We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Night Stay”
Review of Port Lincoln Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Port Lincoln Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Port Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2 Night Stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I visit the area quite frequently and this is the second time I have stayed in this hotel. I have found the staff to be very friendly and service is of a high standard. Both bar and restaurant food is of quality and pricing is reasonable. I would recommend for business or pleasure. One tip, when you book ask for a room looking over the bay as this view can't be beaten.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room overlooking the bay or you could end up with a car park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_holbrook65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and coming for a return visit with us at the Port Lincoln Hotel.

I am delighted you experienced friendly staff, quality food and an overall, enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best wishes,
Diana Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    196
    34
    14
    5
See reviews for
74
247
28
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I don't ask for much really when I visit a hotel. Affordable, clean, honest. "One out of three ain't bad" must be the saying for the Port Lincoln Hotel.

I saw that the Hotel featured a pool and even though I was going in the middle of a hot summer I decided to enquire via the Facebook page. I asked is the pool heated all year round. The reply I received was, and I quote "The pool is solar heated" - OK, so the pool is heated. Lovely. What they don't tell you is that the pool heating is non existent. The actual beach water was warmer than the pool water. It was freezing. Are you joking Port Lincoln Hotel? How about telling your potential customers that the pool is solar heated, but we are having issues with it, or that even though we are trying to heat it, it is currently at such and such temperature. Don't just give a response that was obviously bait advertising.

On check-in I walked up to the counter and greeted the clerk with a smile. She did not smile back, but pointed to a woman walking in our general direction. She checked us in. No small talk. No smile. Here's your room. Take the elevator. Wow, thanks for the walm welcome to Port Lincoln!

The room itself was clean. There were some slight things that I would've expected from a 4.5 star hotel. There was hair in the bath. The toilet paper was left as if just used. Am I expecting too much?

The view was a huge letdown. Even though I requested a top or near level stay a month in advance, I was given level 3 which really was a view of trees and the rooftop of the hotel entry that had rubbish on it. Picture provided.

I had read that some people could hear the music while trying to sleep. On the Thursday night I could very slightly hear the karaoke until around midnight. It wasn't that much of a big deal. I think the floors above would fair better.

Checkout was good. This person was friendly, seemed like she cared about her job. It was nice to see it.

Parking was good. It was well lit at night. Though completely full. I imagine if you're arriving late Friday you might not get a park due to the club/pub/restaurant they have.

The restaurant on ground floor was fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VippiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate the honest feedback you have provided in regards to your experience and sorry to read that you feel people should leave Port Lincoln because of our hotel.

I have followed up with housekeeping and reception in regards to the poor service you received and have also passed on your positive comments in regards to the restaurant and other general areas of the hotel.

We often receive positive comments in regards to our service, so I am disappointed to read your review. On behalf of all of us here at the Port Lincoln Hotel, I am sorry that you did not leave happy, as our guests so often do.

Yours sincerely,
Diana Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port lincoln
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Upon checking in I asked what time we were to be picked up for our shark cage dive. I was informed that because I had not advised them we were diving we were not on the list. As this was my second time, I assured them I did tell them this, but was told I was absolute wrong and that I would have to contact Calypso myself and sort it out. Calypso assured me that it was confirmed with them and that they would contact the hotel to tell them this. I later went to reception and got someone different and asked if it had been sorted, and was again met with a rude gruff staff member who suggested next time I make sure I advise them! Really! We decided to have a drink by the pool but the type of beer we wanted wasn't in that bar, so upon calling the downstairs bar I was informed it would cost me an extra $4 to bring the drinks to us. After explaining to them that what we wanted wasn't up there, he agreed to wave the $4. Two young girls delivered our drinks but told us we couldn't have them in the pool area, which is fine, so we asked for plastic cup (as suggested on the signage on the gate) but she told us they had no plastic cups. After pointing out the sign she made it quite clear this was inconvenient but in her gruff manner she walked off to see what she could do. Unfortunately most staff we came across seemed rude and I felt that we were putting them out. We also had no bottle opener in our room, so I called reception and requested one. I was told to come down stairs and get it myself, and they would charge $1 to my room which I would have refunded when I left!

Overall for a lovely clean hotel, the staff really let it down. I felt a friendly smile on their faces wouldn't have been to much to expect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Jan,

I am very disappointed to read the title of your review, as we very rarely have feedback about our staff conducting themselves in a rude manner with guests. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Port Lincoln with friends and the shark cage dive earlier this month.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, however I am also disappointed we didn't learn of your concerns until now. At your convenience, I invite you to contact me any time at hotel so I can discuss this with you. I have been in touch with Calypso to discuss your booking and to ensure confusion does not occur again in the future with more visitors.

In regards to bottle openers, we no longer have these in rooms for several reasons, but can more than happily deliver to rooms on request. A $15 bond is placed on room accounts, and charged if the guest wishes to keep as a momento.

I was pleased to read the cleanliness of the room, quality of your sleep and the shark cage dive were all highlights of your trip. Jan, as mentioned previously, I am more than happy to discuss your recent stay further should you wish to call me at the Port Lincoln Hotel.

Best wishes,
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My friend Phil and I visited Port Lincoln and stayed at the self titled hotel with mine host Di providing all the support, advice and help you could need. Personally I've travelled and stayed all over the world and whether it was a gir tent in Mongolia, a B and B in Nice, The Marriot in New York or the Ramada in Fishkill , 5 to 1 star, my biggest problem has been a comfortable bed. What an incredible bonus then to stay at the Port Lincoln and lay on that bed and find it like the one I have at home, a pillowtop and as comfortable bed as I've ever slept in!
Perfect for a 13 day tour at sea the following day to see the Great White sharks in action.
Finally a hotel that considers a good night sleep as its main aim!!!! So to Di and all the amazing staff at the Port Lincoln, thanks for making our stay so memorable! We will be directing all our friends to your venue!

Room Tip: Choose any room - they ALL have comfortable beds with pillow top mattresses! Of course it is more ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Chris,

What a great TripAdvisor review - thank you so much for taking the time to let the world know about your recent trip to the Eyre Peninsula and your stay here at the Port Lincoln Hotel.

You are very kind to write a review about the assistance and tips offered to make the most of your stay here in Port Lincoln - it is what we try to do each time with guests. It's important to us that visitors get out and about, sample the local produce and explore the land and water based activities.

The feedback we receive about the 'Cloud Toppers' on our beds is always nice to read - as yes, we are a hotel that cares about people's comfort and a good night of rest.

Chris, I hope you and Phil do come back here for another visit with friends - your cricket trip would be most welcome!

Thanks again, I do appreciate the feedback as do the hard working staff here,
Cheers,
Diana Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights January 2013, Excellent staff, ultra clean room. Fantastic meals in Sharkys. Position fantastic overlooking Boston Bay and shopping and beach so close. We will be back. Paul & Ros.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms excellent for views and privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Paul and Ros,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor - I am very happy to read you both enjoyed your comfortable stay, the clean rooms and the local shopping!

The view from Boston Bay from our ocean view rooms, or top floor suites is quite spectacular. We often receive feedback that it is worth paying that little bit extra to enjoy the view.

We hope to see you both back here again in the near future,
Best wishes,
Diana Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here primarily as I wanted to go cage diving and the Port Lincoln Hotel was the best rated accommodation in Port Lincoln. First the positive. The staff were friendly and efficient. They checked us in quickly and took care of the shuttle from the hotel to the marina for the cage dive.

Now the negatives. I had booked months ago and booked a king size bed with the "stunning ocean view". We got 2 queen size beds and the view consisted mostly of a dirty tin roof and trees. My partner complained and asked for another room. She was told bad luck, they were fully booked out. For a stunning ocean view we had to go to the restaurant or the swimming pool. Which leads to another story.

The pool looks great and the view from the pool is incredible. However there is no shade whatsoever. Also the pool is supposed to be solar heated. It was freezing when we were there and the sun was certainly shining.

Overall, disappointing.

Room Tip: When you book a "stunning ocean view". Ask what floor you are on? Don't accept accept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Andrew,

I am delighted you and your wife came from Melbourne to enjoy a holiday in Port Lincoln and a shark cage dive. It's an amazing experience and I hope you have told your friends it's a must do.

Thank you for your comments regarding our staff - welcoming you and being efficient, friendly and assisting with transfer bookings with the shark cage dive.

In regards to the room and your request for a king bed that was not followed up on allocation, I am sorry. I was disturbed to read that one of our staff told your wife 'bad luck' given we were booked out. I am confident our staff would never so that to a customer - so I am disappointed to learn you felt this was the case. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel and I will happily follow up with the Rooms Division Manager.

As I have said to someone else who commented on the solar heated pool being cold - Port Lincoln has not experienced many consecutive days over a certain temperature where the winter chill can be taken off the water. We are looking into alternative heating at the moment.

So I am sorry that your overall experience with us was disappointing. If you decide to come back and visit us again soon, which I hope you do, I hope it is more enjoyable for you and your wife.

Best wishes and a happy new year to you and your wife,
Diana Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

lovely large hotel which is spotless and the staff very helpfull! i myself and am disable in that i have no legs but the hotel is fully accessible in all areas! highly reccomended.
the food and drink is all top class aswell!!

Room Tip: there are balconys available if you ask and the view from the rooms varys so ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Ben S,

It was our pleasure to have you come and stay with us - and so delighted you not only enjoyed a comfortable stay with us, but a shark cage dive and delicious food and drinks to celebrate!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again when you next visit Australia.

Thank you for your comments, as well as having the determination to fulfill a life long dream of a shark cage dive, despite your disability and life challenge. I am glad we were able to make you feel comfortable here at the Port Lincoln Hotel.

Best wishes,
Diana Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Lincoln hotels
2.1 mi away
The Marina Hotel
The Marina Hotel
#2 of 7 in Port Lincoln
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Motel
Hilton Motel
#4 of 7 in Port Lincoln
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay 10 Accommodation
Bay 10 Accommodation
#3 of 7 in Port Lincoln
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Limani Port Lincoln
Limani Port Lincoln
#5 of 7 in Port Lincoln
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Lincoln Navigators Inn
#7 of 7 in Port Lincoln
10 reviews
1.0 mi away
Port Lincoln YHA
Port Lincoln YHA
#1 of 12 in Port Lincoln
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Lincoln Hotel

Property: Port Lincoln Hotel
Address: Port Lincoln Hotel 1 Lincoln Hwy, Port Lincoln, South Australia 5606, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Port Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Lincoln Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Lincoln Hotel overlooks Boston Bay with 111 rooms comprising of luxury and deluxe spa suites, ocean view balcony or town view rooms. The hotel has a modern and spacious design, comprising of large public bar, bistro area and Sarin's restaurant that features local seafood and non-seafood options. Perfect for families, leisure guests or corporate travelers - the Port Lincoln Hotel offers modern function facilities and dining options to suit. We also have tailored itinerary suggestions so our visitors can explore the Eyre Peninsula and enjoy land or water based tourist activities during their holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing