We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Grand Tasman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Tasman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Port Lincoln B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

After a long day..... Needing a good nights sleep before a 10 hour drive the next day. The first thing I see in my room was ear plugs? Ear plugs dont stop the bed shaking from the band downstairs. There would be more people furious they can't sleep here than there are people watching the band.
Overpriced and down right rude to take your money without any suggestion that you won't get much sleep. I would have had a better nights sleep in the car, and it wouldn't cost me the earth. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livewire5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
11
22
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We went to the hotel for a good pub meal but were disappointed. The service was very slow and the food took ages to come out. The chicken snitzel came with what tasted like packet gravy but cost $2. The scotch fillet was nearly $30 and was over cooked and tough.
While the location is nice if you choose to sit outside to enjoy it be ready for someone to smoke next to you.
Overall, very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Macfamily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Such an awful experience we left at midnight. Room was stocked with ear plugs - this should've been our first clue. Loud music which shook the entire hotel went on until past midnight and as we had booked by phone from the road the reception staff never mentioned that there would be live entertainment, even when we checked in. As we were driving a long distance the next day we wanted to be well rested. Had the noise been the only issue we could've got over it but, the bathroom was built in a cupboard and the shower screen was smashed with large shards of glass hanging precariously. The bathroom was mouldy and dirty. There was no secure parking and with the rowdy crowd we worried constantly about the vehicle. The final straw came when my mother pulled back the cover on her bed to discover that the sheets were dirty with hairs, muddy scuff marks and the sheets crumpled. The thought of sleeping in someone else's filth was repulsive so we decided sleeping in our car would be preferable to this dump. Don't even waste your time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Lincoln hotels

Adelaide South Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

i am not sure how i cant write a review for the bistro so here it goes :). Great value for money , especially on specials nights. all meals inclusive of salad & veg bar as well as self serve ice cream bar. service can be slow when its busy and bookings recommended fri/sat nights. ate here twice during my recent stay in port lincoln, highly recomment the ribs & schnitzel along with the scallops meal. do not recommend the fish and chils - poor size and not very tasty. otherwsie, satff friendly and drinks specials a good deal also. enjoy :), please bare in mind this review and ratings are for the bistro

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Noisy. Inexpensive. Reasonable food. Very basic breakfast. Tariff included breakfast. Better without breakfast. Not much choice. Though most of the have Port Lincoln view with shared balcony. Handy location for Port Lincoln. In the middle of the town. To some extent uncomfortable beds as well. Would like to stay somewhere else next time and try not to save $20.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepak638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Headed down to the "Tassie" on a wet Sunday afternoon for lunch. Decided on the Devilled Scallops and the Lamb/Chicken Yiros pizza to share between 2. My last meal was less than favourable here, but we were very impressed. Scallops nice and spicy and the pizza delicious. Friendly service and staff. Pity we had to leave as the band was about to fire up - would have been a perfect way to spend the afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frangipani69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide, australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Recently we travelled to Port Lincoln. We enjoyed a lovely afternoon at the Grand Tasman Hotel listening to locals playing acoustic instruments. The Hotel has marketed this as Sangria Sunday.......and we found this a very enjoyable way to pass the time, listening to music, sipping Sangria and eating the most delicious Seafood Pizza which was very generously topped with fresh prawns and scallops. A Great Day, enhanced by wonderful local seafood, entertainment and staff who provided very good and friendly service

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Lincoln hotels
0.5 mi away
Port Lincoln Hotel
Port Lincoln Hotel
#1 of 7 in Port Lincoln
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Motel
Hilton Motel
#4 of 7 in Port Lincoln
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay 10 Accommodation
Bay 10 Accommodation
#3 of 7 in Port Lincoln
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Marina Hotel
The Marina Hotel
#2 of 7 in Port Lincoln
151 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Lincoln Navigators Inn
#7 of 7 in Port Lincoln
10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Limani Port Lincoln
Limani Port Lincoln
#5 of 7 in Port Lincoln
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tasman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tasman Hotel

Property: Grand Tasman Hotel
Address: 94 Tasman Tce, Port Lincoln, South Australia 5606, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Tasman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque foreshore of Port Lincoln the Grand Tasman Hotel is a family friendly Hotel. Anchors Bistro has an extensive pub menu boasting local produce. The Sandbar features live sports on the big screen from ALF to UFC and everything in-between. Live Entertainment regularly supporting local acts. Accommodation is affordable, comfortable and includes complimentary continental breakfast. Gaming Room TAB Lotteries Sip'N'Save DriveThru Bottleshop being on of the largest in the State has an extensive range with helpful friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Grand Tasman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing