We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calypso Star Charters - Shark Cage Diving
Ranked #1 of 12 Tours in Port Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Calypso Star Charters provides the ultimate one day adventure activity, cage diving with the Great White Sharks! Our business has been operating for over 20 years and boasts a highly successful history. We are the only Advanced Eco Certified business providing the one day charter that also holds a license to berley, giving us a greater chance of attracting the Great Whites to our vessel and keeping them in close proximity! In October 2011 we launched our new vessel, MV Calypso Star 2. The vessel is state of the art and provides all guests with the best in comfort, safety and all the creatures comfort of home, including hot showers! Dont miss your opportunity to be mesmerised by these remarkable creatures as you see them face to face in their natural environment from the safety of our cage, in the clear waters surrounding the Neptune IslandsWith the success of the addition of the new vessel, we saw the opportunity to expand our business operation and offer our customers more than just the one experience. This saw the introduction of our Swim with the Sealions tours in 2011. All aboard the MV Calypso Star for a journey to the playground of the seas very cute and very playful 'puppy dogs', the Australian Sea Lions at Hopkins Island. From the moment we arrive the Sea Lions bound out to the vessel excitedly inviting the guests to join them. The tour provides the opportunity to jump in and swim, viewing the mesmerised skills and abilities of these gorgeous animals, or sit back and enjoy the action from the comfort of the vessel. The tour is interaction guaranteed, environmentally conscious, educational and a whole lot of fun for the whole family!
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Last weekend we were lucky enough to venture out with Calypso to see the great white sharks. It wasn't just the dive that made it, but the Calypso team who were v friendly/professional. The Calypso team made us feel welcome from our first step on the boat, making coffees and preparing/serving regular meals throughout the day and chatting about past adventures. Once out near the seal island they started chumming up the waters and within 10mins we seen our first "big mumma". You are not guaranteed to see a shark but we saw a total of 5 throughout the day and the Calypso team kept them hanging around with the bait. You can see the other 2 competing companies about 300metres away (one doesn't use chum but music vibrations) we just assumed that as we had constant shark activity they would too, however, later that night when we returned after the dive we met someone from the other boat who said they didn't see any and would return in May to use their half-price voucher with the (music vibration) co, whilst they had a professor on board and said it was worth the money because they were given almost a national geographic style speel on sharks and were really impressed with the presentation, we were very happy we went with Calypso, yes they didn't have a running commentary on sharks but that was because we were too busy all day viewing/in the cage with the sharks! I feel like Calypso may have a better success rate with attracting the sharks (due to chumming) but also seemed to be able to keep them interested and hanging around, it felt like we never had more than a 15minute gap when we didn't have at least 1 shark around! Thoroughly recomend this tour and we stayed at Marina hotel which was perfect location! Also, as scarey as it sounds, the dive was (strangely enough) not scarey at all, one of the Calypso guys was very patient with me and kept talking me through how to use the regulator as I kept bopping back up because I was struggling with how to use it, but the dive itself seems very natural and you dont consider your safety a concern at any moment but just feel awe looking at such beautiful creatures! Thanks for a great tour!!

Thank helenefromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalypsoManagement, Manager at Calypso Star Charters - Shark Cage Diving, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Hi Helene
It was great to see you persist with the regulator and get there in the end. It can sometimes take a bit of getting used to but with some patience you managed to get there in the end.
Last weekend certainly was a good weekend and we were pleased to have you join us for the shark dive! We are pretty lucky with the staff we have managed to employ and the wonderful service they provide our guests, it is always very rewarding reading such fabulous comments about their work onboard.
It is more mesmerising than scary when you are there in the water with them, although most people don't believe you until they experience it themselves :)
Thanks for your review, hope to welcome you onboard again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
There are newer reviews for Calypso Star Charters - Shark Cage Diving
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

893 - 897 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Shark Cage Diving is often mentioned as a 'thing to do before you die'. And that is definitely the case. The experience was absolutely amazing and something which I will remember for the rest of my life. To be just inches from a massive and gracious animal like the Great White Shark was simply breathtaking. However, I felt very safe inside the cage and could calmly focus on appreciating the moment.

The entire trip (despite some rough weather) was incredible. The crew were very friendly and funny and somehow made you feel comfortable with the fact that you would soon be staring a Great White in the eyes. We were constantly fed throughout the trip (with very good food) and entertained with the several shark videos that were playing on the multiple tv's on the boat.

All in all, I would highly recommend to go Shark Diving - and especially with Calypso, which took great care of us. I definitely want to come back and do this again - I feel addicted!

1  Thank gustavssonalbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalypsoManagement, Manager at Calypso Star Charters - Shark Cage Diving, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Don't worry, many people become addicted to it after their first time and we are always happy to welcome you back onboard if you join us again!
I do have to agree that it is definately a thing to do before you die, and the more people that experience it the more they realise we aren't just saying it, we actually mean it. I am glad that you had a great experience out with us and felt safe and well looked after the whole time. We aim to please and we have done so!
Thanks for reviewing your trip and sharing your opinions with everyone. Hope to see you again some day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nice big boat with tea, coffee, drinks and food. Once at the Neptune Islands you are surrounded by Great Whites, just have to wait for them to take the bait. Inside the cage is completely safe and the best view of these magnificent creatures. They get pretty close to the cage but don't be nervous because the shark doesn't like the taste of human. We were inside the cage for about an hour and got plenty of shark sightings. I recommend this company thanks to the friendly staff and the likelihood that you will see a shark or two, maybe more.

Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalypsoManagement, Manager at Calypso Star Charters - Shark Cage Diving, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hi Chris
Thanks for reviewing your trip with us. We are very proud our vessel, she is a great size for a comfortable day out on the water.
The cage does provide great viewing opportunities, I'm sure you will agree t is a feeling like no other when they pass by the cage in front of you! Sounds like you had an awesome time in the cage with plenty of shark action, hopefully you captured some great photos!
Thanks for joining and recommending us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was hounestly one of the most amazing experiences of my life! It was about a 3 hour trip from Port Lincoln to the Neptune Islands which was really nice. Once we got there, not long after the skipper decided on the dive spot the sharks arrived and we got about 45 minutes in the cage, once youre underwater and see the sharks its hounestly amazing, its like a different world.

The crew are extremely friendly and helpful, you get breakfast and lunch, and theres alot of photograph opportunities too. Its hounestly one of the best days of my life and ill be recommending this to everyone I know!!

1  Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalypsoManagement, Manager at Calypso Star Charters - Shark Cage Diving, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

It was a great day out that day too with the five Great Whites that graced us all day providing everyone with great cage viewing and perfect photographic opportunities.
We are stoked we provided you with one of the best days of your life, we aim to please and we have hit the mark! Seeing them in the water is truly remarkable and I think you can't really appreciate it until you get in that cage.
Thank you for joining us and for sharing your thoughts with others. We hope you may visit us again one day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I did this trip on Saturday and still can't believe what a brilliant time we had. We certainly got up close and personal with these incredible Great Whites. It was a day to remember forever and we have so many amazing photos to remind us. The young staff aboard the boat were so friendly and accommodating. They couldn't do enough to make us enjoy this once in a lifetime experience. A big thankyou to everyone on board. I would definitely recommend that you should all experience this like we did. Well worth it........we are still pinching ourselves.. thankyou!

2  Thank T4man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalypsoManagement, Manager at Calypso Star Charters - Shark Cage Diving, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

What a fabulous day for a dive it was on Saturday too with the lovely sunshine we had most of the day. If you are on Facebook, don't forget you are more than welcome to share your photos by posting them on our wall or tagging us in hem,would be great to see some of them.
Thanks so much for joining us and being a part of such a great day and for taking the time to write a review of your trip. It was an absolute pleasure having you both onboard and bringing you face to face with the great whites. And now you can stop pinching yourselves because the photos and your memories prove it was real :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Star Charters - Shark Cage Diving also viewed

Port Lincoln, South Australia
Port Lincoln, South Australia
 
Port Lincoln, South Australia
 

Been to Calypso Star Charters - Shark Cage Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing