We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, wonderful friendly staff”
Review of Port Lincoln Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port Lincoln Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Port Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great room, great food, lovely friendly staff! Stayed here on short business trip. Room was beautifully presented and very clean. Swam in the pool which looks towards the ocean and has gym just outside fenced area. Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant - food was great, staff friendly catering for dairy and gluten free diets

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PixiePam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear PixiePam

What a great review you have provided on Trip Advisor from your recent buisness trip to the Port Lincoln hotel.

Good to hear that you braved to swim while it's been a little cooler in Port Lincoln. The pool is in a great location and offers great views whilst relaxing on the pool deck.
Thank you for mentioning that the rooms are beautifully presented and very clean, I have passed on this feedback to our Housekeeping department.

Our menu is adjustable to cater for all dietary requirements and our chefs are more than happy to adjust where they can. It's great that you enjoyed the food and service the Sarin's team provided you, I have also passed this feedback on to them.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to your next business trip visit to Port Lincoln.

Yours Sincerly
Nicole Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for Port Lincoln Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 577 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend in April. Its a great hotel - with everything you'd expect for a top hotel in a country town. The rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. The public areas of the hotel are very nice. Not sure why they have a pool as Port Lincoln isn't exactly known for its sunshine! We had room 505, which had a magnificent view up Boston Bay.
Carpark is good, although it does fill up. We'll definitely stay here again as a couple, but not sure if they have family rooms.

The water saving shower heads have been noted by other reviewers - I'll put up with them though as I know Lincoln is short on water so its a necessary evil.....

With this great hotel in Lincoln, and also with Qantaslink now servicing the town again, I think Port Lincoln will become much more popular for holiday makers.

I will review Sarins restaurant separately - But it is absolututely world class food.

Cheers!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touring-plonkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear touring-plonkies

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review from your recent visit to the Port Lincoln Hotel. I am glad that you chose to stay with us and were able to experience what we have on offer.

I am happy to read you enjoyed your accomodation with a well appointed, clean and comfortable room, which also complimented magnificent views of Boston Bay.
Options for families vary depending on age and bed requirements. We have twin share rooms that contain two double beds, interconnecting rooms (twin share) and bunk rooms that sleep up to six.
The main carpark does fill up with 111 rooms on offer at the hotel. We also have parking across the road next to our Lincoln Cellars and there is also sufficient street parking available free of charge for the larger vehicle's or those with a trailer.

Thank you for your great review of the Port Lincoln Hotel and we look forward to seeing you the next time you choose to visit.

Yours Sincerly
Nicole Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

There were a number of things that weren't right with our stay. I had paid extra for an ocean view and had made a point of requesting a quiet room. We had a room on a angle. While it was technically an ocean view, it was more of partial. It was not quiet though, it was above the pool so we got the noise from that and above the garbage dumpster which was collected at 6 am. (loudly) The pool was supposed to be heated,it wasn't. People were allowed to smoke out at the pool. The information book in the room states " business center offers complimentary use of computers for guests." However, when I went down there, there was a charge to use it. Then the morning we were leaving our taxi never came. We had ordered it the night before and from the conversations with the front desk and the taxi driver(finally) I believe that they forgot to order a taxi for us. We were really close to the departure time when we finally got to the airport.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank cynful2no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Cyntul2no

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review that you have provided from your stay at the Port Lincoln Hotel.

You have mentioned some fair points that I have been following up on and I appologise that they may have affected your overall stay. Our reception desk is open 24hours and our staff are always accomodating to meet guests needs where they can.

Firstly I would like to mention that the rooms we have at the north end of the hotel with an ocean view are the quietest rooms that we have to offer. These are located away from the traffic and Sharky's below. Being a corner room with a large corner balcony they offer a view of both Boston Bay and the coast line as most people enjoy.
Thank you for alerting us of the garbage dumpster arriving at 6am, we have spoken with the company that we use. They were more than appologetic as our contract states that they are not to come through before 7:30am. With out this knowledge we would not of been able to follow up on this so once again thank you.

The hotel pool is solar heated but the heating always depends on the weather the peninsula has been experiencing prior. Going into May we have had a lot of cloudy days which may have impacted the solar power during your visit. We are looking into other options so that guests can enjoy a constantly heated pool all year round.

The buisness centre is free of charge for general use but charges do apply for the internet and printing.

As for the taxi booking, all of our records indicate that a taxi was booked for 9:10am the night before by a senior reception staff member. I am sorry if there was any miscommunication or that this was not explained before your departure.

I am happy to speak with you about any of this further if you would like to contact me on (08) 86212000.

Kind Regards,
Nicole Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

For those visiting Port Lincoln to do the great white shark cage dive with Calypso Star, they have a special package rate of $70 a night, an amazing bargain in an otherwise very expensive country. There are some minor drawbacks to this awesome deal: it only applies to the hotel's "bunk rooms" (perfect if you are with friends, but they'll give it to solo travelers as well even though it's way too big for just one person), and they don't offer maid service for this rate either (no biggie since you'll be with the sharks all day and won't be spending much time in the room anyway).

When making your booking with the hotel, make sure you mention you're with Calypso Star to take advantage of their free transfers to the boat. They'll give you an info sheet when you check in and will let you know what time your transfer to the dock will be arranged for the morning of your shark adventure. Staff is friendly, they answer emails very quickly, and are clearly used to dealing with the shark tourists.

Hotel has a couple nice-looking restaurants that I did not try (again, with the sharks all day!), but also has enough small restaurants and fast-food options nearby (KFC is next door), so you won't go hungry no matter what your budget.

Room Tip: The shark package reduced rate is only good for the hotel's bunk rooms, of which there are just...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveAH6HY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear DaveAH6HY

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Port Lincoln Hotel whilst visiting for the Calypso Shark Cage Dive experience and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

Well Done for braving the Shark Dive - I hope that you thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
Like you have mentioned we are used to dealing with Shark dive tourists and do offer some great deals for those wishing to stay here and brave the Calypso Star Shark Dive. You have given a great outline of what the special rate package offers for an individual visitor staying. The bunk room is the best value option we have on offer (usually preferred seeing as you are out with the Sharks all day). This does not include a mini bar or maid service, but guests are more than welcome to contact our 24hour reception desk if they do require anything.
If divers wish to stay in any of our other rooms that we have available we do also offer a discounted rate. This also includes the transfer to the Marina and back again courtesy of the hotel.
I have passed on your comments about the friendly service and prompt answers via e-mail by our reception and reservations team.

Thank you again for your helpful review.

Yours Sincerly
Nicole Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Lovely view enjoyed from Ocean View room with balcony. Very comfortable beds and good night sleep with the cloud topper – I want one! Room facilities good and décor nice. Lighting in room was a little dim, no over-head downlighting, just free standing lamps and small wall mounted lights that unfortunately all seemed to be missing half the bulbs… While I understand water conservation is an issue, the low flow shower head is a bit of a problem if trying to rinse out long hair. Staff friendly and helpful on Check in/out. Handy location and good off street parking for guests.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms worth the extra $$
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiKat815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear KiwiKat815

Thank you for writting your review about the Port Lincoln Hotel on Trip Advisor. You have provided some positive feedback along with a couple of things that we will look into.

Glad to hear you chose to stay in one of our Ocean View Balcony rooms. The rooms offer great views of Boston Bay and the balcony is perfect to sit and watch a sunrise or sunset with a glass of wine.
The cloud topper often receives great reviews about comfort and I believe a fair amount of people have sought to purchase one for their own home.
As for the shower heads and lighting in the rooms we have taken on and appreciate this feedback. We are now currently reviewing other options to look into for these.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to Port Lincoln and hope to see you next time you chose to visit.

Your Sincerly
Nicole Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and the only disappointment was that we had to leave! We had an amazing room with a balcony that afforded beautiful bay and town views. The bathroom was immaculate, the bed was comfortable and the room was very spacious. From the initial booking to the final check-out the service was fantastic-friendly, efficient and professional. We had a delicious meal in Sarins restaurant (tuna rosettes,kingfish and banana pikelets....yummm). On arrival we had the good fortune to meet Abby King (Functions and Corporate Events Manager). Abby was incredibly welcoming, knowledgeable and obliging. She set the bar to a very high standard from the onset and we were never disappointed with any of the interactions we had with the staff. The location of the hotel couldn't be better-an easy walk to the water or town centre.

Room Tip: Room 507 was perfect-a corner room with brilliant views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stokes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Stokes5,

Thank you for reviewing the Port Lincoln Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your entire stay from the inital booking to the final check out.

I have passed on your positive feedback to Abby King. Abby is a great asset to us at the hotel and her high standards and level of customer service do not go un-noticed. I am happy to hear that, that same level of service was kept across the hotel for your two night visit.

I'm glad you chose to stay in one of our Delux Spa Suite's, they honor great views of Boston Bay and the coast line. The comfortable bed would be the cause of a feather cloud topper that all of our twin beds are fitted with. We often get great comments about these to the point that some have gone out to purchase their own for home.

Than you once again for your review and we look forward to seeing you next time you choose to visit Port Lincoln.

Yours Sincerly
Nicole Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A first time visit to Pt Lincoln was most enjoyable. This hotel is certainly a great asset to the city. In general we would agree with other reviewers. We stayed several days and found the public areas of the hotel very inviting. The views of the bay and general ambiance great. We had a few problems which may seem insignificant compared to the to the overall experience, but they did diminish our enjoyment. We had a pleasant ocean view room. The room was starting to show signs of age. The housekeeping was about 3/5. We had a very good meal in the restaurant but the service let it down. We were ignored for quite some time and had to ask for service, twice. Other diners did not seem to have the same trouble. We were celebrating a birthday and wondered if we had reached that magical age where one becomes invisible.
We found wifi and internet charges far too expensive compared to other hotels. When we asked for some ice we were told there would be a charge. For ice! Also not very impressed with service fee on credit cards. Overall a nice visit and yes, would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear C L

Thank you for staying with us at the Port Lincoln Hotel and writing a review on Trip Advisor.

I am glad you chose to stay in one of our Ocean View Balcony rooms, we are blessed with great views of the beautiful Boston Bay which makes for such an attractive room to stay in.
It's great to hear that your overall experience was enjoyed.

We have taken on your feedback and are looking into each comment constructivley.
I am dissapointed to read about the service you recieved in Sarin's. We usually have great feedback about attentive and friendly staff and apologize that this was not what you experienced on that evening. I have passed onto the Restaurant Manager who is following up and will continue monitoring to provide a consistant high level of service. I do hope that the service during the rest of your stay across the hotel was at the level we strive for.

The Wifi and Service fee's are both a bit tricky, they are third party companies who set these charges for the hotel. We do try our hardest to keep each of these to a minimum for the guest and will continue reviewing.
We do not charge for ice and am sorry if you were led to believe that we do. Any room service delivery comes with a $4 service charge so this may have been the price quoted.

The hotel is in our 5th year of operation now and do hope as you said it has been an asset to the town. The rooms are currently being reviewed for a "spring clean" where we will be able to update where necessary.
I am glad to read that these things did not affect your overall experience of the hotel and once again thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We look forward to seeing you next time you choose to visit Port Lincoln.

Yours Sincerly
Nicole Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Lincoln hotels
2.1 mi away
The Marina Hotel
The Marina Hotel
#2 of 7 in Port Lincoln
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Motel
Hilton Motel
#4 of 7 in Port Lincoln
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay 10 Accommodation
Bay 10 Accommodation
#3 of 7 in Port Lincoln
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Limani Port Lincoln
Limani Port Lincoln
#5 of 7 in Port Lincoln
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Lincoln Navigators Inn
#6 of 7 in Port Lincoln
11 reviews
1.0 mi away
Port Lincoln YHA
Port Lincoln YHA
#1 of 12 in Port Lincoln
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Lincoln Hotel

Address: Port Lincoln Hotel 1 Lincoln Hwy, Port Lincoln, South Australia 5606, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Port Lincoln
Price Range: $112 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Lincoln Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Lincoln Hotel overlooks Boston Bay with 111 rooms comprising of luxury and deluxe spa suites, ocean view balcony or town view rooms. The hotel has a modern and spacious design, comprising of large public bar, bistro area and Sarin's restaurant that features local seafood and non-seafood options. Perfect for families, leisure guests or corporate travelers - the Port Lincoln Hotel offers modern function facilities and dining options to suit. We also have tailored itinerary suggestions so our visitors can explore the Eyre Peninsula and enjoy land or water based tourist activities during their holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Port Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing