We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”

Criterion Hotel Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quorn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Criterion Hotel Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Quorn
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The two of us stayed in a room at the back. We waited a few minutes, for the heavily pregnant woman to finish cleaning, before we could enter. The first I noticed was a faint smell in the air. The fridge also smelt of chemicals. There was food particles in the drawers, fluff under the microwave and in a cupboard. The microwave needed cleaning, there was grime on the bathroom sink, the windows were covered in dirt, as was the carpet. And for the life of me, I cannot understand why they could not even pour 1 1/2 cups of vinegar into the electric jug, fill it up with water and let it sit for 30 minutes, so as to clean the elements. Speaking of jugs, we didn't even use the water jug, as I think it had mould in it. Their heater only just takes the chill of the air. The price might be right, but never again.
Susan S

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shygirl3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Criterion Hotel Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 24 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

a group of 8 of us had booked into the Criterion on a bike ride from Wilpenea Pound to Claire. We had booked the motel units out the back.

All the rooms were dirty and hadn't been cleaned. In one room there was food left in the fridge which had gone mouldy and smelt, the bin hadn't been emptyed, the sheets hadn't been changed and the carpet had filthy stains on it.

The other rooms were in a similar condition with one toilet not flushed and blood on the toilet seat.

The owner didn't want to acknowledge the filthy condition of the room and after much arguement refunded our money and we relocated to a another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in the motel rooms behind the pub. The rooms were not cleaned prior to our stay - the floors were obviously not vacuumed, bathroom sink had last guest's toothpaste in it and the rubbish bin wasn't even emptied. The rooms are poorly insulated with only a woefully inadequate bar heater provided (and electric blankets on only two out of the six beds between our rooms). The hot water system ran out of water after two people showered. The plumbing was partially blocked. No light bulbs in the bed side lights. Rooms are poorly fitted. We could not even find any staff in the Hotel to complain to, or even accept our key returns!!
Offensive service for the money we paid...

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I was not impressed with the motel rooms at all, the toilet needed a good clean including the windows. The shower did not look clean, the beds were poor quality, the heater was a bar heater type which was unstable on the carpet. Then the microwave dial would come off in your hand and the toaster did not look too good either, Sorry I would and do not recommend this place, eventhough it looked really good on the internet.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank busymum53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This place is crusty. Needs a good clean. We needed a room for 1 night over a long weekend, I was surprised that at short notice we were able to get a room. Until I saw the room. We found toe or finger nail clippings on the quilt of one of the beds, and chose not to shower there due to the state of the bathroom.
Very poor standard. Only $85 , but still, I believe if you want to do motel accommodation at least keep it clean and maybe modernize it every 20 years or so.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenwortht908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We were really disappointed with the cleanliness of this hotel, it really didn't appear to have had a thorough clean in a while. The tap in the bathroom was running constantly, there was a can of insect spray in the room, what for you ask, perhaps for the cockroaches we discovered quite soon after settling in. We decided not to stay, and we received our money back upon request. Hopefully they will clean it up as it could be a good place to stay. Very central.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mystee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

The hotel was good value for the price - small rooms but clean enough and an acceptable breakfast.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The main cause of dissatisfaction were the mosquitoes in our rooms. All of us spent a very unpleasant night. Some of us tried killing them others just tried to sleep throught the continuous buzzing. I killed in excess of 20 and still woke up with over 30 bites. The problem was due to the unreachable air vents near the ceilings, which acted as a passage for the mossies from the outside, so we had no chance of escaping them. All the hotel needed to do was fix a fine mesh over the vents to stop the mossies from entering the bedrooms and it would get a much higher rating.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andymckUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Criterion Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criterion Hotel Motel

Address: 18 Railway Tce, Quorn, South Australia 5433, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Quorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Quorn
Price Range: $60 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Criterion Hotel Motel Quorn, Australia - South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing