We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pies!”
Review of Port Elliot Bakery

Port Elliot Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Port Elliot
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Phone / Fax 08 8554 2475 Port Elliot Bakery has been in continuous operation for over 100 years and has the original wood fired ovens out the back. Lots of different treats can be found at the popular bakery from rich meaty pies, flaky vegie pasties to berlinas bursting with jam. To drive past is to miss out on one of SA's culinary delights. Open 7 days a week, 7.30am - 5.30pm
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best pies!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Spent two days in Port Elliot and we came to this bakery multiple times! Delicious pies - meat, veggie, and cheese pies of all assortments. Can get crowded during certain times but service is fast and friendly enough. During one of our visits, we realized afterwards that we didn't receive change for the purchase. The staff apologized and let us know they would view the camera footage to determine what happened. We could not wait for them to rewind and view the footage as we had an appointment and had to leave town, but sure enough, they viewed the video footage and we received the $7 owed in the mail! Amazing. Hope to come back here again sometime!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCAtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    65
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had never seen a line out the door of a bakery until now. The pies and sausages rolls are delicious and the bread is beautifully soft. A great place for a feed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OurNakedAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“"So Good"”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The chunky steak pies at this bakery are the best around and the pasties are good too. On a recent visit we tried the chunky steak and spicy mushroom filled pie and it had a real spicy kick to it...yumm.. You can have a wait if you visit during the lunch time rush, but the staff have the orders filled in quick time and it is well worth the wait. The sweet treats are also really good. We especially like the apricot filled yeast turnover. The baker is very generous with the amount of apricot filling in this bun and it is always on our list of must haves when we visit here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolnBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Too greasy”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Everyone raves about this bakery. After three visits, I'm not impressed. Service is fast but very impersonal. Food tastes good but is so greasy, soaking through the paper bag and leaves a greasy film in your mouth. There are better bakeries close by. Try the one in Dawson Street Goolwa.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mijah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Dont get me wrong, this bakery is very good however i think it is alittle over rated ( just a little ). The food is always good and I never leave dissapointed. From the plain pies through to the cheese and veg pasties, things are always good. Maybe avoid during holidays unless you dont mind lining up for 20 minutes for a pie :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adealidefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Elliot Bakery also viewed

Port Elliot, South Australia
Port Elliot, South Australia
 
Port Elliot, South Australia
Port Elliot, South Australia
 
Victor Harbor, South Australia
Port Elliot, South Australia
 

Been to Port Elliot Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing