We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay over June long weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trafalgar Premium Vintage Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Port Elliot B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My partner and I stayed in the lady Hamilton suite.....obviously tastefully recently renovated the suite was lovely, spotless, great breaky provisions, wine, chocolates, and port....loved the soooo comfy bed, cosy warm combustion heater....everything thought through to make our stay amazing...cliff top strolls, cafés, famous bakery, quirky shops...what's not to like about Port Elliot....definitely be staying again and recommending it to my friends...well done David and Rachel the house is truly a credit to you....Jo and Andrew

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo-Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Owner at Trafalgar Premium Vintage Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

Thank you Jo and Andrew, what wonderful compliments you have given us and our accommodation. Word of mouth is our best advertising, so we really appreciate your recommendations.

Kind regards,

David and Rachel Elliott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 50 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

My husband & I had a lovely 2 night stay in the Maids Cottage at Trafalgar House in May. The renovations have been very tastefully done. Kitchen is very modern with everything you would need. Great breakfast provisions, too much for us to eat. Lounge /dining room was very comfortable with great TV reception, and a split system which kept us lovely & cosy. Take some slippers or warm socks though as the timber look tiles are a little cold in winter. The main bedroom is an excellent size and has a combustion heater & electric blankets. We didn't need to light the combustion heater. The queen size bed was very comfortable. I think my favourite room was the bathroom. Great rain shower and excellent choice of tiles, with a beautiful free standing slipper bath.
Shops, hotel and coffee shop and cafe, are all within walking distance. We have been to Port Elliot many times over the last 30 years, but our stay at Trafalgar House was one of the best. Thank you David & Rachael.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lowprofile1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Owner at Trafalgar Premium Vintage Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

Hi lowprofile1,

Thank you for your lovely review of The Maids Cottage. I'm so glad you loved the cottage, and I agree that the bathroom is amazing! If you had seen it before the renovations you would be extra excited about it. In fact, every time I walk into the cottage I cant believe how well the renovations went. The Maids in the 1920's never had it so good!

I hope that we will see you again one day,

Kind regards,

Rachel Elliott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great attention to detail making for a wonderful stay in superb accommodation in the very beautiful town on Port Elliot. The breakfast provisions and the extra treats made for a perfect stay. Looking forward to. Return visit to Trafalgar on the Strand.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Owner at Trafalgar Premium Vintage Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review Barbara. We have tried hard to make the cottage as comfortable and contemporary as possible, while staying true to its humble beginnings. Its great that you appreciated it! With best wishes, David and Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This was a real find. My partner and I arrived in port elliot with no set accommodation. David and Rachel were amazing hosts. We stayed in both the Hamilton suite inside and then moved to the maids cottage. Both stays were incredible but the maids cottage was so great we kept extending our stay! It has been recently renovated. All the mod cons. Comfortable bed - stunning bathroom. Full kitchen. I could have moved in permanently! Also a short walk to everywhere. This was really something special. Thank you to David and Rachel who made this a memorable stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Owner at Trafalgar Premium Vintage Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you Sonia H! We knew you were enjoying yourselves, but this fantastic review confirms it! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, Kind regards, David and Rachel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I recently stayed here with three of my friends and would 100% recommend the service and accommodation provided by Trafalgar on the Strand. The attention to detail in our cottage was perfect, they had thought of everything! Whenever we come to Port Elliot I know exactly where I'll be staying every time - can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Owner at Trafalgar Premium Vintage Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review Rhi C. It was lovely having the girls stay, and we would love to see you again! Kind regards, David and Rachel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We love staying in the Lady Hamilton Suite. It's welcoming, spotlessly clean, quiet & beautiful, a great size for a couple & - especially after the recent & impressive renovations - the perfect mix of old fashioned charm & spanking new fittings. Trafalgar House really is the best location in Pt Elliot. Its a very easy walk to the beach, the cliffs, the cafes, the shops, the pub, St Jude's ladies marmalade - everything that makes our favourite holiday location the timeless treasure it is. David & Rachel are also the nicest people you could wish to have looking after you. If you need to regenerate, head for Trafalgar House. It captures the soul of Pt Elliot. You can have a 2 week holiday in a few days - essential for those of us who are time poor. We spent New Year 2014 there this year & will be back for a winter dose - maybe Maid's Cottage this time! Myrana & Lester

Room Tip: We always stay in the Lady Hamilton Suite. It's the best size for couples. It has a kitchen (new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McWallies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Owner at Trafalgar Premium Vintage Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for your review McWallies! You were the lucky last to stay in the Lady Hamilton Suite before its big reno, and one of the first to stay after it was all finished. We really appreciated your kind words and friendship during the process (and suggestions - we are working on them!) With best wishes, David and Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Port Elliot is one of my favorite destinations. In 2012, it was to be the place where we remarried in the gardens overlooking Horseshoe Bay. We chose Trafalgar on the Stand for our wedding night (and a couple more) and so when we returned just recently for one night, we again opted for this wonderful establishment. It is quiet, romantic and our hosts know what us old romantics are after, so it is a pleasure to stay in this beautiful property. The property is located within an easy walk of the local shops and eateries. All the facilities are first class and I am sure we will return for more romantic escapades in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Owner at Trafalgar Premium Vintage Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you Nigel L for your review. I'm sorry its taken so long to get back to you but we've been renovating and time has got the better of us. I know that when you come back to Port Elliot again you will notice a BIG difference, particularly in the Maids Cottage and The Lady Hamilton Suite. It would be great to know what you think of the changes! With best wishes, David and Rachel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elliot
3.5 mi away
The Anchorage Hotel
The Anchorage Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
330 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
188 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beach Huts Middleton
Beach Huts Middleton
#1 of 3 in Middleton
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
1,026 reviews
1.1 mi away
Authenticity Sanctuary Retreat and Transformational Center
0.1 mi away
Port Elliot Beach House YHA
Port Elliot Beach House YHA
#2 of 3 in Port Elliot
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trafalgar Premium Vintage Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trafalgar Premium Vintage Suites

Address: 25 The Strand, Port Elliot, South Australia 5212, Australia (Formerly Trafalgar on the Strand)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Elliot
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elliot
Price Range: $134 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trafalgar Premium Vintage Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an enviable central location, historic Trafalgar House c1890 offers 2 premium vintage suites and 'The Maids Cottage' c1920. With high ceilings, solid walls and polished timber floors our suites offer an authentic South Australian experience. Choose 'The Strand Suite' with a queen bedroom, ensuite, lounge and verandah overlooking the garden, or 'The Lady Hamilton Suite' with a queen bedroom, lounge, modern bathroom and kitchen and private walled courtyard. 'The Maids Cottage' offers luxurious accommodation with full kitchen, freestanding bath tub, lounge with views of the heritage buildings on The Strand, huge main bedroom with a 4 poster bed and a second double bedroom. All accommodation is air-conditioned with ceiling fans and wood heaters throughout. Breakfast provisions, all linen and a port decanter and chocolates are provided in our tariffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Trafalgar Premium Vintage Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Premium Vintage Suites Port Elliot, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing