We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Declicious fish and chips!”

The Flying Fish Cafe
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Port Elliot
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Goolwa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Declicious fish and chips!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Best dish here in my opinion is fish and chips in a cone which keeps them nice and hot!
The view of the beach is magic. It's a popular spot, particularly at lunch time, so if you see a table with a great view, put something on it before you order, or leave a friend there!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    107
    38
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Forget the diet”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Pretty setting overlooking Horseshoe Bay. We dined in the café section one Friday lunchtime, the service a little slow, most of the tables were full. The trail of dripping oil from the kitchen to our table from the undrained deep fried fish and chips we ordered was a little off putting, but without doubt it was freshly cooked and crispy, the side salad the usual fare. Some diners chose to eat outside and were set upon by seagulls, maybe a good place to ensure you dine inside.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IMVO19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food & views”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great atmosphere and view of the ocean. Very busy but there is a reason for that - great food! Well worth the trip from Adelaide.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darryl Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful food and view”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

we stopped for a cleansing ale after whale watching all morning but the look of the menu enticed us to try
the seafood was fresh and cooked perfectly and service was friendly and efficient

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vjrezonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food - great location”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were a little dubious about going to this cafe because of the mixed reviews. But our experience of the food and service was excellent. I had the special - herb crumbed mullet on cous cous and my partner had the chicken. The weather was cold and blustery but we had a lovely afternoon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Fish Cafe also viewed

Port Elliot, South Australia
Victor Harbor, South Australia
 
Port Elliot, South Australia
Port Elliot, South Australia
 

Been to The Flying Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing