We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our trip to Port Lincoln”

Triple Bay Charters
Ranked #3 of 9 Tours in Port Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Triple Bay Charters offer Sealion & Aquaculture Bay Cruises, Learn about our Tuna & Fishing Industry. taste Blue Fin Sashimi Tuna, Visit Seal Colony, View beautiful scenery. Fishing trips for the novice or experienced also available, also great for families wanting to take the kids fishing for the first time.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The process for booking/arranging this cruise is a bit shambolic but the half day and Aquaculture and Sightseeing cruise one you get on it is excellent. Peter, the skipper, is a very entertaining guy and his knowledge of the area is extensive. He showed us the sights and explained the Tuna farming industry and many other local facts and figures, and kept us laughing. Great stuff. The weather was a bit dicey while we were in Port Lincoln but we were very glad to have got on this trip. You cant book in advance due to the variable of weather and numbers but you can put your nam down. However from the moment we arrived in Port Lincoln, we tried to make contact to find when/if we would be able to go but couldnt get hold of anyone. We finally got someone at the visitor centre an hour before start time on the day we went and were told to turn up as it was probably going. Luckily we had planned our morning to be ready in time just in case. We also we unable to pay in advance by credit card so had to pay by cash. So, booking, communication and payment quite hit and miss but the actual trip is fantastic.

Thank nzaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripleBayCharters, partner at Triple Bay Charters, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Triple Bay Charters. Sorry you had problems with the booking process normally this runs very smoothly but I was away due to a death in the family.
I am glad you enjoyed your time on the water with Peter. Best Regards, Di

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sashimi tasting"
in 22 reviews
"kingfish"
in 23 reviews
"fishing industry"
in 29 reviews
"tuna industry"
in 15 reviews
"boston bay"
in 17 reviews
"great morning"
in 13 reviews
"sea lions"
in 25 reviews
"half day fishing charter"
in 5 reviews
"fish farm"
in 4 reviews
"visiting port"
in 10 reviews
"hour tour"
in 8 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 5 reviews
"catch fish"
in 3 reviews
"raw tuna"
in 3 reviews
"fantastic tour"
in 6 reviews
"seal colony"
in 6 reviews
"king george"
in 3 reviews
Filter

185 - 189 of 216 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Jeanette and Bill V

Had the best day ever fishing. Caught hundreds of fish including the biggest fish I have ever seen. A huge Blue Gropher which Peter said would be 45-50lb and about 80 years old, we put it back to grow bigger and older. Everyone caught fish, lots were thrown back but we had a great haul of "sweep", huge "king george whiting", "squid", "flathead" and a few others to take with us. We stopped in a little bay full of fur seals for lunch then even caught whiting while they were circling the boat. Pete has the best ever way of scaling the fish in a rope mesh bag dragged behind the boat, works like magic. Pete was also freely gave us information of the area and tuna farming. It is a must do fishing trip, with "ad ons"

Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripleBayCharters, Owner at Triple Bay Charters, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review I really appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed your trip out with me in Port Lincoln. Best Regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very enjoyable & informative cruise. The tasting plate of Blue Fin Tuna Sashimi was delicious. Wonderful half day crusie.

Thank LeeChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripleBayCharters, Owner at Triple Bay Charters, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review I really appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed your trip out with me in Port Lincoln. Best Regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We both really enjoyed the cruise. Peter (the skipper) your knowledge of the area was fantastic. We enjoyed tasting the Blue Fin Sashimi and also seeing the seal lions. It's a trip not to be missed and we will recommend it to others.. A fantastic 1/2 day trip. It was great value for money. Many thanks
Mary and Neil Stephens.

Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripleBayCharters, Owner at Triple Bay Charters, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review I really appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed your trip out with me in Port Lincoln. Best Regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had an excellent half day trip seeing sea lions and fur seals and some scenic beaches and reefs, fish breeding stations, and Grade A Sashimi tasting. Skipper Peters knowledge of the history and fishing industry facts at were interesting and something we never knew about - Just amazing what Tuna fishers have to go through to get it right for the Japanese market! Alot of jokes along the way and a warm and friendly personality. Will be back again!

Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triple Bay Charters also viewed

Port Lincoln, South Australia
Port Lincoln, South Australia
 
Port Lincoln, South Australia
 

Been to Triple Bay Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing