We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Spot In Sydney”
Review of Port Lincoln Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port Lincoln Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Port Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We just spent one night there but really enjoyed it. Dinner was great, room awesome, we booked late on our trip from Perth, WA and got the honey moon room, absolutely brilliant. Old, very clean, great view from our wrap around veranda on the first floor, could not be better. Would go back any time, also great and VERY friendly service, they had 2 buses in and the lady handled it brilliantly. All good:)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bojangles1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2015

Thank you for your review.
We appreciate all customer feedback shared on Trip Advisor.

Port Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for Port Lincoln Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 576 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Right place to stay in a lovely coastal town .Have at least a dozen oysters in the restaurant and do the shark dive for a totally awesome experience. The Tues/Thurs $15 steak & pint of beer in
sharkys bar is unbeatable. We really enjoyed our 3 nights here.PS. decided to give surfing a miss after seeing the great whites in action!!

Room Tip: Floor 4 /5/6 with ocean aspect are the pick
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryGoesSurfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Harrygoessurfing,

Perhaps I should just call you Harry after you decided not to go surfing after your "totally awesome" shark cage dive! We have amazing feedback from visitors who say it's a 'bucket list' adventure and can't wait to share their stories with others.

Delighted you also enjoyed our T Bone specials, along with Coffin Bay Oysters in Sarin's. When you have some images of your shark cage dive, feel free to email them through to us and we will post them through our website and social media.

Thanks again for the reply - I appreciate the positive feedback and hope to see you back here for a second holiday.

Best wishes,
Diana Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Its 2.45 in the morning, this place runs a disco here which might be great if your in your 20,s, however if you want to get any sleep at all or need to travel the following day, then don't stay here. Non stop thumping music blaring and lots of drunken street noise. We are on the third floor and its really noisy, have given up on sleeping hence this review. Regret staying here AND WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE who is not interested in loud partying till the early hours. Seems the music has stopped 3 am, just loud revellers in the street.

Room Tip: choose somewhere else
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank terri t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear TerriT,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide us with some feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Port Lincoln Hotel. I am disappointed to read you didn't enjoy your stay and won't recommend the hotel to anyone in the future. Can I ask if you provided the front desk with this feedback on the night or on departure, as I can't find any reference in our daily logs. Where possible, we strive to fix issues such as this as soon as we are made aware.

The hotel does operate a front bar that becomes one of Port Lincoln's most popular night spots over the weekend and we manage the crowds leaving around 3am as best we can with staff and security. We also have management practices in place to ensure constant monitoring of audio levels, checked throughout the evening on each floor of the hotel. I apologise if these levels were excessive during your stay with us and will speak with the duty managers to follow up.

The hotel often expereinces capacity with accommodation and if we only have lower level rooms available on the southern end of the hotel (above the bar) we endeavour to let all guests know they may experience noise from the bar during their stay. This was the case with your stay, so I am sorry.

We receive exceptional feedback on our customer service, accommodation and general hospitality most of the time, but always use feedback to improve our practices. I will follow up on the noise levels from the bar for future use and hope this reply meets your satisfaction.

Best wishes,
Diana Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

everything i expected and more. friendly and very helpful staff who cared not only about our stay in the hotel but also about our time in port lincoln. exceptional advice on how to spend our time. the restaurant was brilliant. amazing to find such a hotel in regional sa.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsyb005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear BetsyB,

Thank you so much for your review titled "perfect" - I am delighted that our team not only looked after you from an accommodation perspective, but also ensured you were offered some suggestions of the amazing things to see and do on the Eyre Peninsula. I am proud of the way staff conduct themselves as tourist ambassadors as well - so I hope you enjoyed your break.

It was great to read your dining experience in Sarin's was also brilliant. We often have comments that this hotel is a pleasant surprise for regional SA accommodation options, so thank you for staying with us and hope you return again soon.

Best wishes,
Diana Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with the Romance Package - Deluxe Spa Suite. This package included champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries on arrival, dinner at Sarin's from a restricted menu, and a hot breakfast delivered to the room. Overall, we had a great time and would stay again. Below are some issues, which made the stay fall short of fantastic.

Reception/Staff: polite, and very fast. Room service, and cleaning staff were great as well, always greeted you with a smile.

Room: very large, clean. Views were OK, saw some beach, but the port and silos were in direct view. It was a Friday night, and we were on the top floor, but the noise from the club was still able to reach our room. If you stay here, ask to be placed on the northern side away from the club. This side would also have nicer views of the beach/ocean with no silos.

Bathroom: Again, large and clean. Big spa. Spa tap was very weak when running hot water, took about an hour for the tub to be filled. There was also a sound system in the bathroom which we thought was pretty neat, but there were only one radio channels programmed on to all the buttons (ABC or SBS news), and we couldn't find a way to play music from our phones or iPods.

Sarin's: Have eaten here before. Enjoyed it very much. Service was great, seated promptly, and waiting staff were very attentive. Food came out very fast, and was great. Ordered from outside the restricted menu and loved the tuna+wakami and the seafood platter (which was huge). Bit pricey, but you definitely get what you pay for.

Romance Package: Probably can't recommend this package. The restricted menu is, as it says, restricted, so you can't order some of the better dishes they have. We asked whether we could order from the main menu and just pay the difference. We were told we would have to pay the total price if we wished to do this, which we ended up doing. The package isn't cheap, and I don't think the restricted dinner with the other extras were good enough to justified the price to be honest. In hindsight I would just book the room alone, and pay for dinner at Sarin's separately.

So, all in all it was a great stay. We'll definitely stay again, but we'll just do things a bit differently.

Room Tip: Room on Northern side, facing away from Silos and away from club.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGDL1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear MGDL,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review regarding your recent stay with us here at the Port Lincoln Hotel. Sorry I've been away with work, so only now having a chance to reply.

As always, I appreciate the feedback and honest in regards to some areas of improvement. We are looking into the Romance Packages and the menu options and will change this to include a credit in Sarin's, so you are free to chose your own meals. Thank you for your feedback - it's hard as we had a lot of people want us to make the menu decision for them, others wanting to chose their own.

In regards to the Ipods, that is another area we are looking to improve and hope by the time you return, this may be fixed.

I have passed on your comments regarding efficient staff, clean rooms and delicious food to our wonderful team and thank you for taking the time to provide us with some positive feedback as well as areas of improvement. I hope you did have a romantic night and we can welcome you and your partner back again in the future.

Best wishes, Diana Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

As a local was treated to a night away here by hubby and took advantage of their spring special. Ocean view room (not ocean front). Balcony looked back to boat ramp. Rubbish under bed from last guests. No complimentary bottled water ($3.50 from the mini bar). Headed down to Sarin's for our tasting plate (included in room price). The prawn skewers were delicious, kingfish was terrible, oysters - hotel needs to look at the quality of these as they are very small oysters compared to the shell, and quite shrivelled up. Our waitress was very attentive (Millie). Main course arrived, mediterranean salad delicious, chicken breast delicious, steak - stone cold. By the time this was taken back to the kitchen and another one cooked I had finished my meal. So waited for my partner to finish up. Dessert was nice - special of the day. Returned to Sarins in the morning for our buffett breakfast (also included in the price). Good selection - think the waitresses should approach guests and ask if they would like coffee when they are first seated, and also during the meal. A couple of dirty plates at the buffett but a nice hearty breakfast. All in all value for money.

Room Tip: If you are staying on a Friday/Saturday night, request a room away from the nightclub.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frangipani69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Fragipani69, thank you for booking our Spring special at the Port Lincoln Hotel and for taking the time to provide us with some constructive feedback.

I have followed up with the kitchen in regards to the size of the Coffin Bay oysters you mentioned, as well as the Kingfish carpaccio on the Eyre Peninsula Tasting Plate which I am sorry you didn't enjoy. There is no excuse for meals delivered to tables cold and I am sincerely sorry that you and your partner didn't enjoy your main course together - however delighted you enjoyed the daily dessert special. I will also pass on your comments to Milli, who is a valued and respected member of our Sarin's team.

We have ocean view rooms that do not directly face Boston Bay, but instead look towards the northern coastline. We do find some guests prefer this ocean view, rather than looking at the silos in Port Lincoln, particularly with the sunset that is a beautiful view along the coastline. If you were here on a weekend, we do like to put 'special package' bookings away from the southern end of the hotel, where Sharky's Bar noise can sometimes carry. I do hope you still enjoyed your room - and please know that we have followed up with housekeeping to ensure our staff check under the bed for any rubbish.

I am glad you chose to holiday in your own home town and that despite a few of the issues you encountered, you enjoyed your short Spring break and we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Best wishes and thank you again for taking the time to provide us with some feedback,
Diana Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We found this Hotel superb, great friendly staff and fabulous room, well laid out, very modern decor, great view over Boston Harbour. Top food in Sharky's Bar and also in Sarin's Restuarant.
Would reccomend it to all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlincolnhotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Lincoln Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review to Trip Advisor. I have passed your comments on to the staff in the kitchen who are always delighted to hear people enjoy their food in both Sarin's and Sharky's.

We all appreciate positive feedback and very glad we could make your short stay with us so enjoyable. Come back and visit us again soon,

Best wishes,
Diana Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Lincoln hotels
2.1 mi away
The Marina Hotel
The Marina Hotel
#2 of 7 in Port Lincoln
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Motel
Hilton Motel
#4 of 7 in Port Lincoln
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay 10 Accommodation
Bay 10 Accommodation
#3 of 7 in Port Lincoln
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Limani Port Lincoln
Limani Port Lincoln
#5 of 7 in Port Lincoln
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Lincoln Navigators Inn
#6 of 7 in Port Lincoln
11 reviews
1.0 mi away
Port Lincoln YHA
Port Lincoln YHA
#1 of 12 in Port Lincoln
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Lincoln Hotel

Address: Port Lincoln Hotel 1 Lincoln Hwy, Port Lincoln, South Australia 5606, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Port Lincoln
Price Range: $110 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Lincoln Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Lincoln Hotel overlooks Boston Bay with 111 rooms comprising of luxury and deluxe spa suites, ocean view balcony or town view rooms. The hotel has a modern and spacious design, comprising of large public bar, bistro area and Sarin's restaurant that features local seafood and non-seafood options. Perfect for families, leisure guests or corporate travelers - the Port Lincoln Hotel offers modern function facilities and dining options to suit. We also have tailored itinerary suggestions so our visitors can explore the Eyre Peninsula and enjoy land or water based tourist activities during their holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Port Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing