask to check out the rooms before booking - if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at Anchorage Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thankyou for the positive comments. The building has stood the test of time since its building in 1905. Of course it has numerous changes since then but has always been an accommodation venue of some type. We are currently doing some renovation on the rooms whilst maintaining the look and feel of the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victor Harbor
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apollon Motor Inn
Apollon Motor Inn
#6 of 6 in Victor Harbor
109 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Bluff Resort Apartments
The Bluff Resort Apartments
#1 of 2 in Encounter Bay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Seafront Hotel

Property: Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Address: 21 Flinders Pde, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchorage Seafront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and admire the sea views while soaking in your private spa. Accommodation choices include upstairs private spa rooms with balconies and family suites, ground floor en-suite rooms, traditional bed and breakfast rooms, a self‐contained cottage and apartment with balcony. Ideal for a romantic get away for 2, or a relaxed informal setting for a family, Anchorage can accommodate most requests. The original building, formally a heritage listed guesthouse has been tastefully renovated and expanded to include downstairs heritage style rooms to the more modern upstairs seafront spa suites with private balconies and spas. Most rooms have sea views, tea and coffee facilities, plasma large screen TV with Austar channels, small fridge and a comfortable queen beds. Different styles of rooms have differing bedding configurations to accommodate families, groups, couples and the single traveller. Anchorage Cafe, Restaurant, Wine Bar is open from 8am until late evening 7 days a week. The menu has been carefully designed around fresh local produce and includes hearty breakfasts, fresh baguettes at lunch with homemade soup and crusty bread and fresh salads, char grilled seafood and steak dishes and wood fired pizza for dinner. Open all day for house roasted coffee and cake. Our friendly and motivated staff welcome you to join them for an enjoyable meal on the seafront veranda, alfresco style in summer or in front of the cosy open log fire in the winter. Enjoy a glass of wine or specialty beer served at the unique boat bar, choosing from the exciting wine list or relax by the cosy open wood fire in winter with an award winning house roasted coffee. 2 private function rooms are available for a corporate or private function, ideal for family birthdays, anniversaries, small weddings or corporate presentations or meetings. Our chef can accommodate any catering requirements and several function menus are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anchorage Seafront
Anchorage Seafront Hotel Victor Harbor, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing