We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet well presented establishment”
Review of Strath Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strath Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strathalbyn
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet well presented establishment”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay it is a modern motel with all the modern facilities and although it took me some time to work out how to use the remote, I did manage to get the television to work although the other functions for air conditioning and god only knows what else will remain a mystery to my technophobic brain.
Would I come back? In a heartbeat.
Was everything perfect? There must have been some imperfections but I couldn't find them, that is of course if I don't mention the one remote does all that I failed to master.
This must be the best accommodation on the Fleureau Peninsula.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you David D for taking time to review your stay at Strath Motel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and would have no hesitation in revisiting the motel. With the TV Remote Control, it is sometimes difficult adapting to a strange TV/Remote when away from home (I have experienced this in the past during my travels). Our Room Compendiums provide clear instructions and reception is contactable 24 hours a day 7 days a week to handle any little thing that may affect your safety or comfort. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    49
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
126
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here for one night following a big drive from NSW, we were booked into a place at Victor Harbour the following night, but if we had known of this place before then, we would have stayed here for two nights. The room was modern, spacious and clean, large comfortable bed, and the bathroom was a nice surprise, included a bath and shower. The manager was very helpful and friendly. Even the next morning when we checked out, we were having breakfast at a cafe in town, and noticed him driving down the street. When he saw us, he stopped - "you guys left your pillows in the room!!" He did try to phone me but I didn't have any reception, and he drove around town looking for us! (Our big 4WD and camper did stand out). How is that for service? The only downfall was the neighbourhood rooster waking us up EARLY!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Well Jenniesue you certainly did enjoy all facets of the Strath Motel experience. From the comfort and cleanliness of our deluxe rooms to the high level of customer service we provide and a wake up call from the neighbourly rooster. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and also had time to dine at and review some of our local eateries. We certainly hope that the opportunity arises that you can once again visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renmark, South Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed in a family room at the Strath Motel, and were amazed at the level of detail, right down to a automatic soap dispenser in the bathroom. Rooms are very clean and tidy, and beds comfy.We had an apartment with two bedrooms with a tele in each. We also had a balcony area with a beautiful garden all the way around. Owners were very friendly and helpful, and were gardening when we were there. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Great to hear that you and your family enjoyed the facilities of Strath Motel. At this time of the year our Family Rooms are very popular. We do hope you can visit us again and once again enjoy the Strath Motel experience. p.s. We are the motel managers not the owners. Alan & Fiona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We booked into the Strath Motel, sight unseen, for a quiet and relaxing weekend - and that's exactly what we got - with interest. The room was quite large and well appointed. The bed gave me 9 1/2 hours deep sleep with some of my best dreams ever. We've slept in some fairly interesting places in our travels over the least 3 years but this was a cracker. Maybe it was just the right place at the right time, but it really was the RIGHT place. I have never been so relaxed! Nothing grand or fancy, but a lovely location staffed by a wonderful couple who really knew how to be hosts. They were helpful , but not 'in your face'. We will be back to the Strath and really can't wait to do it. Next time we'll go when I'm not so physically and mentally drained. But what a great job it did in the rejuvenation process. Ten out of ten for everything.
We stayed on a Scoopon deal and expected to be relegated to the back as has happened with other Scoopons (those silly silly people - a Scoopon is a taster and bad news spreads faster than good news). We were treated as any other guest and this made the difference. We will spread the good news about this motel - AND we will go back and pay full price.

Room Tip: They are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you Bernie D for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at Strath Motel. Many people make mention on the sleep quality they have on our King size beds. We are glad every detail of your requirements ticked all the boxes. We hope to see you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay here using a scoopon.
From the outside one might surmise the rooms to be quite small, but upon opening the door you would be surprised by the generous size of the room. Modern amenities, friendly staff, great little country town with lots of history. Will definitely stay here again next time!
Albert

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks Albert. It was a pleasure to have you stay at Strath Motel. We look forward to your next visit. It is great to see our return visitors continually increasing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Really great place to stay, so clean...friendly staff...we will be back, would highly recommend to anyone. The bed was heavenly and the staff went out of there way to help us, the breakfast was so yummy!

Room Tip: Lovely place to stay...we will be back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you Debbie M for taking time to review your stay at Strath Motel. We are so glad that our facilities exceeded your expectations and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at the Strath Motel & were very impressed with the rooms & management. The room & bathroom, which were both huge, were spotless & contained everything that could be needed. Attention to detail was fantastic. The King bed was really comfy and the cooked breakfast was very generous & delicious. Staff were friendly & helpful. We wished we'd booked for longer but look forward to returning at another time for a longer stay. Would highly recommend this Motel to all, including pet owners as there are 2 pet friendly rooms. We had a lovely stay. Thankyou....

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Debdeb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Wow Debdeb15 thank you for such a glowing review of Strath Motel. It was great that you were able to enjoy the experience albeit just for one night. Let's hope that you can have an extended stay next time. Looking forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathalbyn
0.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel Strathalbyn
Victoria Hotel Strathalbyn
#2 of 2 in Strathalbyn
217 reviews
24.8 mi away
COAST Motel and Apartments
COAST Motel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Port Noarlunga
82 reviews
21.1 mi away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Serafino McLaren Vale
Serafino McLaren Vale
#2 of 2 in McLaren Vale
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gasworks Bed & Breakfast
Gasworks Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Strathalbyn
24 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strath Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strath Motel

Property: Strath Motel
Address: 4 North Pde, Strathalbyn, South Australia 5255, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Strathalbyn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strathalbyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strath Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near new motel, all ground floor rooms, all king beds, Digital TV, microwave, toaster, bath & separate shower, tea & coffee facilities, bar fridge, iron/ironing board, outdoor balcony to each room. Close to cafes wineries, art trail, craft shops and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Strath Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing