We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills but adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed for one night before travelling to Kangaroo Island the following morning. Perfectly located for this and would recommend for this purpose. Clean and for the price paid was what we were expecting.
Location good - pleasant short stroll along the waterfront to the centre of Victor Harbour.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdbridge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 348 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked a seafront room for an overnight stay, great view.Very typical of traditional country pub/hotel,high ceilings, solid stone walls but with modernised bathroom.Clean and simple with comfortable bed and Foxtel.would stay again

Room Tip: Book room with ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

When booking we knew that it was 3 star standard. Booked a spa room with water views. We were surprised at the stand of the bathroom. It looked new, very nicely laid out (with corner spa) and spotlessly clean.The room itself was a little battered - bits out of furniture, walls knocked around, parts of the curtains off their tracks - a pity. The airconditioner was very old and made an awful noise and aircon from room next to us could also be heard. Very little storage space if staying any length of time. View was very nice. Suspect it could become noisy during peak times, though, with revellers walking at street level.
Food in the restaurant excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailorpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

After booking on the hotel's website (I selected 'Self contained apartment' under a heading of 'upstairs rooms'), we arrived for two nights to be told the apartment is not in the gorgeous heritage building shown on the website.

Instead, we were sent to stay a few doors down to an extremely unappealing building, with entry via a shrivelled garden that appeared to belong to the downstairs flat. Instead of overlooking the grass and trees on the foreshore in front of The Anchorage, we could only see the bowling club.

Neither the photos nor the description on the 'Self contained apartment' web page said this was in a different building. I felt very mislead and very disappointed to be staying in such an unappealing and dated property. Had this information been provided, we would not have stayed there.

The positives:
- Clean
- Bathrooms newly renovated/painted
- Even though we had paid for two nights, we were so disappointed with the quality of the accommodation we did not want to stay a second night. When we explained this, the hotel said they would refund us the second night if they managed to let the apartment (although they did not seem surprised at our reaction). We were refunded the cost of the second night, less a $30 admin fee

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mistystan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Manager at The Anchorage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

We were disappointed to hear about the problem with the apartment. This is the first time we have had an issue with the description as I thought "self contained " was self explanatory.
I have adjusted the description to say seperate from main hotel and thank the guest for the comments and drawing this to our attention. On a more positive note most guests that have stayed in the apartment have loved the location, views and the apartment itself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of a 5 week trip from the UK to Australia
including stopovers in Hong Kong and Tokyo during October and November.
We travelled from Robe by car and this was one of stops on our trip down Great Ocean Road and on to Adelaide
Stayed for 1 night, in a deluxe queen room with Spa bath.on the first floor. Room overlooking the very popular bowling club and the bay. However our room had a massive tree right in front which did spoil the view.
Very comfortable large room, bathroom decent size and good shower, with separate spa bath..
All the facilities you would want on a long trip, e.g. ironing board, fridge etc
Hotel staff pleasant at reception, check in swift.
Hotel a very short walk down to centre of town and short walk to the causeway to Granite Island, where we'd booked an evening tour to see the little penguins
We had a decent meal in the Tapas style hotel restaurant, although service was very slow.
Breakfast next morning was much better.
Next stop Mclaren Vale

Room Tip: If on first floor make sure don't have the tree!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A short two night stay after arriving from overseas so needed a confortable bed!!! I got that as well as lovely service, a very clean room and beautiful local wine. Thank you - the whole anchorage team!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinasmile10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at The Anchorage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thankyou for your positive comments. We appreciate constructive comments as they are encouraging and show that we are on the right track in such difficult economic times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great fresh menu selections Lovely view over the esplanade on a balmy Monday evening Pear and rocket salad one of the best I've had. Desserts looked good but I resisted as the whole flounder main course was delicious enough. Great wine list if you choose to linger. Would also be a great spot for breakfast or lunch.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank timjanelongmire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victor Harbor
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#6 of 6 in Victor Harbor
138 reviews
9.6 mi away
Motel Goolwa
Motel Goolwa
#1 of 3 in Goolwa
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
1,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apollon Motor Inn
Apollon Motor Inn
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Hotel

Address: 21 Flinders Parade, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Victor Harbor
Price Range: $51 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anchorage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and admire the sea views while soaking in your private spa. Accommodation choices include upstairs private spa rooms with balconies and family suites, ground floor en-suite rooms, traditional bed and breakfast rooms, a self‐contained cottage and apartment with balcony. Ideal for a romantic get away for 2, or a relaxed informal setting for a family, Anchorage can accommodate most requests. The original building, formally a heritage listed guesthouse has been tastefully renovated and expanded to include downstairs heritage style rooms to the more modern upstairs seafront spa suites with private balconies and spas. Most rooms have sea views, tea and coffee facilities, plasma large screen TV with Austar channels, small fridge and a comfortable queen beds. Different styles of rooms have differing bedding configurations to accommodate families, groups, couples and the single traveller. Anchorage Cafe, Restaurant, Wine Bar is open from 8am until late evening 7 days a week. The menu has been carefully designed around fresh local produce and includes hearty breakfasts, fresh baguettes at lunch with homemade soup and crusty bread and fresh salads, char grilled seafood and steak dishes and wood fired pizza for dinner. Open all day for house roasted coffee and cake. Our friendly and motivated staff welcome you to join them for an enjoyable meal on the seafront veranda, alfresco style in summer or in front of the cosy open log fire in the winter. Enjoy a glass of wine or specialty beer served at the unique boat bar, choosing from the exciting wine list or relax by the cosy open wood fire in winter with an award winning house roasted coffee. 2 private function rooms are available for a corporate or private function, ideal for family birthdays, anniversaries, small weddings or corporate presentations or meetings. Our chef can accommodate any catering requirements and several function menus are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anchorage Seafront
The Anchorage Hotel Victor Harbor, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing