We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Victor Harbor City Inn(Victor Harbor)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victor(Victor Harbor)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Apollon Motor Inn(Victor Harbor)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
McCracken Country Club(McCracken)(Great Value!)
$76
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seascape Retreat(Victor Harbor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Grosvenor Hotel(Victor Harbor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ocean Crest Motel(Victor Harbor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveler rating
85
152
83
32
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
152
83
32
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomspa roomgranite islandseafront hotelprivate balconyguest loungeguest houseold buildingold worldfour poster bedthe ground floorno air conditioningbeautiful buildingoverlooking the seaold stylekangaroo islandwine list
Filter
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 368 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Recently had an appalling meal in the restaurant. Food is overpriced, portions too small and quality is below par. Restaurant menu is too pretentious for seaside Victor Harbor and their attempt at fine dining is basically, just lame. Service is terrible as wait staff couldn't care less. I would not recommend the Tapas; it's a failed attempt at a cuisine better suited to a Tapas/Spanish cuisine-type eatery. Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank parad0xy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSaunderson, Owner at The Anchorage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

I am concerned that this reviewer has stated the we are a fine dining restaurant, which is not at all true and we have never promoted ourselves as fine dining in any of our literature or web site. We have always been a casual dining venue that serves coffee all day and opens for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our menu has a variety of dishes available and is not restricted to tapas only. The feed back we receive from guests is that they love the menu and the sharing food as a rule. We remain a popular venue for locals and visitors. This is an unfortunate review and should be measured against others on this site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed in Room 23, which is on the ground floor, queen suite with a sea view. It was very cold when we arrived in Victor Harbor, and I was not sure if the room would have heating. Luckily, it did. The room is good value for money, extremely clean, and has a fantastic environment. The hotel is old, but not in bad taste at all. You walk through very ornate hallways and lounges to get to your room.

We went to the park opposite for a nice picnic lunch when the rain lifted, and then went walking through the town centre, then drove up the coast to go whale watching. Everything is in good proximity to the hotel.

I was a bit annoyed with some of the other guests, who arrived to their room around 1am, very loudly clomping down the hall in heels, possibly drunk, but otherwise, it was a very pleasant night's rest on a very good mattress, not like most other hotels.

The people at the front desk are extremely helpful and kind, and give you the impression they actually do care about your stay, and do not come across as cold like some places can do.

The Anchorage restaurant is in the hotel, and even though it is quite expensive, it was a very nice place to have breakfast the morning after. The yoghurt, muesli and berry compote is a great, refreshing breakfast.

I very much enjoyed this stay. I hope to try out the spa suite next time I visit!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to stay down-stairs or by the road. It's a nice, quiet location and I had no problem sleeping, except for a couple of noisy guests next door coming back slightly drunk in the early hours.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed there one short night on our way to Kangaroo Island. We thus took a room with a shared bathroom. We did not expect the weather to be so cold during winter. The room was very cold despite the warming device, and we barely manage to get an acceptable temperature during the night, as the blanket was too thin. The worst was the shared bathroom, with high windows largely open and impossible to close by ourselves. This is certainly nice during the summer, but during the winter, it was thus freezing cold to take an early-morning shower. We finally decided to skip the shower and wait the evening for a warmer place. The restaurant was a little overpriced, the food was good but not worth the money.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ViviD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights this week and cannot speak highly enough of the staff, rooms, food and location.

Room was comfortable and very clean, good quality matress (for those of us with back troubles) spa bath big enough for two people to stretch out, good heater kept the room warm but not stuffy, lovely toiletries and a beautiful old style 4 poster bed added to the old world charm of the place. We had a lovely view across the ocean from our private balcony and could even see the water when sitting in the spa-tub with a glass of wine and chocolate!

Dining was fantastic - bacon and eggs for breakfast kept us full until well after lunch time and wonderful coffee that was actually made properly - warm, not boiling hot and burnt!! The menu is proof of 'have a few dishes but do them really well'. Choices ocean jacket skewers, scoth fillet steak, chicken and spinach filo parcels, veggie or beef mousakka and a great selection of tapas every night with a very tempting dessert cabinet (lemon curd cheesecake was divine!!) Log fire kept the room warm and gave it some atmosphere. Great selection of beers and wines too.

Staff were friendly and attentive but not overbearing and false. Always had a "good morning" and a smile no matter how busy the hotel was. Nothing was too much trouble. Customer service as it should be - genuine and easy.

We got a great B&B deal with extra bonus vouchers for a $39 credit per night in the restaurant as it is the winter season. We would definitely stay here again and will be recommending it to our friends and family. To Cathy and the team, thanks for a lovely experience. Just what we needed to recharge the batteries for a few days!

Room Tip: Upstairs seaview balcony rooms with spa are the perfect choice for a couple wanting a quiet retreat for a few days.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I stopped at The Anchorage for 3 nights on our way to Kangaroo Island. We had a lovely time. We stayed in a Spa Suite for 3 nights for a special price as it is there off-peak season. The room was lovely. We had a private balcony overlooking the ocean which was breath taking! Our bed was very comfortable, we slept really well. We also enjoyed the restaurant, which has a great vibe. It has 2 cool bars; one literally a boat which served the cold drinks, wine and beer (great imported beer!!) and the cafe bar which was unique instustrial style concrete bar. We had breakfast included in the room deal which was a good start to the day. We love coffee and were stoked the coffee was freshly roasted, which we found out was the only locally freshly roasted coffee called Qahwa. We also had a few meals in the restaurant. 1 lunch and 2 dinners. We were told the menu was new. We liked the traditional Greek food and also the tapas. It was fresh and tasty. The staff were good too. Very helpful and personable. All in all a great stay and we hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews