We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the motel room was terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Criterion Hotel Motel

Criterion Hotel Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quorn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Criterion Hotel Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Quorn
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“the motel room was terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

I was not impressed with the motel rooms at all, the toilet needed a good clean including the windows. The shower did not look clean, the beds were poor quality, the heater was a bar heater type which was unstable on the carpet. Then the microwave dial would come off in your hand and the toaster did not look too good either, Sorry I would and do not recommend this place, eventhough it looked really good on the internet.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank busymum53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    3
    3
    9
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

This place is crusty. Needs a good clean. We needed a room for 1 night over a long weekend, I was surprised that at short notice we were able to get a room. Until I saw the room. We found toe or finger nail clippings on the quilt of one of the beds, and chose not to shower there due to the state of the bathroom.
Very poor standard. Only $85 , but still, I believe if you want to do motel accommodation at least keep it clean and maybe modernize it every 20 years or so.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenwortht908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quorn hotels

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

We were really disappointed with the cleanliness of this hotel, it really didn't appear to have had a thorough clean in a while. The tap in the bathroom was running constantly, there was a can of insect spray in the room, what for you ask, perhaps for the cockroaches we discovered quite soon after settling in. We decided not to stay, and we received our money back upon request. Hopefully they will clean it up as it could be a good place to stay. Very central.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mystee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2009

The hotel was good value for the price - small rooms but clean enough and an acceptable breakfast.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The main cause of dissatisfaction were the mosquitoes in our rooms. All of us spent a very unpleasant night. Some of us tried killing them others just tried to sleep throught the continuous buzzing. I killed in excess of 20 and still woke up with over 30 bites. The problem was due to the unreachable air vents near the ceilings, which acted as a passage for the mossies from the outside, so we had no chance of escaping them. All the hotel needed to do was fix a fine mesh over the vents to stop the mossies from entering the bedrooms and it would get a much higher rating.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andymckUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

A weekend get away with friends to historic Quorn. Owner Mick is helpful as are his staff. Excellent food, comfortable beds, quiet central location and terrific value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pdt782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2009

Decent place to stay, nothing spectacularly good or bad.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank seththegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quorn hotels
1.4 mi away
Endilloe Lodge B&B
Endilloe Lodge B&B
#1 of 5 in Quorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pichi Richi Park
Pichi Richi Park
#3 of 3 in Quorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criterion Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criterion Hotel Motel

Property: Criterion Hotel Motel
Address: 18 Railway Tce, Quorn, South Australia 5433, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Quorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Quorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Criterion Hotel Motel Quorn, Australia - South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing