We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strath Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strath Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strathalbyn
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here last weekend. The reception we received on check-in was absolutely fantastic. The manager was extremely frienly and all the booking details were managed entremely efficiently. Being given vouchers for free drinks at local eateries was a nice touch. The room was spaceous, clean and well equipped. We would definately recommend staying here to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieter_Sch_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you Dieter for taking the time to review your stay at Strath Motel. We are so glad you enjoyed your extended weekend away and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    45
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
121
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent one night at the Strath Motel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room had a king sized bed and was very spacious with a large dinning table and comfortable lounge chairs. The room also had a private patio area. The bathroom had a full sized bath and was also spacious. The whole complex was clean, well presented and had a lovely garden area as well. Very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you Rosemary for reviewing your experience at Strath Motel on Trip Advisor. It is very pleasing to hear that the motel exceeded your expectations. The management at Strath Motel take great pride in providing great customer service and providing an extraordinary product for our guests to enjoy. Hope to see you at Strath Motel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent the night at the Strath Motel with a group of four. The manager was very friendly and happy. The rooms and bathroom were neat and tidy. The winter warmer breakfast deal was good. Over all a comfortable stay. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank creaturesofcomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Great to hear from another satisfied guest. We look forward to having you stay at the motel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked to stay here for one night on 20 July as we had a family birthday in Strath. Other family members booked 3 other rooms, one being a dog friendly room. Our room had a queen sized bed and 2 singles and was very spacious. The beds and pillows were comfortable allowing us a good night's sleep after a big night. The room has a good sized table and chairs for eating at if you did not want to go out, a bar fridge with some beverages on offer at reasonable prices and plenty of hanging space. There was ample room to place our overnight bags so they were out of the way and we were not tripping over them. There is a glass sliding door that opens out to a small balcony with table and chairs which is another good option for eating breakfast when the weather permits. The management here are very accommodating, friendly and welcoming. I had forgotten to mention the winter special seen on their website which gave you a free cooked breakfast however they were happy to oblige especially as we had so many rooms booked. We stayed in room 5 and had no problems with noise at all during our stay. In fact it was very quiet. The room and bathroom were very clean and modern. I would happily stay here again and recommend to others. It is a good value for money accommodation option in the area that is close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
So glad you and all your family members enjoyed their stay at Strath Motel. It was great to see that you could utilize our various types of rooms to suit your accommodation needs. (even the pet friendly room). Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed one night here and the welcome from reception was friendly and efficient. The room was large and comfortable with a nice outdoor terrace. Although a little out of town, it's in a good position . Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Absolute pleasure to have you visit our motel Christine. We certainly hope that you can make it back to Strathalbyn and Strath Motel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Probably one of the best motels we have stayed at anywhere, definitely in Australia.

The motel is a modern construction with rooms furnished to a very high standard. Bathroom excellent. Situated on the outskirts of town near a main road but without traffic noise. The office management staff were very pleasant and helpful. All things leaving us with the impression of a well run establishment.

If I had to quibble it is that wifi was an extra, but that appears to be the case in many places in Australia. Maybe as the cost of installation is recovered it will become an included item.

Even so that will not deter us from staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Strath Motel. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. The motel is now approaching its' 5th Birthday and every measure is taken to ensure that guest satisfaction is maintained at the high level we expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Modern, large room, king size bed, dining table and chairs and everything you need: tv, iron and board, hairdryer, shampoos, tissues etc and we got to take our dog with us on their "woofa" weekend deal. Warm welcome from friendly staff. They have two pet friendly rooms (double as disabled rooms) with tiled floors. Cooked breakfast both mornings in the deal and little dog treats for the pooch. Bit warm the weekend we were there, but didn't stop us from getting out and about: walks along the river, dinner at the pub, trip out to Langhorne Creek wineries, a paddle in lake Alexandrina and lunch at the bakery at Goolwa. Only drawback we didn't need an alarm in the morning - the rooster next door told us it was daylight. We will return.

Room Tip: Travelling with your pooch - ask forthe pet friendly rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011travel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Manager at Strath Motel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Being able to take you furry friend on holiday with you lets you relax and be worry free. More and more guests are using our 'pet friendly' rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathalbyn
0.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel Strathalbyn
Victoria Hotel Strathalbyn
#2 of 2 in Strathalbyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
24.8 mi away
COAST Motel and Apartments
COAST Motel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Port Noarlunga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
18.3 mi away
Motel Goolwa
Motel Goolwa
#1 of 2 in Goolwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Serafino McLaren Vale
Serafino McLaren Vale
#2 of 2 in McLaren Vale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
22.7 mi away
Murray Bridge Oval Motel
Murray Bridge Oval Motel
#1 of 5 in Murray Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
24.3 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strath Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strath Motel

Property: Strath Motel
Address: 4 North Pde, Strathalbyn, South Australia 5255, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Strathalbyn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strathalbyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strath Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near new motel, all ground floor rooms, all king beds, Digital TV, microwave, toaster, bath & separate shower, tea & coffee facilities, bar fridge, iron/ironing board, outdoor balcony to each room. Close to cafes wineries, art trail, craft shops and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Strath Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing